We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty of Kings cliff”
Review of King's Cliff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King's Cliff
Certificate of Excellence
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beauty of Kings cliff”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was there just to attend a wedding reception. The service and food was very good. The whole area was very neat and tidy while giving a beautiful view of ooty from the top. Yes I did find a little problem on the network for the mobile and slight inconvenience in parking. Overall it is worth to be there as the hotel takes you back by about 100 years..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gopalansrikumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    138
    34
    18
    15
See reviews for
157
124
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

nice place, a bit away form the rush of city. keep looking for the small sign post to reach there. nice old property. nice glass house restaurant and lovely food. must visit if you visiting ooty. order takes lot of time. so order foods as soon as possible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sameervasisht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the King's Cliff mid Jan 2013. It was an beautiful experience and was like stepping back to the time of the British with restored and renovated rooms, manicured lawns, glass-house dining, wood fires, and courteous staff
Rooms were all Shakespearean based themes like the Othello, Macbeth, Midsummer, Tempest etc. Thumbs up to all the staff who made sure they were attentive, friendly & courteous & full marks to the musician who sang at Dinner in the drawing room. The menu was very diverse and the food was lovely with a fire place lit by your side.
If you are looking out for something different rather than your regular resort, then Kings Cliff is the place to be.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajitkoshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlearth, Manager at King's Cliff, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at King's Cliff and glad to hear that you enjoyed the service and the theme ambiance in a heritage bungalow.
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care as always.

Kind Regards,
Jeffrey Kendall
General Manager Sales & Marketing
The Littlearth Group of Adventure Resorts & Theme Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I would recommend King's Cliff to anyone. Anytime. We were taken care of as if we were the king and queen that had been long awaited. Food was excellent. Look no further. This place rocks. Elegant service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were not staying at the the Kings Cliff hotel ..... but just visited for couple of evenings and dinner at the Earl's Secret (which is the name of the resturant located in this hotel). We were there from 6 pm to 11 pm on two nights in November 2012.

LOCATION : The winding route which brings one to the top of the hill, on which this hotel is located, is breathtaking. The huge girth of many of the trees on the way to the hotel signifies the ripe old age and antiquity of the location. Within the compound, the hotel seemed spacious & heritage. Its far enough from the main city below to ensure solitude but near enough to reach the city with just a 5-7 minute drive....which is perfect.

AMBIANCE inside the hotel: This seems to be one of the best part of the hotel. There are only 9 rooms & Mr. Nazrul (the General manager of the hotel) was kind enough to show me a couple of them - even though we were not staying here. The rooms have a fireplace inside....Though this sounds very classy & rustic but from a practical view point i hope that this is not the only source of heat in the rooms....bcos a fireplace is good for 1-2 hours....then dies out and the smoke / smell can also be irritating if the fire is kept raging thruout the night.

The common areas of the hotel are absolutely bloody fantastic. The seats/ sofa's & the outside fireplace are very very comfy. Great place to sit alone and read a novel for hours....or an even greater place for friends n family to sit and chat. The ambience is very british, ancient & charming. The live music / entertainment makes it even more lovely.

Finally, the Resturant :- The Earl's secret was possibly the only resturant that i found in Ooty that can dish up a decent Continental offering. The continental menu was elaborate and whatever we ordered was available & was delicious. The ambience of the resturant making it even more palatable. The resurant does not serve liquor but you are free to bring your own.

The DOWNSIDE : - Since the hotel is small there is no where to run to if u are in bad / unruly company..... This hotel is meant to be a nice quaint but aristocratic place to enjoy a serene time. You can only hope that your luck is good and none of the blabbering/ jabbering / noisy / noveau rich families with their brat children or just group of friends are staying there with you. This hotel is best for rich, sophisticated, calm, aristocratic, mature people to spend a good time. (I hope the hotel screens their guests throughly before allowing them in).

I would love to stay in this hotel on my next trip to ooty.....alibeit only if the entire hotel (all 8-9 rooms) are booked only by me / our family and friends - in order to ensure that no idiotic people come around to spoil my quite, luxurious holiday. I sincirely wish that the hotel restricts kids (below the age of 18) from entering this magnificent property & i hope that the hotel management bends backwards to MAINTAIN the property such that it remains fit for a King to stay & also ensures immaculate express fast service.....even if it means charging more for the rooms.

Room Tip: There are only 8-9 rooms in totality....and even these are divided into 3 catagories!!. I suggest yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bharat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I want to first write negatives as I faced them: Bad room warming system, No internet service, extra charge on alternatives even if the main source doesnt work, the beds are not good in semi-deluxe rooms, cold air seeping through the windows.

Positives: Nice food, good service, nice staff,

Room Tip: Cold air seeping in through the windows even though they are cold. They keep charging you for every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakesh569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

the grounds in this place are beautiful! there's a restaurant which serves delicious food- both the complementary buffet breakfast, and the a la carte dished that are available for other meals.
he staff were friendly and helpful! you can arrange tours/trips through the reception.
the room we took was the Tempest room. it was very comfortable and felt very luxurious. they come to light the fireplace in the evening, which was amazing in the chilly nights in Ooty. the room is quite large, and therefore was a bit cold. the only heating is the fireplace. still, best nights' sleep we had in india! very comfortable beds and quilts.
we were a bit surprised that at a hotel of this caliber they were not able to help us print out a paper copy of our flight ticket home. overall the service was good.

Room Tip: our room, Tempest didn't really have a view. delux rooms are more luxurious, larger. give you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
2.3 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,015 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
791 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#14 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
996 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#7 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
518 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cliff

Property: King's Cliff
Address: Havelock Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King's Cliff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your King's Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Cliff Ootacamund
Kings Cliff Hotel Ootacamund
King's Cliff India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing