We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrogant and unruly staff. Threatening staff kindly keep away”
Review of Kluney Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kluney Manor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Arrogant and unruly staff. Threatening staff kindly keep away”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The most pathetic experience . Two couples with two 10 months infant stayed here for a day. We booked the room for 2 nights. The next day they asked us to shift to some other room other than what was committed to and taken advance for. For 12 noon check out they asked us to check out from 10 am. When we packed our luggages to shift to a new room as promised the previous day at the time of check in. The rooms were not ready and would u believe they are asking us to move to some other room after waiting for 2 hours near reception with the babies. Later when we asked for cancellation they threatened us to pay full amount. We went to a extent of taking POLICE help that gross was the situation. We being outsiders they tried all tricks and even threatened us but we did not budge. I will be initiate legal action against them shortly. Travellers kindly be aware of these frauds.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sumeer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    88
    41
    14
    18
See reviews for
107
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Classic Cottage was good but not value for money. You need to ask frequently to start hot running water. Serves Cold Pale Breakfast. If you ask fresh they would charge extra.
Rustic cottages are like Slum Rooms. TV Did not work. Service Attitude is horrible.
You do get ant resort facilities Food Quality was average.

Room Tip: Claasic Cottage only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IndianRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights . The food was bad, so many flies around, no regular supply of hot water, room service is lousy. The rooms r capacious. No bottle of water served on chkin. Location is gd but need to depend on own transportation.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank RSY2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

I went with my wife n baby for 3 night stay. Property was very gud and that's d only gud thing at kluny manor. Everything else was bad. The food, the room service, no hot water, De don't have a house keeping team, I would recommend this property for those who don't want anything other than room. There are better properties in Ooty. Search for them.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were 2 couples traveled together. We booked 2 rooms (Rustic Cottages) while booking you have to be smart in negotiating. Overall property is nice...but room service is really slow, you have to put many reminders for that.
There is hardly any variety for breakfast, they repeat the same menu everyday...even food is ok, not that great.
But overall a decent place within budget (if you can bargain)

Room Tip: We stayed in Rustic rooms with a Lawn view, those were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noopur05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Excellent property well maintained. Has good garden landscape. One can feel cool breeze in the evening and early morning. Property is steep hill and one has to depend on personal transport especially if you are not used to of Hill stay most often. We reached late in the night and must thank the restaurant staff to wait for us. Food is awesome, seems the hotel has good cooks. Buffet breakfast was complimentary and since the hotel had few guest at that point of time we were served anything we chose to eat. South Indian is no doubt excellent.
One short coming is with regard to Housekeeping. There were no remote to for TV it came 30 mnts late. TV power would not switch on I had to struggle and went to sleep. Morning I request a visit but happened one hour late. There was no hot water took few attempts before someone came and switched on from outside. Actually Housekeeping does'nt exist it is all centralised from reception which is maintained by single staff. The property cuts on manpower cost thats the only regret though its heritage property.
Excellent Scenic view.
Its true road to the property is very bad as reviewed earlier.
Some thought on Housekeeping Must..

Room Tip: Avoid Rustic Cottage they need maintenance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhijitsengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Good value for money, prompt service, good ambience, nice Garden,Food quality is exceptional.
No views from inside the room in any category.Beware of the big potholes or manholes due to septic tank right on the middle of the road near the hotel.My car's front wheel fell in it with a huge thud,luckily no damage.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SDora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.5 mi away
The Willow Hill
The Willow Hill
#23 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
157 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#22 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
143 reviews
1.8 mi away
Treebo Yantra Leisures
Treebo Yantra Leisures
#18 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
792 reviews
1.6 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
376 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#16 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kluney Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kluney Manor

Property: Kluney Manor
Address: Ooty | RK Puram, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 85 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kluney Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kluney Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kluney Manor Hotel Ootacamund
Kluney Manor India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing