We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, good hotel but highly priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Went there with my small daughter and wife. stayed there for one night.

The location of the hotel is very good. Very good hotel to go with a family. Stayed there for one night. Good food but only vegeterian food available. Rooms are slightly highly prices. room heater is charged extra.

Running hot water is available only in the morning or evening.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debdulal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 177 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2010

Nahar's Nilgiris hotel is situated in the heart of this hill station. Stayed here with my spouse and thoroughly enjoyed our little holiday. I will recommend it as it is conveniently located. Stepping in and out of this hotel leads you to the city's central street. Be it shopping or eating out, this is the best place to be in.
Their restaurant serves great food. Mix of south and north indian and other popular cuisine. We loved their food. Rooms are pretty neat. The gardens are well maintained and the sight of flowers in bloom is a welcome sight.
Service is a little slow, as the place is over crowded. Speaks of the popularity of this hangout. It is often difficult to get seating space at the restaurant. Parking is a tad bit difficult as the entrance is very narrow.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BangaloreEscapade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

The first thing that would attract you is the location of the Hotel. It's located right on Charring Cross(The most happening place in Ooty!) and walking distance from the Botanical Garden. It's also got a good South Indian restaurant(Garden Restaurant) which serves authentic food and hence is mostly crowded and so one could experience delays in service sometimes, though worth a wait. The other restaurants attached to the hotel, Chandan & Sidewalk too are pretty decent.

The property wears a congested look inside with buildings set close to each other. There's just adequate parking space. The room is just ok and is priced a little higher for the value it offers. Do not make a booking on the hotel website, the hotel staff are just not aware of the fact that booking can be made from the hotel website and vehemently argue that it's a 3rd party site!!!!. The website would talk of promotional offer till 31st Dec 2010, with breakfast and wi-fi being inclusions, but all this become exclusions, the moment you book the room through the website. You bring this to the notice of the front office staff and all they put up is "I don't care" attitude.

The room service is good and the staff very courteous.

The hotel is an old property in Ooty. It needs to come a long way from being an erstwhile Super Deluxe lodge to a star property. This place is right for someone looking at merely a decent boarding & lodging in Ooty in the heart of the town.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Surmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

nahar hotel was one of the best hotel in ooty.as i reached there than i feel the comfort there.everything was near by there.i can go anywhere by walking distance from there.i dont have to go anywhere else for food or shopping.i got the best food and all varieties of food inside the nahar hotel campus.even i got pizza,northindian and southindian inside the hotel. which is the best part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

I stayed in this hotel during December, 2009. The hotel is situated at Charing Cross, in the commercial road of Ooty. The botanical garden and rose garden are within 1-2 kms. Interestingly one SBI ATM is situated just opposite to the hotel, which was convenient for us. A Higgins Botham book store and the Ooty cooperative store is just opposite to the hotel. For visiting Coonoor, we have to take a taxi for railway station, from where we went by train (run by steam engine, some call it toy train). We have purchased a variety of home made chocolates and Tea packets, but other things we found very costly. The staffs are very much cooperative. I feel the price looks little bit at higher side, as many nearby hotels can be considered with cheaper price, though facilities are excellent here. I strongly recommend for the people who does not care for few extra bucks and are searching for a hotel with very good location in Ooty.


I found many shops with name as Nahar including a famous Jewelry store in Ooty.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tutunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Visited Ooty in the First week of September and stayed in the hotel for 2 nights.

Hotel is good but the biggest challenge is getting the hot water. Asked for a separate basket of hot water which was not delivered even after 1 hour.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jitesh_chauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I stayed in a Deluxe Suite in this hotel during May 2010 with my family. This is a centrally located, very neat and comfortable hotel with nice hospitality of the staff and the value is worth. The restaurant had very tasty food. Altogether we enjoyed well and I strongly recommend this hotel to all.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank bluenest99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,237 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sabol Holiday Resorts
Sabol Holiday Resorts
#26 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
216 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hill Country Lovedale
Hill Country Lovedale
#33 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Willow Hill
The Willow Hill
#25 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
158 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mount View
Hotel Mount View
#71 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel

Address: 52-A, Charing Cross,, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $44 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nahar hotels has been established in 1978, Renovating and updating the ambiance and amenities to the latest trends has always been our priority. Do visit our Sidewalk cafe which has been featured on Highway on my plate series(on NDTV). Do not miss our Indian speciality restaurant called Chandan and the South Indian coffee shop called the Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing