We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good hotel with all amenities at the happening location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
Reviewed May 31, 2012

was not my first choice but when u go during summer break theres hardly any rooms available in good hotels ,but after going to nahar n checking the rooms n the location i really liked it , well made up interiors ,i was staying above the main reception i think that block was bit expensive than the rest but i would suggest to stay here for its location .

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afzal_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 176 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

Worst Restaurant (Chandan) I have a ever visited in my life

Extremely POOR Service, No Plates, no side plates, no spoons and No Paper Napkins, No Salt, No Pepper. You have to ask for all these items to eat your food. Incomplete order served. Had gone there with parents and kids. Kids left empty stomach since their order was never served. Called Manager and General Manager. Both where rude and unapologetic. And final low point was bill which had items that we never ordered. Manager asked me to verify what I had ordered.
Summary: Avoid at all cost. Road side vendor would be much better place

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank rajudhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Don't ever try Chinese or North Indian food at Nahar's Chandan restaurant, where they serve Indian and Chinese. A total disaster. They charge you like five star hotels and serve you sub standard cold food. Taste of north indian food is bad.
Only south Indian food is good. My advice to all travellers to only have south Indian food.
If we complain they are least bothered because Ooty is a tourist flooded place and every now and then new tourist come, every visitor to this restaurant is a new visitor.

Room Tip: We did not try a stay at this place, that is why only written review about food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Hotel is very well located in the heart of city with botanical garden at walking distance.
Markets and shopping places are at walking distance.
Staff very polite and helpful.
Food is available within the hotel though there are many options just outside the hotel.
Rooms are not that clean giving an older look and can be said only as average.
They also help in organizing the trips of local attraction.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azamzaheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Very good quality food and very good, pleasing service. Recommend the north-indian thali, but otherwise the paneer butter masala is to to die for! Would come back any time anf recommend the restaurant for business, family or couples..

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NiccOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We spent the last Seven Years traveling India. For the last five of them we had our base a few Kms outside Ooty. At least every other day when we were resting in Khandal. . we would make our way over to Nahar's and relish the 'Best Thali' (Southern) in India. We are really proud to count the Staff there as more than friends but a very real part of our lives. Always we took friends there to eat and arranged from them to stay there. I do not know one person in those years who did not enjoy their time, with the sincere, professional staff there.

Perhaps important to remember that if you visit Ooty for only one or two nights. You may well be affected by the altitude. This can make you irritable. Take a dispirin, a packet of electrolytes. . .then pop down to the beautiful Chandan resturant, relax and enjoy some of the finest indian food ever. If too early for lunch. . .Hop across the garden have their really good Dosa. . .wonderful coconut chutney.. . .Yum

Tell them Kate and David (Blue Swift and Bullet) sent you and that we send them all good wishes. . .missing them all very much!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kate b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Teh first time i planned to stay at Nahar, we had booked through a travel agent. When i booked they said its all confirmed. When i reached the hotel morning with kids and family, i get a rude response from the reservation desk saying it is not confirmed! I had to wait for 2 hours and shout at the travel agent and the nahar desk back and forth to get the room booked! My Lord, it was terrible experience. The rooms were clean and maintained.

The second time i planned, I booked through a travelguru.com deal. They took the booking charged my credit card full amount and said it will take 2 days for it to reflect in Nahar's reservation system. When i called Nahar the third day they said it is not confirmed and i have to talk to travelguru people. I called up travelguru and they say it is confirmed..this to and fro game went for 3 times.Fed up, the travelguru people put the nahar reservation executive - Alousious on conference..he was telling me it is not confirmed and to travelguru he was telling it is confirmed.. TG said it is already confirmed by a person called Ramamurthy in Nahar..and they said he is on leave..So, in effect the Nahar guys were again playing their con game once more..Memories of the unpleasant experiences with the hotel came back and i said i had enough and cancelled the hotel.

My advice to whomsoever considering the hotel is..please stay away if you want peace of mind.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank junaidnavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.0 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,224 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sabol Holiday Resorts
Sabol Holiday Resorts
#26 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
215 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Willow Hill
The Willow Hill
#25 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hill Country Lovedale
Hill Country Lovedale
#32 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
170 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
639 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Surya Village
The Surya Village
#23 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel

Address: 52-A, Charing Cross,, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $44 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nahar hotels has been established in 1978, Renovating and updating the ambiance and amenities to the latest trends has always been our priority. Do visit our Sidewalk cafe which has been featured on Highway on my plate series(on NDTV). Do not miss our Indian speciality restaurant called Chandan and the South Indian coffee shop called the Garden Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing