We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic Place to stay in ooty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sagar Holiday Resorts
Reviewed April 1, 2013

What i light most is the view and the architecture of Hotel. We loved staying in the hotel. People are very co-operative and friendly. Only drawback is food are not so good for quality and price. Need an improvement here. Other thing is there is no market near by.

Room Tip: Take the cottage on the top otherwise you will loss most of your energy in climbing the stair itself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 240 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

I spent 3 days here in Mar 2013. The overall experience is good. The location and the view is exceptionally good. Each room has a dedicated balcony that is huge! The design of the resort is fabulous. The room that we stayed was neat and clean. No issues from the cleanliness perspective.

Nits:
- Service. Food is just ok and so is the room service.
- Around 3.5kms from the main town. If you have gone in a private vehicle then this should not be a problem. But if you are a person who would like to walk around and explore the city then this place would look too far for you to stay.

Room Tip: I found all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshwiniKumarBhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is at a very good location in Ooty. Very good cottages made on hills of ooty. But they are giving you good services if you are going in peak season. If you are going in off season you have to wait for services. You will not get good breakfast and other foods there. Although the Menu card is made very good but the manager will tell you that cooks are not assailable so he can give only some snacks to you nothing else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harish1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Best:
I don’t think any other hotel can provide such a beautiful valley view in Ooty. Big thanks to the architect who has designed the entire structure and the visionaries behind such a beautiful project. All 36 rooms can have a 360 degree view of the entire valley. Each room is facing the valley and the Nilgiri express railway track.
Fantastic sun rise can be enjoyed with a good coffee in the balcony and can also click some great snaps.
One can enjoy the moonlight dinner in the spacious balcony with a glittering view of valley, in the cool breeze.
Mr. Joseph a cool guy with a smiling face, can make you relax with his best massage service. Don’t miss it if you are there in Sagar. I liked especially the foot massage. It was really stress relieving as I had driven around 500 kms to reach there.

Good:
Friendly hotel staff, a good travel desk, quick room service and hot water in the bath room.

Average or to be improved:
Maintenance of the entire building is decent, Furniture, Food quality

Verdict:
Value for money since you don’t get this view in any other hotels and one can really the scenic beauty of the Valley both in day and night.

Room Tip: Though all the rooms will have same view, view from top row rooms will be the best. If you find blan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Pros: Value for money, Beautiful views, Peaceful location, Spacious balcony with excellent views (A good view of nilgiris and toy train tracks), Good food
Cons: Understaffed (So expect slow service), Just okayish cleanliness of rooms, Blanket provided for night was not enough for Ooty temperature.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank NGAUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Good about the hotel: -Hotel rooms provided best possible valley view -Balconies in every room were really nice -Surrounding areas around hotel was pretty well maintained with lot of greenery & flowers.Not so good about the hotel: -Bathroom was not so good and not well maintained(at least in the room in which we Stayed) -Hot water though was available during morning hours but was difficult to get during evening or night.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank fayaz-2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

sagar holiday resorts is a nice place to stay in ooty. it is located at the top of the hill. and the rooms are built in step wise from the top of the hill, so there will be a beautiful view of the valley from the rooms. especially coming to the food,the food is very delicious and very tasty. no where in ooty we will get this type of tasty food. hotel is having good ambience and good service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahorsrikanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#18 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
644 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,248 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sabol Holiday Resorts
Sabol Holiday Resorts
#26 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#17 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
823 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hill Country Lovedale
Hill Country Lovedale
#32 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
175 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#13 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagar Holiday Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagar Holiday Resorts

Address: Valley View,Grand Duff Road, | Lovedale Post, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $42 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagar Holiday Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sagar Holiday Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagar Holiday Hotel Ootacamund
Sagar Holiday Resorts India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing