We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Hotel in the Hills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sterling Ooty Elk Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We had stayed in the hotel for about a week during the summer along with family and friends. Have gone to ooty to participate in my grandfathers birthday that was conducted out there.

I would say the hotel is a decent for a place like ooty. Hotels in general in Ooty are not that great as they are run full capacity only during the summer. Hence among the ones available i would say this one is among the top ones. They provide you a room very similar to the service apartment that you can use to make food for self thus saving a lot of money on food during long stays at a place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psiddarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

733 - 739 of 751 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2011

Reading through the reviews about hotels in Ooty I can conclude that the biggest mistake Sterling Elk Hill makes is mispricing it's rooms. The negative reviews of Elk Hill would instead be glowing testimonials had the same rooms been available for Rs. 1000/- instead of Rs 3000/- and this hotel would have vaulted to #1 in the rankings.

The positives: Great location , senior friendly , clean comfortable spacious rooms with kitchens, good food at reasonable price , responsive staff , good travel desk.

The negatives: Rooms look shabby , ongoing construction work , housekeeping not upto the mark.

Though this nine floor high resort on top of a ridge can be seen from virtually anywhere in Ooty town just 1 km away , it is in a calm , quiet location with traffic free roads and gentle walking trails to enjoy long walks or bicycle rides. Every part of the resort can be accessed by elevators which is an important consideration for anybody like me with seniors in their group. The rooms are comfortable but look shabby and the corridors have dirty and frayed carpets. The resort is undergoing renovation which means some construction noise , dust and problems with electricity supply. Housekeeping staff appear dedicated but seem to lack training/adequate supervision. There seems to be currently some problem with cleaning services and linen appears to be not properly cleaned but staff is more than willing to sift through the stock and get you the cleaner ones. Food is OK and the pricing for the Food Masti package seems reasonable but restaurant staff get easily overwhelmed and service standards fall when the restaurant gets more than half full. Recreation activities are standard run of the mill Carrom/TT/board game variety with evening Tambola/Antakshari type group activities.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SridharCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

A badly maintained hotel, corriodor carpets are horrible,torn,smelling. bath room tiles are looking shabby,toilets dirty,food very bad especially the breakfast menu remains the same but the taste varied becoming horrible day by day luckly i had my other meals outside. unfortunaltely forced to order some roomservice, since there was heavy rain it was a total failure.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ssmisha007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Visited this resort during the week before Christmas so it was off season visit at Ooty for us. Less people and more space in generally over crowded place. Resort was good could have been better in terms of quality of the room and cleanliness.
In terms of service the people were very good to us. The monsoon masti offer on the food was very good. No need to go outside and search for food. The quality of the food was also very excellent and good variety was there.
I wanted more activities in the resort and especially for kids which they lacked.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raghutk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The hotel was booked by one of my friend as we had earlier visited the same hotel during our school days we dint want to go to another hotel but to this one as we found it the best place to hoilday in...

It is just the perfect spot for all kinds of moods...
Everything feels just so right in place once your there..

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sikha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I dont know what made us go there without reading any reviews! the place is miserable, run-down. The moment we sat in the rickshaw from the station, the auto driver said "sir, why there? the place will shut down any day. they are in Debt". We thought he was trying to upsell other hotels, but no, the place was in shambles! It looks like the propery is now jointly owened by 3-4 people and is run as a free for all. The staff do try and put in an effort when you complain. They said they havent got paid in 4 months. I felt sorry for them. The place had all sorts of people coming in, the worst experience being a banquette hall being booked for a party. So, whats wrong with it? ahh.. so did i think until i saw a woman-more like a bar dancer-dancing there among drunken men, fortunately we never had any issues that women would not want to get into. the place has the best location and best view, but its a pity its gone for a toss. Food is a big problem, rather go down to town and have food, delicious food, at half the cost.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnandRamaswamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Sterling Resort Ooty is a wonderful place to stay. A hallmark of hospitality. Very much upto your expectations. Located amidst pure Nature at its best.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avasthivishal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.5 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
556 reviews
2.5 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,031 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
834 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#13 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Ooty Elk Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Ooty Elk Hill

Address: No 25 Ramakrishna Mutt Road | Elk Hill, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India (Formerly Ooty - Elk Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $61 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Ooty Elk Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Ooty Elk Hill is a small and tranquil set up with incredible views of the surrounding hills and valley. Amid lofty Nilgiri peaks and low passing clouds, the sloping roofs and terracotta tiles of the resort emerge and vanish. As you look out on the Ooty valley from your room’s balcony or sit-out, time seems to stand still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Sterling Ooty Elk Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Ooty Elk Hill India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing