We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and view - experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Thanks to other reviewers before me. I got what I exactly read in Clear trip reviews.
Pros-
Good looking & reasonably clean rooms.
Great view - it was hard to leave the hotel room in the morning as it was a life time experience to see the valley disappearing in fog once in every 20 to 30 min from your window while sipping black coffee.
Courtesy - Saff was very helpful and well mannered. They give first priority to Guest's experience than procedures.
Added bonus - They Provided accommodation and food for our driver so that he wont have to go out in town be available for us when ever we want to go out.

Cons -
--Food was little pricey (around 500 per person) but not worth the money
--Sheets were okay but Comforter was very dirty ,
--The Geiger takes too long to heat the water(45 min)
--Manual room blower was kind of a pain to switch on and off in the night every two hours because it was either too cold or too hot.

But none of these issues except the dirty linen & Non Automatic room blower are real experience spoilers.

Oh by the way they charge too much for campfire and they got a good activity complex for kids.

Over all I would recommend the hotel for the price if they offer clean sheets. Once again great view and ambiance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Uday G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
There are newer reviews for Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 710 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

We traveled with family and kids to Ooty during May 2011. Since I had a timeshare with Sterling, we chose the ELK Hill resort of Ooty this time. I was a bit apprehensive about the facilities and services at Sterling after reading several online reviews, So befoer booking our facility at Sterling Elk Hill, Ooty I send an e-mail to Sterling's Customer Service Manager attaching some of the not so good reviews appeared online about Sterling;s resorts. It seems, they have taken note of that and our stay there was a pleasant surprise to all of us.

This Elk Hill resort of Sterling is actually very near to the heart of Ooty town, rather overlooking the busy bus stand and commercial area. You can have a view of the resort's building on top of the Elk Hill even from the Ooty town below. The road to reach the resort is rather very narrow and often congested, some 2 kms from downtown Ooty. However once you reach the resport, you can have a panoramic view of the Ooty town on side and the verdant hill side with cultivation of qualiflower, vegetables etch on the other side with a distant vision of the Ooty race course from your rooms. A wonderful location for a resort.

On arrival, we were treated with a nice reception by the Resort Manager and his assistant and they even ushered us in to our rooms and presented a fruit basket and flowers. A great reception indeed !. We got one of the nicest located room over the dining hall and the view from our room was indeed breathtaking, the sloping cultivated hill sides, with race-horses galloping in the not so distant Ooty race course training grounds in the morning mist, all very wonderful views.
They also provide morning tea inside the rooms. We preferred to take break-fast from the Sterling Resort's restaurant. The service was good, but the food items are a bit costly, compared to the other restaurants in the Ooty town. Morning newspapers also provided.
The staff were courteous.

Few minus points that I noticed:
The resort's old block is not maintained in good condition with dark corridors and not well maintained rooms there. The front block, where we stayed was in much better condition. I find renovation of the resort is overdue and hope Sterling will take care of that aspect. The should make full use of this fine located resort in Ooty.

Food and beverage prices are on the high side and most of the time I found the restaurant with very few patrons. They should reduce the prices to reasonable levels.

It's a bit difficult to reach the top of the Elk Hill where the resort is situated as the road is very narrow and congested.

Plus points are wonderful location of the resort on top of Elk Hill from where you can have a panoramic view of Ooty city and its surroundings. Calm and quite place, a bit away from the bustle of Ooty town. We stayed there as time share holders, so I am not aware of the rates charged by them for casual visitors.
Overall the resort can be given only AVERAGE rating. It has potential to improve its furnishings, services, food etc. and aspire to be one of the Best resorts in Ooty.

Room Tip: Please choose a room on the new front block adjacent to the dining block and reception and avoid the...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank premrajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and me visited Ooty sometime in June and stayed at Sterling Elk Hill.
The planning was done in May and considering Ooty in June to be heavily loaded with tourists, we thought of having the rooms reserved well in advance. The staff, especially Ms Cheshta Sharma was extremely helpful in assisting us with our trip plan.
Post check-in, the hotel staff left no stone unturned in making our stay etch an unforgetable imprint on our minds. The staff was extremely courteous and facilities were state-of the art. The food was excellent and we even enjoyed the luxury of a very lively candle light dinner.
All in all, a highly recommended place for someone looking forward to a nice and comfortable stay in Ooty.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ankit_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

For quite sometime, we were planning to visit Ooty. So finally, the day came when we decided to go to Ooty over the coming weekend, booked a cab & then I was looking for a decent hotel to stay at.
We planned a 3D/2N trip to Ooty, so my focus was to spend time with comfort/leisure at a good/reputed hotel. After going through various hotels online, I was finally satisfied with the Sterling Resorts at Ooty. So, I booked a 'Deluxe Suite' at Sterling Holidays, Elk Hill, Ooty.

We reached the hotel at afternoon on the expected day, virtually didn't had any problem in checking-in. We were very well received (things like welcome drink, wet towels, etc. were at place). As booked, I was allotted a 'Valley View' room. Also, the check-out process was very smooth.

Now coming to the pros & cons of the stay:-
+ve:
1. The hotel staff was really very courteous.
2. The hotel location is good. It sits on the top of a hill, so if you've booked a 'Valley View' room, you'll get a really good view of the town & the valley. You can actually see the whole Ooty from your window.
3. As the hotel is a bit (around 4 kms) away from town, so you get a nice, quite & enjoyable stay away from the hustle-bustle of the town.
4. The food quality was good.

-ve:
1. The service at the hotel restaurant is really, really slow. You've to wait for at least 30 minutes at the table for the food to be served, after placing the order, no matter how big or small your order was. We wasted around 2 hrs. daily, just for having breakfast.
2. The check-out time is 10 am (unlike any other hotel, where it's 12 pm)
3. Now the most important part: The room offered to us was strikingly different from the one shown in photographs on the booking website(I was really pissed off by this). When asked about the same, the staff replied that the hotel is under renovation & those pics might be how it will look like after it's completed. That's not at all fair! They can't sell what they don't have!

So, all in all, I booked a decent room, went there with much hope & expectations, but felt cheated after spending so much money.
I expected much more than that from Sterling Resorts!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritesh_ranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays. We have duly noted down your concerns regarding the rooms and will make sure that this is not repeated in future. We also regret to hear about the inconvenience you faced with regard to service time at the restaurant. We assure you that we have made a serious note of this and will look into it.

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback on our resort location, staff's behaviour and quality of food.

Please be assured that we are making the changes that will showcase our property in a way that earns your appreciation. Your suggestions are always valuable to us.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

For my honeymoon we decided to book sterling.......it's wonderfull experience honestly!!!!
Go ahead for it ........great ambience,experience, nice view through the window............
Thanxs m very satisfied ...................

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suniljoshiforu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Excellent resort for relaxation, excellent staff and their service, thanx to sterling holidays & thanx to each and everyone who treated and served us including front desk, restaurant, housekeeping service each thing was proper and pleasurable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jatarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

There is no doubt about the hospitality. Excellent staffs and their service. Though renovation is in progress, we have not experienced any hinderence in our stay. The property is so old, however, they are trying their best to keep it clean and excellent. Among any few good old resorts, I would say, Sterling is the best, as it is very Indian. Beautiful location, good play area for kids.We enjoyed our stay in Elk Hill and kids loved it very much.

I wish the best to Sterling Resorts to keep up their excellent service and hospitality and maintain the property to its best.

Have a happy and memorable stay!

Best Regards,
Raj, Bangalore.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajkumar_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.5 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,201 reviews
2.5 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,030 reviews
1.4 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#16 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
520 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
802 reviews
1.8 mi away
Treebo Yantra Leisures
Treebo Yantra Leisures
#15 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: No 25 Ramakrishna Mutt Road | Elk Hill, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#1 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $64 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Holidays Elk Hill is a small and tranquil set up with incredible views of the surrounding hills and valley. Amid lofty Nilgiri peaks and low passing clouds, the sloping roofs and terracotta tiles of the resort emerge and vanish. As you look out on the Ooty valley from your room’s balcony or sit-out, time seems to stand still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing