We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property, Pleasant stay”
Review of Kluney Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kluney Manor
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Property, Pleasant stay”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 days in January. The resort was better than my expectation. Though the approach road is narrow and steep, the property makes it up for it. This is a very nice colonel property with very clean and big rooms. The garden is very tastefully done and the lush green lawns in front of the rooms add to the beauty of this property. We had booked a classic cottage and my son loved the lawn infront of the room. Food is just about ok. Breakfast spread is not great but decent in quality. However, the food served during lunch and dinner are not upto the mark. Room service is another let-down. We had a big problem in getting hot water on second day and that delayed our check-out by an hour. Overall, the property is very good for the price and definitely worth a visit if you are traveling with 2-3 other families.

Room Tip: go for classic cottages, they are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pradeep_sreenivasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    87
    40
    13
    18
See reviews for
105
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Recently, we stayed at this hotel for 2 days in January..Although the surroundings are serene, the hotel is situated a little away from the town. The building has an old world charm to it. We stayed in a room of type Classic cottage - make sure to select your room type beforehand. The lawns are lush and green and very inviting. There are beautiful white, metal furniture in the gardens which makes it look very classy. The rooms are spacious but not warm enough during winters. The complementary heater provided doesn't suffice. We asked for firewood which the manager had previously at the time of booking, confirmed as complementary. But we got a big surprise when we were asked to pay 150 bucks for the firewood in cash. Beware of this, and get all complementary offers in your confirmation.

Food:
The less said the better. We had expected the food to be of a certain standard.. but the quality of food and the service levels were a huge let-down. The morning coffee is a big no-no. You don't want to spoil your morning with a badly made coffee. They don't use milk, but milk powder or creamer. This can be made in the room itself, so why pay 35 bucks for it and have it ordered? Imagine having cold biryani for dinner on an equally cold winter night. What more can you ask for? Despite asking the biryani to be reheated, it came back at the same temperature. The complementary breakfast is average and manageable. Food is expensive if had at the hotel and room service charges are extra. So it is better to have food at the town center itself where there are lots of options.


Travel:
Unless you have your own vehicle, this hotel is not recommended. There are no lights in the streets after it gets dark, so it is unsafe. Rickshaws usually charge around 70 bucks from the town center, but if you get the hotel to call a rickshaw for you, they charge in 3 digits.

Overall, the stay was pleasant, the rooms were clean and well-maintained. It is definitely a cosy place to stay, but due to the other factors as listed above brought down the overall satisfaction.

Room Tip: Go for cottage rooms if you are more than 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalTravellerInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcombe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This hotel is situated high above Ooty, is quite and relaxing. A great hotel in the winter for Europeans the climate is great during the day but cold at night. The superior rooms are large and comfortable, the staff attentive. A few notes to be aware of there is a charge for a fire in the room at night which is a little erksome. The breakfast is Indian with little continental or English farye. Avoid the Chinese food stick to the Indian. I have suggested to the management these problems should be addressed, and hopefully they will. A superbly located hotel if you wish to see the Nilgiri hills and also sample an Indian Town with a good history.

Room Tip: The superior room are not that much more expensive and are full of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allanslater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This resort is beautiful. The building is very colonial and the rooms are filled with antique furniture. The lawns are perfectly manicured and big enough for children to run around.

Sadly...that's all you get for the money. I say sadly because the place has a lot of potential which has gone to waste. You will get much better service at half this cost at dozen other places within Ooty.

The room service food is average in taste but not very pricey. The service staff is clueless at most of the times. Very eager to get the bill signed but never bothering to clear the room after food has been consumed. We used the restaurant only during breakfast buffet...the food was tasty but the service awful as usual. The staff doesn't even bother serving water unless being asked.

I also found it quite irritating to be asked to pay cash for a lot of things immediately as against paying at the time of check-out as part of the total. The reason given was that a lot of things in the hotel was outsourced. To start with, you will need to pay Rs. 150 every time you need woods for fire (paid in cash, at that time)...pay cash every time you need liquor...it's again outsourced, though all they stock is beer. Pay Rs. 200 for an hour to play on the English snooker/billiards table. It's another matter that the table didn't have a rest, a broken pocket and a broken scoreboard...you pay 200 nonetheless.

The only thing free is the internet...or maybe it was just for our rooms as we had taken a higher category room.

If you are traveling with children, please note that there is not a lot of activities for them. Except for the snooker table, carom board and a pair of out-of-shape badminton racquet.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikas101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Alright.. the place has everything that you would expect from an english era residential building...big rooms with fire palce, massive well maintained lawns, good views... and slightly tricky enterance. Children would enjoy playing in the lawns chasing birds and shadows.
Food is ok, rooms are on two levels, some of them are in the main building and the rest are all on a lower level facing lawns, its a good place if you are in a group.... as they have rooms adjacent to each other all opening up in the lawns...
Not much to do apart from lazying in the sun and reading your favourite book..... or if your are in a group you can have a bonnfire in the lawns at night... else your fire place (which looks helpless during winters) is your best friend.

Room Tip: if you are in a group, call them before hand to book rooms facing the lawns!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUN-VI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

The location and the rooms are exceptionally good. As soon you enter the place you feel the colonial charm with well manicured lawns and wooden panels and fire place. However, the service levels are disappointing. They are not prompt and the room service is not great. The breakfast spread was decent but again the service was very slow. We travelled in peak winter and wished to enjoy our food in open air outside the dining hall on the garden chairs, however, quite strangely, this was denied to us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jainuine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

It is December. We wanted a nice outing. Ooty was the place finalized. Hence, obviously lot of confusion for selection of a nice resort or hotel as our guests were from NZ and we were on a family tour with kids. Based on friends' recommendations and net reviews we finalized Kluney Mystique Ville and paid advance to book our rooms. But when we reached we landed up in Kluney Manor. We initially resisted and wished to shift to Mystique Ville the next morning, but later we found ourselves comfortable in Manor. They have nice open spaces, all the rooms have Fire place which is a must here. Every room is like a villa and has ample open space. The restaurant is a bit costlier and the only place which doesn't have enthusiastic helpers. If you can overlook this part overall Manor is a nice place to be with your family.

Room Tip: View facing rooms are cooler but with ample open space and kids play area just outside the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_Pravasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.5 mi away
The Willow Hill
The Willow Hill
#18 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
768 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hill Country Holiday Resort Lovedale
Hill Country Holiday Resort Love...
#29 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#14 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
623 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#22 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
143 reviews
2.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kluney Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kluney Manor

Property: Kluney Manor
Address: Ooty | RK Puram, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kluney Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kluney Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kluney Manor Hotel Ootacamund
Kluney Manor India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing