We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, laid back heritage property with attentive staff”
Review of King's Cliff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King's Cliff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We made a family trip for 3 nights to Ooty, and stayed at Kings Cliff, away from the busy town area. The ambience is awesome, very much a heritage feel. The lawns, public areas are also very neat, and the kids also enjoyed the place after their initial reservation went away - they are used to the typical 4/5 star properties in central locations.

Overall, our stay was comfortable. Live music and warm fireplaces in the evenings, and a very attentive staff made it a good experience, and the highlight was the breakfast in the glass room on the lawn - something completely different !!

Some things to watch out for :
1. They have a 15 day cancelation policy, which is way beyond what you would see normally. They were not willing to be flexible about it, other than allow us to use the deposit for a future stay within the next 3 months.
2. Stay in he newer wing, better rooms and bathrooms. The original wing is worn out, needs to be refurbished. We were given a room called Midsummer which we changed after the first night, to Hamlet, and that was far better.
3. The restaurant fancies itself as a gourmet dining place, but I found it to be expensive. And beware, their portions are very generous, so an order for 2 will suffice for 4.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Sajid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 397 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

Its a very good hotel in Ooty. Experienced a very nice stay for 3days. Multi cuisine food with a very good taste..you can just say awesome. But OK ok for South Indian dishes.

Service is very good with very neat and clean rooms. Location is just a bit away from busy city at a cliff where you will admire the beauty of nature. An excellent place to spend your time and a bit relaxing from your busy life.

Room Tip: Should classify the rooms according their names and the rates, so that tourists could choose a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tribikram_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Had a three course dinner in the restaurant. Portions were large. Small eaters beware!. The food (Mediterranean and Italian) was excellent. Service was attentive without being intrusive. Being on top of a hill perhaps the view would be great during day time for outdoor dinning. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apparao_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Quietly located overlooking Ooty, staying at King’s Cliff you feel like you have stepped back to the times of the Raj. The well maintained hotel gardens are a great place to spend a sunny afternoon catching up on your reading, alternatively the public lounge areas offer comfy chairs and open fireplaces. . . . a must on days when the sun does not shine as the building gets very cold (bring a jumper, hat, gloves!).

We stayed in the basic room, it’s a little dark and damp and near the kitchen. Like the rest of the hotel its cold at night but the night porter called Sekar made our nights toasty warm; lighting the fire, bringing us hot water bottles and a kettle for hot tea and coffee. Reception can also provide electric fires.

The restaurant is the highlight of King’s Cliff with excellent service and wide selection of Indian, western and Thai dishes itt arracks many non-residents at weekends. It would be nice if it served alcohol but there are some nice mocktails instead.

It’s a 20-30 min walk down into town and a fixed 100 INR auto rickshaw ride back up.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the small Executive room if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlosUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at King's Cliff for 2 days in 2011. Awful service, mediocre food and a non-attentive staff made this the worst hotel stay for us so far. Location is good but the rooms are maintained very badly. It can get really cold in the nights and there is no source of heat other than the fire place. And without proper ventilation the room gets really suffocating with the fire on.
Shockingly there was no fireplace screen here and the bed was so close to the fireplace!
The staff seemed least interested about the comfort of their guests. The lady at the front desk had no idea about most of the things we asked for. There is an extensive menu but only when you call to order do you get to know that most of the things on the list are not available and you end up having the regular sandwich, fish n chips and the biryani! To add to this, we got a room with the pantry/kitchen behind it and it completely negated the tranquility we needed.
Finally, If you are looking for a quiet, romantic and hassle free holiday, stay away from this place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reachann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I chose King's Cliff based on the reviews here and the editor's recommendations on Outlook Traveller. And I'm glad I made that choice. I love anything colonial, and King's Cliff is the perfect piece of ancient art that I could dwell in albeit for just the three days.

Location :
King's cliff is perched on Havelock Hill, an imposing rock overlooking the valley of Ooty. It is secluded from the hustle bustle of holiday noise yet offers delightful views of the mountains on the horizon and the town below. About 2km, from the city center, it is easy to locate once you reach the Collectorate junction. Take the road adjoining St. Stephens and follow the signposts for The Monarch to begin with and the Willow Hill a little later. Beautiful narrow lanes take you to the mansion that reminds one of Vidhu Vinod Chopra's '1942 A Love Story'.

Accommodation :
This is where I made the best decision. Most of the bad reviews on King's Cliff here are because people chose the Executive Room, the lowest of the three options. I chose Standard and you also have the option of Deluxe. Standard is just one room 'Prospero' with a nice fireplace, spacious beds and a little room to walk around. Please refer to King's Cliff's website for more details. Point to note is that the prices on weekends vary from weekdays.

Ambiance :
I love this part. You are transformed into pre Independence times and feel you are living among the British. Rich wooden flooring and furnishings all around, fireplaces to keep off the cold, a lazy library with super comfortable chairs you can doze off in, lovely lovely karaoke in the evenings, the English courtyard, the glasshouse ah, the glasshouse, the vintage car, the old photographs and the divine chirping of the birds will make you feel in a different magical world.

Food :
Tourists from all over Ooty visit the restaurant 'Earl's Secret' at King's Cliff. That stands for the quality of food you get. I tried only the Indian cuisine but you have options in Chinese and Continental as well. The garlic nan melts in your mouth and the spicy kadai chicken (a chef's special not in the menu) is an absolute delight. The mutton roganghost was awesome too.
Breakfast buffet is served in the beautiful beautiful greenhouse. Food is average, choice limited.

Facilities :
If you are here for the facilities, you are at a wrong place. Satellite TV didn't work throughout our stay because of too much cloud but you aren't at Ooty to watch TV. There is no swimming pool or gym (the same reasons as TV apply here). Fireplace is beautiful but is more a fun thing than a respite from cold. You are provided with a room heater on request. Hot water is supposed to be available from 6am-10am and from 6pm-10pm. Reality is 7am-10am. In the evenings, water is lukewarm, just bearable. Room Diary says wifi is available but it isn't. Beds are super comfortable, room spacious enough, bathroom surprisingly good.

Service :
People are very cordial and helpful. Some of the waiters are knowledgeable and very attentive. In short, they make you feel at home and a little more. You actually feel like a little royal.

Overall :
My Ooty experience was amazing and King's Cliff played a major part in it. I haven't stayed at other places in Ooty so I can't compare, but, I will definitely vouch for King's Cliff to make your stay comfortable and beautiful.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with the view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bharath744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Excellent place in all aspects. The british colonial mansion which has been converted just added that extra charm to our stay in dreamy/romantic Ooty! Fireplaces in each room was another splendid touch. The whole setup seemed out of a book! The staff were excellent and very friendly. Have been recommending this place to all my friends and family as we can't stop talking about it. Will surely return, keep up the good work

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sumith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
2.3 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,102 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#12 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
597 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#6 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,058 reviews
2 mi away
Sherlock Hotel
Sherlock Hotel
#5 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
546 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#8 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cliff

Address: Havelock Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $44 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — King's Cliff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your King's Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Cliff Ootacamund
Kings Cliff Hotel Ootacamund
King's Cliff India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing