We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Darshan Ooty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were there in hotel for little more than 2 days. It was a pleasant experience. The room was cleaned, service was good & the location is excellent. The hotel decoration was not so good. Also the hotel is a old hotel and the restaurant is fully veg. Other than that it was a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Debasis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    257
    90
    31
    36
See reviews for
277
258
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hubli-Dharwad, India
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Average room with dirty smell, no proper ventilation, rusted cloth hangers, restaurant management is very poor, all chairs and tables provided were age-old, smelling bad, paint was scaling off the walls of restaurant as well as in rooms.it difficult to sit and have lunch/dinner at this restaurant,food served was also of average quality but heavily priced,too much delay in service,better avoid this hotel,there are other best hotels at lesser price than this worst hotel at ooty.No value for money.

Room Tip: Please do not choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank ravindra_nb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

for us it was really a memorable stay, nice location with a view of Ooty lake through window.. i cant boast about each and every room, but we were lucky to book a nice room in top floor, which offers good privacy and best view of the lake. Food was really good, management and reception people are really nice and helpful, room service is okay... Hot water is 24 hrs available....
we would love to go back again provided we ll get a room of our choice...
overall we liked the hotel and its people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bala_mp09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We checked-in on 11th October 2013. We took a super deluxe room but room was OK kind of thing (different from photos on website). Food was not good. Got our food order wrong twice. They bring every order almost after 1 hours and that is after I made 3-4 calls. I ordered milk for my son which they took 70 minutes. We also booked Sight Seeing Tour from hotel but Diriver skipped Dodabetta (he said Dodabetta is closed and Telescope House is no more in existence). We complaint to Reception. It was hotel's responsibility because arrangements were made by them but they did not looked sorry or made any other arrangement for Dodabetta. When I made a complaint to GM Mr.Rathore, he said we will be charged again if we want to go Dodabetta. I had totally disappointing experience. Though we booked room for 4 nights and advance payment was made by us, we checked-out on 14th October 2013 morning. When we request the Reception for one day's tariff refund they simply refused. I am not sure how this hotel is getting good ranking from Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gopal1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

First time visited to Ooty. It could not have been better for us without Hotel Darshan. Nice location, not much far from the city bus station. Service is, you are not going to complaint about it! very helpful people around. Strongly recommends to someone who needs great stay at a place like Ooty. Thank You. :-)

Room Tip: would recommend Darshan Mini-suite for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advisor_surya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

the hotel is just opposite to lake boat house..excellent location. local buses to bus station/rly station/market. cleanliness maintained ..south indian foods available..reasonable rate...quality and taste good..hospitality good..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Jagadeesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgaum, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Rooms are good, quite spacious with 24-hour hot water service. The staff is very affable and service-oriented. The receptionists were very friendly, helpful and cheerful - providing service with a smile. If you take special rooms, make sure you are fit enough to climb the stairs because it is one long staircase to the rooms and there is no provision of a lift. Location of the hotel is very excellent - just a kilometer away from the bus stand and very close to the Ooty lake (we get an excellent view of the lake from the hotel). Couples can have a good time having tea and enjoying the scenery from a balcony, which also has a swing and some benches. The view from here is really good. The blankets provided here are really warm, which will keep you in comfort in the extreme cold climate of Ooty.

The hotel will even arrange to have you picked from the bus stand/railway station if prior booking has been done. They have their own Ooty tour packages, the information about which is provided at the reception.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpe_online
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.6 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#16 of 78 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
3.1 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
1.1 mi away
Blue Hills International
1.2 mi away
Astoria Residency
Astoria Residency
#12 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Darshan Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Darshan Ooty

Property: Hotel Darshan Ooty
Address: Woodcock Road | Near Lake Boat House, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ooty
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ooty
#12 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Darshan Ooty 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Darshan, a home away from your home is well known for its hospitality, services and tongue tingling vegetarian cusine. It is located on the best serene location in Ooty just opposite to the Boat House, having an entire view of the Ooty lake from every window. Hotel Darshan is surrounded by virgin greenery escaping from sound and air pollution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Darshan Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darshan Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Darshan Ooty India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing