We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of King's Cliff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King's Cliff
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A unique place”
Reviewed April 27, 2008

Expecting the unexpected is par for the course in India, but it still came as something of surprise to be sat in front of a log fire in old English surroundings, listening to heavily accented Indian singers giving a rendition of 'Leaving on a Jet Plane', before dining at white linen covered tables and finally retiring to bed with hot water bottles!

Kings Cliff is a unique place. It has a nice quiet location away from the quite grimy and bleak town that is Ooty and its manicured lawns are a suntrap and a good place to breakfast and unwind with a book. They were building an outdoor dining room on the lawn when we were there, which is testament to the great food and proof of the number of people who go there just to eat, but I think it might spoil the lawn a bit.

On the whole the staff are all really friendly and helpful, especially the head housekeeper who looked after us very well and deserves a special mention. They are quite strict with their mealtimes and have some funny rules, such as you can only have a chocolate brownie as a desert at dinner and not as a cake with an afternoon cup of tea! It amused us but more tetchy guests might not find that acceptable in a hotel that is marketing itself as luxury/boutique.

Opposite the bottom of the drive there is another restaurant/bar (can't recall name!) which has a great terrace on which to enjoy a sunset beer.

Ooty in itself did not impress us overly, but we were only there for one night. You probably need more time to really get out ans explore and see the beauty, away from the town. Munnar in Kerala is much more beautiful and easy to get out quickly to long quiet walks. The drive up to Ooty (from Mysore) and the train down are of course worth the effort!

  • Liked — Nothing specific - the whole package was great!
  • Disliked — Some rather straneg 'rules' but they didn't offend too much!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cheerynarration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    136
    34
    18
    15
See reviews for
153
124
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We stayed for here for almost a week a couple of years ago and I have only recently discovered this site to post a review. It was a great boutique hotel. I could not fault the service, it was the best I have ever experienced in a hotel. Having stayed in many places around the world since staying at King's Cliff, this has only reinforced my positive feelings about this hotel. Anyone involved in the tourism industry should take lessons from Deepak, the manager on how to treat guests and manager staff. Nothing is too much trouble for him. He has effuses a great energy throughout the house and makes you as a guest feel prioritised.

The authenticity and style of the house is second to none, it is a true colonial mansion. We found it to be well maintained. Anything we asked for, we were given promptly.

The location is very special. During our stay we also went to the log cabin in Avalanche which is also owned by the same man. We were greeted by a Tamil couple who are the housekeepers there. In a matter of minutes, the lady (Slochena) had rustled us up a banquet of delicious local food.

One of the most important aspects of this stay for me was the value for money, both the hotel and all activities arranged by the hotel represented great value. At no point of time did we feel we were being exploited as Europeans or viewed as cash cows. We felt that the hotel's rates were below what they could probably have charged. I would highly recommend it to all age groups and for all purposes.

  • Liked — The house, Deepak the manager and all the staff, the location and value for money
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sesa999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Staying at King’s Cliff is like stepping back in time. An original country estate home lovingly restored to be an amazing retreat in the Ooty hills.

Restored and renovated rooms, manicured lawns, gazebos, wood fires, and attentive staff. It was like being part of the British aristocracy.

Everything about King’s Cliff was quality. The grounds and accommodation were tranquil. The staff were very attentive but not intrusive. The nightly music trio in the drawing room were very good. The fittings in the rooms were lovely. The menu was very diverse and the food was lovely.

We had one of the rooms with a covered balcony and the room had a separate storage room for the luggage, as a result of all of this it felt very spacious, There was plenty of warm linen and having the fire set and lit each night was a lovely treat not to mention the complimentary chocolate mint.

The only downside was the restaurant was not licensed. For an establishment of the quality of King’s Cliff we felt this let it down.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ouseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

We stayed at Kings Cliff for more than a week,we had a very nice and cosy room.The food is great .You should tell the chef , if you dont want too much of cream.If you stay in their luxury rooms avoid the room named "Windsor" cos it has a rusted bath tub and it is situated next to the cook's kitchen making the room very noisy till the kitchens are closed.The room service is also pathetic and many room services boys have poor understanding of english.
The owner Mrs.Prabhu was nice enough to tell us about their other resort "The destiny " which is quite peaceful and a good location with good room service. Its good for mountaineering.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The room service
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vishal_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2007

We first visited Kings Cliff in December2005 for a meal at their highly regarded restaurant. We just HAD to stay overnight and enjoy the lovely ambience and fireplaces in each room.

This November we made our third trip - which speaks for itself.
The continental cuisine is exceptional. We understand they have separate kitchen teams for chinese,indian and continental. We managed to get a pic of the kitchen staff at their morning conference.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank amaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

Three nights at The king's Cliff was indeed a truly wonderful experience for our family.An old bungalow from the British days with wooden flooring and fire places in every room and antique rosewood furniture really evoked nostalgia.Food was great with the continental fare being particularly good.Breakfast was average but not much to complain really about the food,overall!
The carpets could do with a change and the great rosewood furniture would look and feel so much better with proper polish instead of the shiny varnish...guess the varnish makes it easier to maintain! The walls in some of the rooms were damp but remember Ooty had unusually heavy rains this year.
Bathrooms are functional and clean and the service above average.We regularly holiday in Ooty but had never heard of this place which is run by a couple, Mrs and Mr.Prabhu who were unfortunately away while we were in Ooty.
This place definitely deserves to be listed in Trip Advisor ...more so considering the fact that several much lesser hotels find a place among the listed Ooty hotels.Remember this hotel is for people like us who love the old world charm and not for those who are looking for the ambience of the modern five star hotels!!

  • Liked — The location,great views and just the charm of the old bungalow!
  • Disliked — Nothing particularly but maintenance could be better!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jeswant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
2.3 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.1 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
2.0 mi away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#6 of 78 in Ooty
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
2.1 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cliff

Property: King's Cliff
Address: Havelock Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King's Cliff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your King's Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Cliff Ootacamund
Kings Cliff Hotel Ootacamund
King's Cliff India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing