We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to unwind!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kluney Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kluney Manor
Ranked #32 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fantastic place to stay with great ambience if you are heading to ooty. Property overlooks the Ooty lake n close to all attractions.
Cottage rooms are the base level rooms an must say these are more than sufficient for 2 people.
Rooms were clean n have a fireplace that's great to have in the chilling cold at night
Food was truly fantastic. The preparations were great. We tried wide variety of cuisines n all were surprisingly excellent. However, service could improve. The staff was not in a position to handle multiple guests an we had to wait quite a bit for our orders though this was worth it.
Ensure booking is done early so you could get the lake facing cottages.
All the greenery , excellent weather an friendly staff with good food is a place - must stay to make your vacation fab!

Room Tip: Book early so you can be allotted a lake facing cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Udaywadhera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    85
    40
    13
    18
See reviews for
102
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Execept locational advantage,this resport is not worth for money in amendies and service offered by this hotel.Hot water facility very poor ,not in time and most of the time not avialble when required.Room service not in time.I wont stay again here and will not recomend to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Chandasekaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good Ambience. Was a surprised… loved the fireplace inside the room; they charge you 150 rs /- for this but it’s worth. Very close to all attractions; Boat house, Botanical Garden etc. Food preparation is amazing. Fresh and clean. Coffee/ Tea can be better!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajkumar_P80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I was astounded by the British bungalow housing the Hotel office and Classique rooms in it taking me to the bygone british era. The gardens are well maintained and has lots of beautiful flowers and trees. We stayed in the Rustic cottage which was very basic with tile flooring and wooden walls, each room has a Fireplace Rs 150 extra for lighting it up.

The food was awesome great Indian Chinese and Continental menu to choose from. Apart from the Christmas day(waited for almost 1 hr to get dinner served) we didn't found the service very good. The hotel staff can arrange local sightseeing either by Bus or private taxi. Families please be aware the hotel is around 2 kms away from the Ooty Bus stand and market place(Charring Cross). Although you can get Autos plenty from main town center to Kluney Manor at Rs 100 each side.

Room Tip: Rustic cottages does not get direct sunlight and are dark and cold. Classique rooms are good for big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saswata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at Kluney Manor for 3 nights and with 4 rooms booked. The location of the hotel is undoubtedly very scenic. The rooms are very beautiful and well built. Majority of the rooms have a scenic view and has a garden in front of them. Every room is fitted with a fireplace which is not found in most of the hotels.

The hotel is approx 1 km from the bus stand and around 2.5 kms from the main market. Hotels claims to be 1 km from the market which isnt true. Its quite a well known hotel so you wont be having problems reaching to the hotel from the market via auto. But the problem is getting one to go to bus stand or market. Hence I would suggest this hotel for someone who is gonna come with their own vehicles.

The food is a very tasty but one of the major drawback is the time taken for them to deliver once the order is made. It takes approx an hour for the food to arrive which is little irritating. The buffet breakfast is pretty good and has a decent spread to choose from.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. We did have a power outage in 2 of our cottages and as they werent able to fix it, they upgraded us to suites for no extra charge. They were very prompt in getting things done.

ONE MAJOR PROBLEM which we faced is the heaters in the room. Every room is equipped with heaters but none of them are powerful enough to keep the room warm. We had gone when the winter had just started in ooty and it was pretty difficult to sleep in the night. We were however provided with extra blankets which was of little help.

I could have rated this as 5 out 5 but have to look few things like the food delivery, the heater problems and the distance from the main market. Apart from this, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who really wants peace of mind towards the evening as it is far from the city buzz.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at Kluney Manor - Stayed in the Emperor's Suite . The room was beautiful and a great view from the back door.
Food was brilliant and the prices were moderate.
The staff was cordial and friendly.
All in a all - If you are looking for a quiet resort to stay at Ooty - This will be one of your best bets!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thiara_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#16 of 78 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sagar Holiday Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.6 mi away
King's Cliff
King's Cliff
#11 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kluney Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kluney Manor

Property: Kluney Manor
Address: Ooty | RK Puram, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kluney Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kluney Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kluney Manor Hotel Ootacamund
Kluney Manor India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing