We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hospitable staff”
Review of Hotel Darshan Ooty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very hospitable staff”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Staff at Darshan Hotel always makes you feel warm and special. The receptionist and the driver were particularly nice. The owner being a Gujarati (now in Kerala) he has ensured great vegetarian menu is available to all guests

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank DRBathia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    261
    96
    34
    40
See reviews for
291
261
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

loved the rooms thoroughly even the mini deluxe rooms are so cozy.perfect for a couple stay.they have a clear view of ooty lake from the extended area in front of every room has a good arrangement.the hotel restaurant is vegeterian so visit commercial market in ooty to parcel some non-veg stuffs..there is no auto facility or shops near to hetel.so better book a cab for sight seeing. mr babu-09487026657. a very gentle honest person who gives great sevice as a driver cum guide.he gives you the best rate and the polite gentle service you expect.no tantrums.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOUMYAB_271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed a night here during our 3 week trip to India and it was one of the poorer hotels we experienced. We had 2 rooms on the third floor with not much of a lake view, as it is largely obstructed.

There was some building work going on in the hotel and the place seemed quite dusty and not particularly clean. There was a swing chair outside our room but it was quite dirty and was being used by some of the building workers to eat their lunch on.

I had to ask the receptionist 3 times before the extra bed eventually arrived. We didn't eat in the restaurant because being so poorly decorated, it didn't look inviting.

The rooms themselves were okay, warm enough with hot water, but overall I wouldn't recommend it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LewisHawarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We went on 28th and had booked for 5 days. We got very good service althrough our stay. Was worried initially as some of the reveiws mentioned of delayed or very late service. Bur nothing of that type we experienced. Overall we had a nice stay at the hotel making our visit a memorable one.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank nageshhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Darshan during 2013 year ending. If I want to summarise the hotel stay, I must say "Excellent service hotel overlooking Ooty lake".
We had rented car to reach Ooty. Reception at the hotel was excellent with manager and boys ready to welcome guest. There was facility to park car inside the hotel premises.
Hotel room had wooden floor, excellent to beat cold (Surprisingly however we did not find that much cooler weather in Ooty in December). Excellent Bath facility with 24 hrs running hot water. Every floor delux room were overlooking Ooty lake. There was swing installed on our floor, so we enjoyed nice time on swing overlooking the lake.
Hotel is located just 1.5km from bust stand and Ooty railway station and walkable distance from ooty lake entertainment zone.
Hotel had excellent vegetarian restaurant serving all kind of Indian and Chinese dishes. We did try different dishes and must stay food was tasty. Service was very quick. Room service also was very quick and attitude of hotel staff was excellent. Most of hotel staff was hired from either north east or Nepal.
Hotel has provided stay from 2adult plus 2 kids at unbelievable rate of
Rs.1800+taxes for super delux room, for kind of service we got.
We will stay and recommend staying at this hotel if you are in ooty

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vorapm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I along with my wife visited Ooty this December,2013 and must admit the service provided by Darshan was very nice.The food was the best and everything was punctual,the hotel staff were very cooperative and did not give us anything to complain about,overall a must for anyone who wants to enjoy few days in Ooty,thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sups2033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Great stay for a week for me and my family (wife and daughter) at Darshan. Hotel is managed by people who have a good heart and do everything to their best. Travel tours arranged by hotel were good and drivers were also good. Food was very good. Special thanks to Mr. Mohan of the cafe who took special interest in preparing food for our daughter (curd rice without chillies, less spicy versions of various items). Nice that the hotel is managed by an elderly gentleman Mr.Rathore who treats all guests like members of a large family. Excellently located hotel.

Room Tip: Standard room was good enough for us as our philosophy was to spend more on travel, shopping and foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.6 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
791 reviews
3.1 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,015 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#17 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Treebo Yantra Leisures
Treebo Yantra Leisures
#16 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
179 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#15 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#23 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Darshan Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Darshan Ooty

Property: Hotel Darshan Ooty
Address: Woodcock Road | Near Lake Boat House, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#12 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Darshan Ooty 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Darshan, a home away from your home is well known for its hospitality, services and tongue tingling vegetarian cusine. It is located on the best serene location in Ooty just opposite to the Boat House, having an entire view of the Ooty lake from every window. Hotel Darshan is surrounded by virgin greenery escaping from sound and air pollution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Darshan Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darshan Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Darshan Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing