We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Good Location, Average Service”
Review of Hotel Darshan Ooty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Good Location, Average Service”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Hotel is around 2 KM from Ooty Bus Station. Autorickshaws take Rs. 40 from Ooty Bus Station to this Hotel. It is the best located hotel as far as the Lakeview is concerned. Exactly opposite to Ooty Lake. We have booked Super Deluxe room. But I was not satisfied or was not convinced whether it is really super deluxe. Mini Suite is the cheapest room available in Hotel. And as per hotel manager and receptionist only Mini Suite has got bath tubs and none other room. It was really unbelievable. When I asked them to show Mini Suite they were not able to show me for 3 days. Still looking at cleanliness of room and lakeview I decided to stay in so called Super Deluxe room. Apart from that there is lot of noise in the early morning. I think it is of central water heater they have. It is very annoying.
Hotel food is ok. Bit oily. Overall it was ok.

Room Tip: Go for Mini Suite if you are booking from internet and then go for upgrade once you visit the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SachinS19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    261
    96
    33
    40
See reviews for
289
261
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

this is likemy home in ooty , i love this hotel for its clean room, affordable tarriff, and the best part is the resturant that they have serves u so very fresh and homely food that u cant risist, and would suggest people to book there 2nd floor rooms from where u can enjoy the lake

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank csk227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sæby
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Found this hotel on tripadvisor, and indeed the hotel and rooms were good, and a lot op people with the manager in front inquired about your wishes. However, they were not able to live up to their promises. Internet - yes, we have - but nevertheless I was requested to go to town with mu laptop. The breakfast menu stated among other fresh fruit and fruit juice - but none was available at any day of our three day stay - though plenty could be found in town. On the last day, we took our own oranges and fruit juice to the resto.
But the top was, that we on our last day hired a vehicle, through the hotel, to take us to Coimbatore - 1600 INR - no extras.
But when we arrived, the driver demanded 200 INR extra for AC!

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the lake - we had the 4th floor, though no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jensjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed in Hotel Darshan for 4 days during our trip to Ooty. We liked the Hotel,service and information provided on the tourist places very much. We went to Ooty without any information on the places to visit. When we enquired about the tourist places in the hotel, they have provided all the information and arranged a vehicle for us.The plus points of the hotel are very near to Lake Boat house. The view of the lake from every room in the hotel is pleasent. The staff are very friendly and caring.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GuestUser_405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

we stayed in Hotel Darshan The lake view. we booked online through web site that suggested by Mrs. Jadeja over phone. we booked Prince suite Room. it is very nice room with nice lake view. services are very good. excellent food served by Mr. Senthil. we get travel guide for Mr. Giri for kodnau. it is fentastic view point. we enjoyed our Honey Moon Trip with romantic memory. thanks.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kavita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

we stayed in month of October (Dipawali Festival). we get good hospitality from the hotel staff. our children enjoy this trip. they make arrangement for children to celebrate Dipawali festival.
We get super Tea Dust from the Hotel. it's flower is very good. Food is good with good quantity.
specially gobimanchurian with fried rice is to testy. we get travel guide from Mr. Giri is very helpful to us. we goes to avalanji it is very nice palace. you can get very very nice lake view from your room It is cheap & Best Hotel in ooty.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank prakash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Best hospitality experienced from Hotel Darshan Expecially Mr Giri,Raja and Mrs Geetha in reception will make you feel at home and provide some valuable information on places to visit. Never miss the Lake view rooms, If visiting Ooty no doubt staying here. though initialy Auto fellow said its servise was not good, never trust them they will fool you around. Decent servise was offered.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GovindhP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.6 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
782 reviews
3.1 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,007 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#15 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
#24 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
143 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,185 reviews
1.6 mi away
Treebo Yantra Leisures
Treebo Yantra Leisures
#18 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Darshan Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Darshan Ooty

Property: Hotel Darshan Ooty
Address: Woodcock Road | Near Lake Boat House, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#7 Best Value Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#12 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Darshan Ooty 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Darshan, a home away from your home is well known for its hospitality, services and tongue tingling vegetarian cusine. It is located on the best serene location in Ooty just opposite to the Boat House, having an entire view of the Ooty lake from every window. Hotel Darshan is surrounded by virgin greenery escaping from sound and air pollution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Darshan Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darshan Hotel Ootacamund
Hotel Darshan Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing