We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was Confused due to some -ve review...but this is latest and accurate review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kluney Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kluney Manor
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I was Confused due to some -ve review...but this is latest and accurate review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

i happened to stay @ kluney manor from September 23-25, 2012 at Rustic Cottage
rustic cottage are at 2 locations..one on a bit higher side and one having front face to ooty city( even lake is visible) My room were 30-31-32 (3 rooms)
First Location of Hotel: its not at all away from main city, and 100% sure that it is not at a secluded place. its just about 2 kms from bus stand. Ya we had a vehicle on hire so distance was never an issue. what we wanted was a break from city life and stay at a hotel with big lawns , kids playing area, good view. all were there. There was a tea stall just next to hotel gate. Awesome tea
Hotel Food: i happened to eat breakfast for 3 days. The food was good. few dishes were very good. few were average. since the food was good, we ate dinner for 2 nights too, only let down was they have one day tandoor On and other day Tawa On.. so u cannot eat Naan, Lachha etc on both days. the cost was ok for each dish. all dishes were around 100rs per plate, same as we pay at any normal restaurant at Delhi. Malai Kofta, Aloo Gobhi masala and Chef special were too good
Room facilities.: as shown in some pics, the TV is not CRT but LCD having decent no. of north indian channels too.
Room geyser might be an issue. since after 1.5 bucket, you will have to wait. since i prefer bath at evening , for us it was not an issue. Rooms were provided with Blower, which is required at night. The Fireplace is not a big deal since blower is there, but u want to use it it costs 100 rs
Internet facilities are also available, but not wifi. a desktop PC is there which can be used.
Overall My stay was good

And bottom-line... its a Very Good 3 star Hotel or almost a 4 star hotel. few more improvements and definitely of 4 star grade

Amit Narwal

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmitNarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    85
    39
    13
    18
See reviews for
100
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed at Kluney Manor Ooty during Sept 30 - Oct 2nd 2012 and would straight way like to admit that the stay was truely a memorable one. Right from the enquiry to booking to check out; the whole process was extremely smooth. Its a true value for money resort. Best part of the resort is : Its just a km away from the Ooty main bus stand but yet calm, serene and a world of its own. Once you are in the resort, out side world is totally cut off!

Staff were very courteous through out. We being a vegies enjoyed the food at the resort and prices are quite reasonable. The Victorian style dinning hall is an icing on the cake.

We were just blown away by the architecture and excellent land scapping! Flowers flowers everywhere! Everytime we used to step out for sight seeing, the urge to return to the resort used to increase. We were feeling like spending max time at the resort; such was the impact on us. Cleanliness was top notch. Only area of improvement I felt was the room service. We felt it was little slow. Apart from this, resort scored 10 / 10 on all aspects. Definitely I would recommend this place to stay at Ooty and would surely like to visit again!

Cheers to Kluney Manor staff. Keep the good work going!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manjunath_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was not convinced by its name initially, so I was having multiple thoughts before booking it. After booking I reached this place I was like.WOW. This place is perfect for a day or two in Ooty. Though priced on the higher side compared to other budget hotels in Ooty I was anyway staying for just one day. So price was not bothering me too much. But you will get an old British mansion with a stunning cottage and lots of lawn around it for playing games or having a hot coffee or try you hands at photography.
The restaurant serves all cuisine, and we were pretty satisfied by the service of the staff as well.
The rooms greet you with a surprise, a big hall, a bedroom with wood all over.
Overall I recommend this place for its traditional looks, restaurant, and service from staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arunasokkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Pros - This hotel was introduced by one of the humble travel agents in Ooty and I did stay for two nights with my wife and daughter. It may not have great facilities but I just fell in love with the victorial style structure and rooms. For the money that we paid it is fairly spacious with great view and lush green outside. The breakfast buffet spread is quite limited but tasted good. A la carte north indian menu for lunch was sumptuous. Room service was quite good and pretty fast compared to even star hotels in Ooty thanks to just 25 rooms. Good to stay for two nights.

Cons - the room lights are too dim and makes you feel drowsy. Honeymooners only could enjoy this. I suggested they need not lit up all over but instead of having 8 zero watt bulbs they could have one or two 60 W. Fire place is good for Rs 150/- but may not last for more than 30 mts. They serve only beer at the restaurant so non-beer lovers may frown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VenkatOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I went to this hectic vintage hotel in the month of august with my wife.. The rooms are not worth for the cozy rate. For everything we should pay ....for e.g ....for firewood we have to pay 150 separately and the most important thing is food...very very costly and realy not worth for the money wich i spent ....actualy i ordered kashmiri pulao, veg noodles, chilli gobi and one dessert....the cost including tax is 784 rupees.... apart from tax i got the stomach pain due to that food....very bad experience .....realy for couples dont choose this adorable classic kluney's manor...

Room Tip: don't go for the garden view ....first thing, garden is outside the room which u cant see right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAMIAN_TRUTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed with family for one day on a week day in a vintage suite. The rooms are of rustic victorian style with spacious rooms and toilets. The hotel is located at a higher elevation with nice landscaping. The room lacked proper hot water. The geyser was on for more than 2 hours with the water temperature very slowly rising to 30 deg C with in that time. Hot water was supplied in a bucket after repeatedly informing the front office after 2 hours. The service seems to be very slack and un professional for the price and compares with a bed and breakfast hotel at the most. The room lacks centralized heating with only a small blower. Though the room had a fire place they needed extra payments for lighting up the same. Not recommended for travellers used to high standards of customer service.
.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

though we were on our honeymoon n our package was through makemytrip..thanks to them for providing manor..hotel is excellent...location awesum...food bit expensive but quantity n quality was upto the mark...n if u r on ur honeymoon den dnt go for rates..jus njoy the best time of ur life..n the manor is d perfect place...rustic cottages r superb n spacious...very clean..n room service was also good...the only negative point was no heater provided by them n we had been there on second week of january n climate was chilly..n we even dnt no bout heter..on last nite heater was provided....,well over all this was the best place for us...n wenever will ba back to ooty we will choose Kluney Mnor.....

Room Tip: go for rustic cottages...n njoy the oooty lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romajav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#15 of 78 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#13 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
1.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
1.5 mi away
Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kluney Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kluney Manor

Property: Kluney Manor
Address: Ooty | RK Puram, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kluney Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Kluney Manor Hotel Ootacamund
Kluney Manor India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing