We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Darshan Ooty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
aaaadf
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

Our stay in this hotel was very pleasant. The interiors of the room was good and it gives a panoramic view of the beautiful Ooty Lake. Staff of the hotel was very courteous and their guidance about the city was very useful. They have a decent restaurant, we had North Indian food there which was good in taste. The only disadvantage at this hotel was that our room was located at 5th Floor and they don't have a lift.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Karan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    252
    88
    29
    35
See reviews for
266
256
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

Hotel Darshan is a value for money hotel and is located just on lake, around 2-3 kms from main town.

North Indian food here is good. Some repair work was going on but was managable.

Only problem we found was that there was no lift so you need to climb up (depends on which floor you get room, we got on 3rd floor)

Overall a decent hotel with basic facilities.

  • Liked — food taste
  • Disliked — no lift.
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sacsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

I was there with my family

remember :You can get only Vegetarian foods

great lake view especially at sun rise & nights.

easy access for shopping and travel options.

they have newly built rooms at walkable distance.

Suite room for honeymoon couples wil get them great exprience.

you have to climb the stairs sometimes.

  • Liked — views when peep out from windows
  • Disliked — old building, but they built new room Near by
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ragunath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

I have spent 3 days in darshan hotel for my honeymoon. Its was near the lake. The stay and the food was very nice. I recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kumudha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2009

I went to Ooty with my wife on my first anniversary. I would say this hotel Darshan is a hot pick for it's location just in front of the lake. It has the most friendly staff who would cooperate not just for the hotel related issues, but also to plan your local tours. They have a restaurant which is quite decent enough. My only complaint on this hotel is that it doesn't give you the privacy if you are going for your honeymoon.

  • Liked — Location, courtesy of staff
  • Disliked — little room for privacy
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

How To Reach The Hotel:
Hotel Darshan is hardly 2 kms from busstand.If you take an auto then don pay more than 50rs. Its very closeto the lake and walkable distance from the lake

Check-In:
It was not that smooth & fast. I had to wait for more than 30 minutes

Communication:
Those who are in the reception can understand Tamil,English & Hindi but they don speak good English.

Room Condition:
Room is not that good at all.In the decembermonth,inside the room its very hot as though you are in somedessert.Room looks so small and no lights come into the room.Really theroom is only for those who want to sleep nothing more than that.

Food:
Taste of the food is ok(not good, not bad).You wont get non veg food.Its only for veg

Restaurant:
In the restaurant you have to wait for thelongest time that you wont even imagine in your wildest dreams. If youhave kids then plz skip this restaurant as i saw lot of kids werecrying in hungry as they were made to wait for hours

Service:
This is the worst service ever I have come across.Ibooked for Super deluxe room and they gave me mini suite(which costsless than super deluxe) and they lied me that its a super deluxe.When Isaw in the net I saw the pic of super deluxe room and confirmed thatthe room they gave me is mini suite & I went to reception therethey were arguing that its a super deluxe room. Most of them are great liars.Finally they accepted its not a super deluxe room & didnt refund the difference

Check Out:
This is next worst thing. This is the first hotelwhere they are charging 2.25% extra for credit card. So don try to usecredit card. They didnt even give a bill copy to me and saying thatsthe hotel policy.

Conclusion:
Avoid this hotel if you want your travel and stayto be good.Only good thing about the hotel is the lake view nothingelse.You can try this hotel if all the good hotels in ooty are sold out.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingLife_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

Location of the property is really good, rooms are spacious and confortable but service was poor - food also was okay. Nothing special. Just come out of your room and you can see the lake - another good thing about hotel is that every floor have terrace.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UllasMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.6 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#16 of 78 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
3.1 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Hills International
1.2 mi away
Astoria Residency
Astoria Residency
#12 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Darshan Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Darshan Ooty

Property: Hotel Darshan Ooty
Address: Woodcock Road | Near Lake Boat House, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ooty
#7 Best Value Hotel in Ooty
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
#12 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Darshan Ooty 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Darshan, a home away from your home is well known for its hospitality, services and tongue tingling vegetarian cusine. It is located on the best serene location in Ooty just opposite to the Boat House, having an entire view of the Ooty lake from every window. Hotel Darshan is surrounded by virgin greenery escaping from sound and air pollution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Darshan Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darshan Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Darshan Ooty India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing