We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort...Had a good time.....”
Review of Kluney Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kluney Manor
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I had chosen the resort after a good research and after reading lot of reviews. And i must agree this turned out to be same......Its a old bungalow with some renovation done .....good lawns , gr8 view .....We had gone on the new year time and we enjoyed it thoroughly .....I must admit the staff was really good and courteous . We had bonfire and drinks in the lawn and it was fun . The 3-4 rooms on the other side of the resorts are newly build and have private kind of lawn if you book all the 4 rooms for your group. From the lawn you have a nice view of a big lake and the town. Over all a good stay...

Room Tip: Take the rooms on the other side of the resort with lawn in front of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SACHIN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 210 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked this resort based on a friend's recommendation and stayed here for 3 days ....I would like to mention the pros and cons of this resort ....

Pros-

The location is quite good as it was a bungalow built by a British person pre indenpendence era. Now it has been converted into a resort. There are 3 types rooms. The highest one are the suites located within the main bungalow. Second level are located in the separate building. The third one (where we stayed) are called Rustic cottage which is not a part of the original bungalow , but was constructed once the resort was made. The difference between all 3 is the space and the quality of furniture inside...thats all ... no other difference in terms of amenities or facilities ...

Good view outside the rooms and well maintained ...

Well mannered staff....

Cons -

The resort does not have any recreation facilities except - Billiards, carom and massage center. To avail any of these services , they charge you extra.

There is no camp fire facilities (they may provide that for extra cost)

Only breakfast is included in the tariff, which is very simple breakfast. Any 3 of the following - idli, dosa, poori, pongal, parata along with juice and coffee/tea.
Anything else will have to be borne by us. The quality of the food is good but it is expensive. (Veg lunch/dinner for two people may cost around 500 bucks)
There are tables and chairs provided outside the restaurent, but they wont serve you there !! so you have to sit inside to eat though you want to enjoy the weather while eating ....

There is no pick up and drop facility to the town (1 km distance) as the resort does not have thier own vehicle. Auto from the bustand will cost around 70 bucks. But, you will not get any autos from resort to the town as it is in the hill and there are not many vehicles plying. So either you have to walk or ask the resort guys to book auto / taxi for you (that will cost more than the usual charge)

There are provision for fire wood in every room, but it will be charged extra. There is an electric room warmer provided but that does not help much in winters. So you have to pay extra and get the firewood.

In the website, they have said that a trek can be organised. But it is not available even if you are willing to pay extra.

So, basically, you will not get anything except for a nice place to stay for the money you have paid as tariff. So be ready to shell out more on all other things that you require.

My advice - Please check out other resorts in your budget and compare the rates based on the facilities and amenities provided.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ananth82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

i happened to stay @ kluney manor from September 23-25, 2012 at Rustic Cottage
rustic cottage are at 2 locations..one on a bit higher side and one having front face to ooty city( even lake is visible) My room were 30-31-32 (3 rooms)
First Location of Hotel: its not at all away from main city, and 100% sure that it is not at a secluded place. its just about 2 kms from bus stand. Ya we had a vehicle on hire so distance was never an issue. what we wanted was a break from city life and stay at a hotel with big lawns , kids playing area, good view. all were there. There was a tea stall just next to hotel gate. Awesome tea
Hotel Food: i happened to eat breakfast for 3 days. The food was good. few dishes were very good. few were average. since the food was good, we ate dinner for 2 nights too, only let down was they have one day tandoor On and other day Tawa On.. so u cannot eat Naan, Lachha etc on both days. the cost was ok for each dish. all dishes were around 100rs per plate, same as we pay at any normal restaurant at Delhi. Malai Kofta, Aloo Gobhi masala and Chef special were too good
Room facilities.: as shown in some pics, the TV is not CRT but LCD having decent no. of north indian channels too.
Room geyser might be an issue. since after 1.5 bucket, you will have to wait. since i prefer bath at evening , for us it was not an issue. Rooms were provided with Blower, which is required at night. The Fireplace is not a big deal since blower is there, but u want to use it it costs 100 rs
Internet facilities are also available, but not wifi. a desktop PC is there which can be used.
Overall My stay was good

And bottom-line... its a Very Good 3 star Hotel or almost a 4 star hotel. few more improvements and definitely of 4 star grade

Amit Narwal

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmitNarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed at Kluney Manor Ooty during Sept 30 - Oct 2nd 2012 and would straight way like to admit that the stay was truely a memorable one. Right from the enquiry to booking to check out; the whole process was extremely smooth. Its a true value for money resort. Best part of the resort is : Its just a km away from the Ooty main bus stand but yet calm, serene and a world of its own. Once you are in the resort, out side world is totally cut off!

Staff were very courteous through out. We being a vegies enjoyed the food at the resort and prices are quite reasonable. The Victorian style dinning hall is an icing on the cake.

We were just blown away by the architecture and excellent land scapping! Flowers flowers everywhere! Everytime we used to step out for sight seeing, the urge to return to the resort used to increase. We were feeling like spending max time at the resort; such was the impact on us. Cleanliness was top notch. Only area of improvement I felt was the room service. We felt it was little slow. Apart from this, resort scored 10 / 10 on all aspects. Definitely I would recommend this place to stay at Ooty and would surely like to visit again!

Cheers to Kluney Manor staff. Keep the good work going!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manjunath_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was not convinced by its name initially, so I was having multiple thoughts before booking it. After booking I reached this place I was like.WOW. This place is perfect for a day or two in Ooty. Though priced on the higher side compared to other budget hotels in Ooty I was anyway staying for just one day. So price was not bothering me too much. But you will get an old British mansion with a stunning cottage and lots of lawn around it for playing games or having a hot coffee or try you hands at photography.
The restaurant serves all cuisine, and we were pretty satisfied by the service of the staff as well.
The rooms greet you with a surprise, a big hall, a bedroom with wood all over.
Overall I recommend this place for its traditional looks, restaurant, and service from staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arunasokkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Pros - This hotel was introduced by one of the humble travel agents in Ooty and I did stay for two nights with my wife and daughter. It may not have great facilities but I just fell in love with the victorial style structure and rooms. For the money that we paid it is fairly spacious with great view and lush green outside. The breakfast buffet spread is quite limited but tasted good. A la carte north indian menu for lunch was sumptuous. Room service was quite good and pretty fast compared to even star hotels in Ooty thanks to just 25 rooms. Good to stay for two nights.

Cons - the room lights are too dim and makes you feel drowsy. Honeymooners only could enjoy this. I suggested they need not lit up all over but instead of having 8 zero watt bulbs they could have one or two 60 W. Fire place is good for Rs 150/- but may not last for more than 30 mts. They serve only beer at the restaurant so non-beer lovers may frown.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VenkatOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I went to this hectic vintage hotel in the month of august with my wife.. The rooms are not worth for the cozy rate. For everything we should pay ....for e.g ....for firewood we have to pay 150 separately and the most important thing is food...very very costly and realy not worth for the money wich i spent ....actualy i ordered kashmiri pulao, veg noodles, chilli gobi and one dessert....the cost including tax is 784 rupees.... apart from tax i got the stomach pain due to that food....very bad experience .....realy for couples dont choose this adorable classic kluney's manor...

Room Tip: don't go for the garden view ....first thing, garden is outside the room which u cant see right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAMIAN_TRUTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.5 mi away
The Willow Hill
The Willow Hill
#25 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
639 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#6 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sabol Holiday Resorts
Sabol Holiday Resorts
#26 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
215 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#18 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
546 reviews
2.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kluney Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kluney Manor

Address: Ooty | RK Puram, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 86 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $36 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kluney Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Kluney Manor Hotel Ootacamund
Kluney Manor India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing