We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a night out”
Review of King's Cliff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King's Cliff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

one of the best places to treat your taste buds in Ooty. an old bungalow converted into a hotel. Good food and amazing ambiance. try to book early and get a seat next to the fire place. the Continental selection is good.

Room Tip: book early as they have limited rooms
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RahulDMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at King's Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at Kings Cliff. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the location and ambience but also the food our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon
Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for King's Cliff
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 380 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

HI,
I satyed with my family in kings cliff . the hotel is well located , a very slient place they have got beautiful rooms .and very friendly staff , live music in the evening was really great it was a pleasure hearing it . since it was raining we were kept engaged in the resort . staffs are very helpfull , food is excellent best i have ever had , they have got a beautiful garden with lots of flowers , hats off to each and every staffs and the managment ......

Room Tip: choose for delux rooms
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajeev399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at King's Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services
We are happy to note that the services rendered by our team were to your satisfaction. We look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and services at all times
Thanks & regards,
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Kings cliff the word still wich is not going out of my mind...I stayed with a recommendation of my friend. the stay was really enjoyable.. I stayed with destiny, kings cliff and Sherlock but I would say at Kingscliff is the best.... I enjoyed my stay with my family.. my little one was enjoying each and every moment of the stay.. Vignesh and his team really made our stay with a memorable experience to leave out with.. we came to ooty thinking that how would it be possible for us to spend 7 days but we were engaged each and every moment..
I would probably suggest to take othello room which has a good view..

For sure I would come only to Kingscliff on my next visit to ooty...

Room Tip: Rooms with a garden view could be preferred...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank scoobydoo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at King's Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Guest

Your kind review is very encouraging for our team.We are so glad that you enjoyed the
Thank you and hope to see you here again soon!

Best regards,
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayes at this hotel on 14July 2013. Welcome service is good and wonderfull location. Room amenities were good.But TV not working, heater not working and billing system not working(waited more 1 hr get bill). Food was normal but over price. My advice dn't stay at this place....

Room Tip: Better choose other Hotel...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welcomeabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at King's Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest
At the outset we thank you for taking time to write your experience on Trip Advisor.We really value all your feedback as it gives us a chance to grow and improve on our services.We are glad that you enjoyed the location and the property
We are really sorry for the service rendered which was not upto your expectations. This is not typical of our staff or Property. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought up will be taken up on a priority basis. We also look forward to welcoming you at our other resorts and eager to create a positive experience for you.
Thanks and Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a quaint little place. A very British Bungalow conversion I think. We found this place through trip advisor and went there for a meal. We had a variety of dishes - including a beef steak, dum Biryani, Prawns etc. All of them, quite good. None of them really exceptional. The service was very good. The waiting staff were good, and well informed about the dishes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank WalkKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at King's Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at Kings Cliff. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the location and ambience but also the service and food our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon
Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I can call it as one of the best heritage hotels in Ooty. I and my family stayed in this hotel for 4 days to spend our holiday by visiting the different tourist destinations in Ooty. This is my first visit to Ooty with my family and enjoyed a lot. One can experience very pleasant climate here. The location is really superb and attractive. The hotel is surrounded with lush greenery. As a heritage building the rooms are well maintained the antique furniture inside the rooms as well as the furniture's inside the property are very beautiful. Interior designs of the hotel are really amazing. I honestly suggest this hotel to everyone who travel to ooty. Hotel staff’s provided friendly services for us. Overall we enjoyed a lot in Ootty…

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank MelissaBrigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at King's Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Your kind review is very encouraging for our team.We are so glad that you enjoyed the location, service and Food.
Thank you and hope to see you here again soon!

Best regards,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was our second trip to King's Cliff Manor at Ooty. The hotel takes you back to an era that is no more, with period furniture, valences and drapes and a polished teak fireplace overlooking a victorian "drawing room". The service is professional and the housekeeping staff are simple, efficient and friendly. Kings Cliff is reputed to have the best restaurant in Ooty, and I think its a justified claim. The lush lawns, impeccable maintenance of such an old bungalow, and the breakfast in the Glass refectory are memories of the place which will definitely take us back there for more stays in future. We had occasion to meet Vijay, the promoter of the Little Earth group, and were impressed by his passion and enthusiasm for restoring such old bungalows to their former glory, complete with lifestyle and ambience (to the utmost extent now possible).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at King's Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest
We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our guests really like. We are glad you liked our food and the colonial ambience .Our MD will also be delighted to receive your appreciation. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at a Littlearth Resort soon
Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
2.3 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,030 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
519 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,003 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#7 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
520 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cliff

Address: Havelock Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $50 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King's Cliff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your King's Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Cliff Ootacamund
Kings Cliff Hotel Ootacamund
King's Cliff India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing