We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kluney Manor
Nearby Hotels
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$90
$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Treebo Yantra Leisures(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
La Flora Amberley Resort(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$38
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$106
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sterling Ooty Elk Hill(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$135
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$135
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ponmari Residencyy(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Meadows Residency - Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Astoria Residency(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
46
94
42
16
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
94
42
16
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclassic cottageroom servicelush green lawnsroom heaterdining hallwell maintained gardensplace to stayold world charmaverage servicebreakfast spreadbeautiful propertyrestaurant serviceheritage hotelrailway stationmarket arealong weekendhigher side
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 216 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I was astounded by the British bungalow housing the Hotel office and Classique rooms in it taking me to the bygone british era. The gardens are well maintained and has lots of beautiful flowers and trees. We stayed in the Rustic cottage which was very basic with tile flooring and wooden walls, each room has a Fireplace Rs 150 extra for lighting it up.

The food was awesome great Indian Chinese and Continental menu to choose from. Apart from the Christmas day(waited for almost 1 hr to get dinner served) we didn't found the service very good. The hotel staff can arrange local sightseeing either by Bus or private taxi. Families please be aware the hotel is around 2 kms away from the Ooty Bus stand and market place(Charring Cross). Although you can get Autos plenty from main town center to Kluney Manor at Rs 100 each side.

Room Tip: Rustic cottages does not get direct sunlight and are dark and cold. Classique rooms are good for big families.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saswata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at Kluney Manor for 3 nights and with 4 rooms booked. The location of the hotel is undoubtedly very scenic. The rooms are very beautiful and well built. Majority of the rooms have a scenic view and has a garden in front of them. Every room is fitted with a fireplace which is not found in most of the hotels.

The hotel is approx 1 km from the bus stand and around 2.5 kms from the main market. Hotels claims to be 1 km from the market which isnt true. Its quite a well known hotel so you wont be having problems reaching to the hotel from the market via auto. But the problem is getting one to go to bus stand or market. Hence I would suggest this hotel for someone who is gonna come with their own vehicles.

The food is a very tasty but one of the major drawback is the time taken for them to deliver once the order is made. It takes approx an hour for the food to arrive which is little irritating. The buffet breakfast is pretty good and has a decent spread to choose from.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. We did have a power outage in 2 of our cottages and as they werent able to fix it, they upgraded us to suites for no extra charge. They were very prompt in getting things done.

ONE MAJOR PROBLEM which we faced is the heaters in the room. Every room is equipped with heaters but none of them are powerful enough to keep the room warm. We had gone when the winter had just started in ooty and it was pretty difficult to sleep in the night. We were however provided with extra blankets which was of little help.

I could have rated this as 5 out 5 but have to look few things like the food delivery, the heater problems and the distance from the main market. Apart from this, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who really wants peace of mind towards the evening as it is far from the city buzz.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at Kluney Manor - Stayed in the Emperor's Suite . The room was beautiful and a great view from the back door.
Food was brilliant and the prices were moderate.
The staff was cordial and friendly.
All in a all - If you are looking for a quiet resort to stay at Ooty - This will be one of your best bets!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thiara_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I had chosen the resort after a good research and after reading lot of reviews. And i must agree this turned out to be same......Its a old bungalow with some renovation done .....good lawns , gr8 view .....We had gone on the new year time and we enjoyed it thoroughly .....I must admit the staff was really good and courteous . We had bonfire and drinks in the lawn and it was fun . The 3-4 rooms on the other side of the resorts are newly build and have private kind of lawn if you book all the 4 rooms for your group. From the lawn you have a nice view of a big lake and the town. Over all a good stay...

Room Tip: Take the rooms on the other side of the resort with lawn in front of it.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SACHIN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked this resort based on a friend's recommendation and stayed here for 3 days ....I would like to mention the pros and cons of this resort ....

Pros-

The location is quite good as it was a bungalow built by a British person pre indenpendence era. Now it has been converted into a resort. There are 3 types rooms. The highest one are the suites located within the main bungalow. Second level are located in the separate building. The third one (where we stayed) are called Rustic cottage which is not a part of the original bungalow , but was constructed once the resort was made. The difference between all 3 is the space and the quality of furniture inside...thats all ... no other difference in terms of amenities or facilities ...

Good view outside the rooms and well maintained ...

Well mannered staff....

Cons -

The resort does not have any recreation facilities except - Billiards, carom and massage center. To avail any of these services , they charge you extra.

There is no camp fire facilities (they may provide that for extra cost)

Only breakfast is included in the tariff, which is very simple breakfast. Any 3 of the following - idli, dosa, poori, pongal, parata along with juice and coffee/tea.
Anything else will have to be borne by us. The quality of the food is good but it is expensive. (Veg lunch/dinner for two people may cost around 500 bucks)
There are tables and chairs provided outside the restaurent, but they wont serve you there !! so you have to sit inside to eat though you want to enjoy the weather while eating ....

There is no pick up and drop facility to the town (1 km distance) as the resort does not have thier own vehicle. Auto from the bustand will cost around 70 bucks. But, you will not get any autos from resort to the town as it is in the hill and there are not many vehicles plying. So either you have to walk or ask the resort guys to book auto / taxi for you (that will cost more than the usual charge)

There are provision for fire wood in every room, but it will be charged extra. There is an electric room warmer provided but that does not help much in winters. So you have to pay extra and get the firewood.

In the website, they have said that a trek can be organised. But it is not available even if you are willing to pay extra.

So, basically, you will not get anything except for a nice place to stay for the money you have paid as tariff. So be ready to shell out more on all other things that you require.

My advice - Please check out other resorts in your budget and compare the rates based on the facilities and amenities provided.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ananth82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews