We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Setting; Little Things Need Work”
Review of King's Cliff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King's Cliff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My wife and I spent our anniversary here. The setting is lovely. Pretty flowers on the grounds, public rooms have the feel of an old English Manor. They reminded us of a U.S. New England Inn. Real wood fires in the dining rooms and the guest rooms. On the negative side, the service was lacking. For example, there were only two hangers in the room. When we asked for more we were told there were no more. At breakfast juice was served from a cardboard container. There was only instant coffee, the tea was from ordinary teabags, and the croissants were packaged and served under plastic wrap. For the price we expected a much higher level of service, especially given the delightful breakfast setting in a glass house. The man who lit our fire every night also brought us a hot water bottle. He was terrific. All in all, a lovely setting that could doesn't reach the level of service that we take for granted in the West.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Gerald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 382 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

This review is only for the restaurant and not for the hotel. We visited in May for lunch as part of day trip from Coonoor where we were staying to Ooty. Have stayed here before and this is a nice old Colonial bungalow. Food was great, tried all Indian selection and the taste was great. It seemed quite popular as the place was full, not sure if people were staying or had just dropped in for a meal like us. The food took really long to come but that is still ok as you can laze around in a lovely place and enjoy the view. The washroom was in a dreadful state though and overall cleanliness of the place seemed suspect..... Not sure if that's because they were so rushed, but need to work on that urgently!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Meenu14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed one night at Kings Cliff, 3 nights at Sherlock and one night at Destiny. Their properties are amazingly beautiful with an excellent view. Food is very good at all 3 properties but would rate Kings Cliff's platter the best, followed by Destiny and then Sherlock. Even though mine was a last minute booking, Anoop at Littleearth did an excellent job and made my family vacation a memorable one. I drove all the way from Mumbai and still remember the freshness of the Bandipur and Madhumalai forests, and the sights of elephants and deers are still fresh on my mind. All in all, i will highly recommend Littlearth group to make your holidays a special one. Special thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajesh2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Never got a chance to stay in this beautiful property but had many a times enjoyed the culinary skills of the chef. Soups, continental and desserts - my choice here, Indian food, the best you get in Ooty. Very cozy and apt ambiance. Perfect for a fire place dinner.

Room Tip: Travel between October and March, Ooty is best, avoid seasons, might be a bit cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arunchandp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I traveled to Kotagiri via Ooty this March to getaway from the unusually hot Bangalore weather. We had heard a lot about King’s Cliff and particularly the food here.

When we arrived, a typical colonial mansion greeted us with its long driveway which gave way to a beautiful lawn. It really did feel like we were back in the British era – gabled roof, the garden with its cast iron furniture where probably the British once drank their cup of sweet English tea!

My wife particularly loves the old world charm and managed to find out that the mansion was originally a rest-house for British soldiers known as the Kings Cliffe Manor in the 1920s. A witness to this fact is the original tariff card where a room was a mere 7-8 p for a night.

The rooms, furniture do look a little tired after surviving all these years. The hotel should probably try and restore them a little, although without losing the old world charm. The mansion has a huge living hall where they play music and guests are allowed to socialize.

The restaurant, has many rooms with different kind of seating. I never expected such a fancy menu. It had South-east Asian, Continental and Indian cuisine on the offer. Breakfast was served in the adjacent glass house and could get a little hot in summers.

Rooms here are named after Shakespeare works like Othello, Macbeth, Hamlet etc. The room offered luxuries such as working fireplaces (although we didn’t need one in summer), flat-screen TV, intercom and tea/coffee maker. We were booked into Othello which was a spacious room and had a sit-out with splendid views.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravElite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

King's Cliff hotel in Ooty is located on Havelock road. This little road leads you to a place that will take you back in time. The picturesque hills and the verdant foliage is breath taking. It has a beautiful old world charm.

The rooms are named after Shakespares great works . They are all made of wood and are comfortable and cozy. The tag line of the hotel is bed, breakfast and fireplace.

The food is impeccable continental. You should trynot miss the steaks and brownie with icecream, just bliss.

If you are lucky yiu will spot bison and wild boar ramp walking for you in the middle if the hill.

The service too is wonderful. You cannot miss the simple smile of Mr. Shekhar, the one man army for all maintenace and setting up of the fireplaces. He is very coutious ans serves with a smile.

The place is a lovely getaway for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sursonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Great salads, great soup, amazing vintage ambience and laid back old Ooty charm...
Washroom are sad.
The food service is fast and accurate. Indian food in the restaurant is not the greatest but starters are good for a try. Desserts are nice. Apple pie is fresh and highly recommended!!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Sweety_Rath_CTLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
2.3 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,042 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#18 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
816 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#7 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cliff

Address: Havelock Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $47 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King's Cliff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your King's Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Cliff Ootacamund
Kings Cliff Hotel Ootacamund
King's Cliff India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing