We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical & Decent”
Review of Vinayaga Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vinayaga Inn
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Economical & Decent”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a preferred hotel for budget travelers. The rooms were very spacious and clean. Food served is good too. Do not expect fancy interior and superior amenities. Front office guys need to learn guest handling and interaction. Inspite of informing and their reconfirmation when I reached at 7 am I was told that electricity can not be provided because it is an early check in. However, I somehow convinced them for the same. Mr Raja the guest service guy was very proactive and ensured our smallest request was complied to. A special thanks to Mr Sampat of the travel desk. He planned our trip and itinerary quite well. Over all a good experience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frenziedpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppysHotel, Manager at Vinayaga Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2017
Respected Guest,

Greetings from Vinayaga Inn Ooty!!!

Thank you for choosing Vinayaga Inn for your stay at ooty. we greatly appreciate that you took time write us. we look forward to welcome you again to enjoy the best hospitality. Thank you very much for your feedback and encouraging comments.

Warm Regards,
R. Siva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    37
    40
    17
    16
See reviews for
64
41
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My name is zameer vahanvaty and I checked into Hotel Vinayaga Inn on 2nd October and checked out on 7th October. I didn’t like this hotel at all and I have given below reasons for the same.

1. I was in room number 212 which is the last room on the right on the 2nd floor. Shocked, to see, there was no cupboard so from 2nd October to 7th October (5 nights) I lived through my suitcase, which is terrible for a hotel.

2. The curtains in the room were just thin and not at all blocking any sunlight from entering the room. The sun would rise by 6:30am and sad to say, however much you drew the curtains, the sun came into the room and woke you up. Is this what to expect from a hotel?

3. The bathroom in the room was dark with light only on top of the wash basin. What about the rest of the bathroom? In the middle of the night if you had to go to the bathroom, it would be dark with just that bathroom light on.

4. The hot water in the bathroom was the only good thing about that room. 24 hours hot water was a great thing in ooty.

5. There was no ample car parking and the car park was a public parking lot with buses and tourist vehicles parked in there.

6. The room service was decent.

7. The laundry service was good as I tried it out and it was clean and they were on time in giving back the clothes to me.

8. The bar was a dark dingy room with people smoking inside there and the only beer served was strong kingfisher along with a few variety’s of whiskey.

9. The restaurant was pathetic and nothing like what they show in the pictures on the site or any of the travel related websites.

All in all “I WOULD NEVER EVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL AGAIN” AND THEY DESPERATELY NEED TO GET THEIR ACT TOGETHER IF THEY WANT TO BE IN BUSINESS.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank retromusicrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppysHotel, Manager at Vinayaga Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2017
Greetings from Vinayaga Inn,Ooty
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking you valuable time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of having you with us and assure you of our best services at all times.

Thanking you

Warm Regards


R. Siva
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels

Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Based on feedback on website of cleartrip, I booked this hotel with some expectation. But the experience was entirely different.
1. Electrical fittings in rooms were out of order.
2.TV reception was bad for almost all Hindi Channels
3.Reception desk response was very poor. Inspite of showing message regarding confirmation of booking, hard copy was asked to produce. This lloks very odd when Online bookings are done.
4. Blankets provided were shabby and having patches.
5. Overall stay was not comfortable though it was budget hotel. It can be rated as below budget Hotel if one want to save money at the cost of comfort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank Pradeep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppysHotel, Manager at Vinayaga Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2017
Greetings from Vinayaga Inn,Ooty
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking you valuable time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of having you with us and assure you of our best services at all times.

Thanking you

Warm Regards


R. Siva
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

we travelled to ooty october 2012, we sayed in vinayaga inn hotel in garden road. it is walkable distance from botancal gadren and market area. it is a budget hotel and the staffs are very kind and polite. hot water is available only in the morning. if u need hot water in the night u cant get it after 7pm. the restaurant in this hotel is pathetic, u cant get anything apart from idli. dosa and poori. the menu list is too long but u cant find anything according to that. the travel desk is good and u can get the vehicles on time. the staffs are very co-operative. room service is average. over all its a budget hotel and u cant expect anything more than this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank post2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppysHotel, Manager at Vinayaga Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2017
Greetings from Vinayaga Inn,Ooty
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking you valuable time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of having you with us and assure you of our best services at all times.

Thanking you

Warm Regards


R. Siva
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The place is very near to botanocal garden and city market area. The service was okay and not that great. It is good and recommended for family and friends. It is value for money

Cons: Bed covers\sheets very not clean. Service\staff is average.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Prashant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppysHotel, Manager at Vinayaga Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2017
Respected Guest,

Greetings from Vinayaga Inn Ooty!!!

Thank you for choosing Vinayaga Inn for your stay at ooty. we greatly appreciate that you took time write us. we look forward to welcome you again to enjoy the best hospitality. Thank you very much for your feedback and encouraging comments.

Warm Regards,
R. Siva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellent service, clean and nice rooms, perfect location, good housekeeping. The best part was room service.
Food quality needs improvement for being the best in business. I think room rents should be reduced so that people from lower middle class family can take advantage.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Kv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppysHotel, Manager at Vinayaga Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2017
Respected Guest,

Greetings from Vinayaga Inn Ooty!!!

Thank you for choosing Vinayaga Inn for your stay at ooty. we greatly appreciate that you took time write us. we look forward to welcome you again to enjoy the best hospitality. Thank you very much for your feedback and encouraging comments.

Warm Regards,
R. Siva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

It is a budget Hotel and we picked Super Deluxe room. Hotel is very much near to botanical garden and view was good from most of the rooms. But problem is with staff and services, which will make you sick there. I am listing their anatomy here:

Good points:
1. They allow flexible check-in time. We reached at 10:30 AM and they allowed us to occupy.
2. Spacious room, comfortable mattress and clean bathroom.
3. Walking distance from botanical garden and charing cross.
4. Hot water was available all the time.
5. Travel desk facility was available (though it is available with almost all the Ooty Hotels).
6. South Indian menu items were tasty.

Bad Points:
1. Rooms was dusty. There was dust allover the the place (on mattress, sofa and dressing table). We requested them to clean it several time but they never did it. Finally we only have to rub it off!
2. Blanket was not clean. You won't feel using it at all but they will not provide any replacement.
3. Cupboard was not there.
4. Room service was almost nonexistent.
5. Restaurant have minimal variety and fixed timing for each meal. Beyond the timing they will not provide anything.
6. Staff was not cooperative.
7. TV was not good and we asked to set it properly but they never did it.
8. Their check-out time is fixed at 1200 hrs. They haven't allowed even 1 hrs after that (though hotel was serving only 40% of it's capacity)

I would say they have a potential to make it a very good hotel but they have to improve services a lot more. I would suggest it as last resort for any traveller. If you won't find any other good hotel then this hotel is Okay to go.

Room Tip: There are rooms which faces Botanical Garden (so the freshness). Choose those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navneet_kake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoppysHotel, Manager at Vinayaga Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2017
Greetings from Vinayaga Inn,Ooty
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking you valuable time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of having you with us and assure you of our best services at all times.

Thanking you

Warm Regards


R. Siva
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.3 mi away
Ponmari Residencyy
Ponmari Residencyy
#24 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
317 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#16 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Astoria Residency
Astoria Residency
#13 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Hills International
Blue Hills International
#32 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
784 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Welbeck Residency
Hotel Welbeck Residency
#33 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinayaga Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinayaga Inn

Property: Vinayaga Inn
Address: 36 - C, Garden Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vinayaga Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Vinayaga Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vinayaga Inn India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing