We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Live like a king!”
Review of King's Cliff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King's Cliff
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Live like a king!”
Reviewed May 26, 2010

A winding ghat with a few villas on the way takes us to King's Cliff. The first glimpse of King's Cliff and you know you have made the right choice. Away from the rush of Ooty market, this old british mansion converted into a luxury hotel is a welcome getaway for people who love peace, harmony and the good life. King's Cliff has a charm that takes you back to the old british era. The wooden floored lounge welcomes you warmly. The rooms are very spacious and have that old charm too. A fireplace, a drink and your loved one. A perfect way to unwind. If you are a party kind of a person, their glass house outside offers you the kind of atmosphere no disc in a city can offer. Morning breakfast spreads are served in the glass house too. All in all a wonderful place to stay and a thing which should be in your list of '50 things to do before I die' :)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NehaGadgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    138
    34
    18
    15
See reviews for
156
124
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Kings Cliff hotel is a very romantic, enchanting hotel. We had 'the Windsor' Suite with Four Poster Bed and Large Ensuite Bathroom. We had a fireplace in our room which we asked the very friendly charming Housekeeper to light for us on one evening. The food was very good here, we ate each lunch time and were still full every evening. The service here was excellent. The hotel is kept immaculate and the gardens are truly beautiful. The only negative things i can say about our stay here was on our first evening we ordered three beers after being told earlier in the day that they do serve beer, only to wait 1hr 45 mins without any explanation why the delay was- we asked numerous managers with no explanation until a man turned up with 6 beers which he had brought up from the local town- they charged us R850 for this, i gave the manager R1000 note and did not get the change! We also handed in our laundry the first day we arrived only to get it back three days later mins before we had to leave the hotel and the fee was very expensive.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 083Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuttack
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Hotel Kings Cliff is located within a four km radius of the Lake, bus stand, railway station and the Botanical Garden.

Facilities available at the hotel include travel assistance, room service, car rental service, laundry service and a conference hall that can accommodate upto 20 guests.

really my stay here is once in a life time experience.It is an old british bungalow constructed long time back & still it retains its charm & it has all the modern facilities.Its really a royal stay for us there.It has a very good lawn & the sitting facilities which looks an unique one.There are lot of flowers in the lawn.
location: resort is located 2 kms from the city.Its located in a very scenic place. room: inside the resort,everything is wooden made & looks good.Room is very spacious & it has a king sized bed.Though the television in the room is a old model.Room is very clean.Bathroom is very spacious & it has bath tub.Hot water is available 24hrs. restaurant: resort has a glass house in which they serve the food.Best part is they serve the dinner there with candle light.Really its the best part,plz dont miss this. food: food is very tasty with all variants.Both veg/non veg are very deperience.It is an old british bungalow constructed long time back & still it retains its charm & it has all the modern facilities.Its really a royal stay for us there.It has a very good lawn & the sitting facilities which looks an unique one.There are lot of flowers in the lawn.
If you dont have own vehicle then transportation is bit of problem but its worth to tolerate this problem for all other pros

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babuiit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

A perfect - made in hevan honeymoon location. Romantic, scenic, elegant and private with all the facilities you can desire for. Rooms are spacious with a warm fireplace. The bedding is excellent and the food served is lip smacking. There is fire wood supplied at all time and the complementary chocolate are home made.
The garden space is beautiful with a wide variety of flowers. Sitting outside in the lawn with your loved one and a cup of coffee is just a perfect way to relax and breathe the freshness of the morning dew. The restaurant is contained in a glass house with a great view of the hills around.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vjstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Kings Cliff remains one of the best hotel I have stayed in with an old world charm that is difficult to categorize and match. Each room in the hotel is named after a Shakespearean play and takes you back in time. In short, Kings Cliff delivers what a vacation is meant to do – make you relax.
The rooms are luzuriously decorated and spacious. The room we were staying in had a fireplace and so had the lounge and restaurant. We also got an outdoor bonfire on one of the days and had a memorable dinner around it. The service staff is very couteous and warm. We were made to feel at home right from our arrival.
The restaurant was also among the very best in town and I liked the continental dishes that the cook dished out. Each room in the hotel has its own identity and warmth. The best thing about Kings Cliff is that you get all the goodness at a bargain (for its range). The ambience gels in well with the scenic charm that Ooty has to offer. Ooty remains one of my most memorable places I visted and a large Part of it was due to the te royal experience at Kings Cliff.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerNtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

The hotel has a charming look from the outside and a few public rooms. Its charm lies in the English colonial atmosphere . Many of the rooms have a fireplace for the cool evenings. The food is very good for a moderate price hotel . In the garden there is a second dining room in a greenhouse which is cheerful for breakfast and has candle lit tables in the evening. The view from the lawn of the valley is very pretty. The first room I was shown which I refused had a view out the window of the face of the cliff in back of the hotel( Basically rocks and dirt the full height of the window.) The furniture and atmosphere was ominous and the room looked like someone either had or would be murdered here. In the second room (a deluxe room ) the door to the bathroom was about 5 feet tall so it seemed every time I went to the bathroom I forgot and hit my head. There were mice scratching in the walls . If you go there look at the room before you agree to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidusaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed here in February and had a lovely time. The hotel has so much character and a great colonial feel. The hotel is right at the top of a cliff (as the name suggests) with great views. We came with a driver so it was easy getting here but without a car it might be a bit isolated (but taxis are so cheap). The food was delicious and the fire in the room a real treat with the cold nights. Great value for money, definitely one of our favourite places.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
2.3 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.1 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
2.0 mi away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#7 of 82 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
2.1 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cliff

Property: King's Cliff
Address: Havelock Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King's Cliff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your King's Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Cliff Ootacamund
Kings Cliff Hotel Ootacamund
King's Cliff India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing