We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property with decent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sagar Holiday Resorts
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent property with decent service”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Had a great time staying at Sagar. View from our room was just amazing. Room was clean and tidy. Front desk was welcoming and service was decent, only trouble i had was with the water heater. It was not working property and i had to call for support few times. But considering the overall quality of the property i would ignore that hitch and term the stay Excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tharique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    101
    51
    12
    14
See reviews for
113
86
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We booked this hotel via cleartrip.com and got a confirmed booking. After a tiring road trip from Bangalore with my wife and 3 year old kid, I was happy to see the location. We were getting a little late so had called up the hotel at around 12:00 p.m that day to confirm the room.
Then we met these crooks which this resort has employed as their staff and our nightmare started.
They said that the room is not available and they cannot provide us accommodation over there, but can adjust us in a nearby "villa" that their top management folks stay in. They said a guest had extended their stay in the last moment and hence cannot provide the accomodation.
Arguing with them, asking them to move the other guest to the villa instead of us or calling up cleartrip didn't help. After wasting an hour with them and with my 3 yr old kid and the long journey we had no option but to check out their so called "villa".
Then they took us to a shabby little house fit to be a brothel at the most (and I am not joking). The room was small with the overpowering smell of phenol all over the place. Next to the room was a dormitory kind of thing with ugly mattresses lying on the floor. As soon as we saw the place I could make out that these people are taking us for a ride and left that place saying that they should process the refund, to which the guy agreed and left.
It was peak season, but we somehow managed to get another accommodation. Later we thought of checking with cleartrip the same day to ensure that the refund order is in place. To our utter surprise the cleartrip guy said that your accomodation is confirmed and they see that I have checked in and there cannot be any refund provided. They said that they have got a confirmation message from Sagar holiday resort that we have checked-in in their villa.
I spent around 3 hours calling back and forth the cleartrip guys and the hotel staff. Finally after doing a conference with the cleartrip manager and one of the staff I could convince that we are not infact staying in their hotel. If I would not have done this call the same day then I am sure these crooks would have easily gone away with this money.
By the time this ended it was 9:30 p.m. and Day 1 in Ooty went down in my journals as the worst vacation day of my life.
I would advise you guys to be very carefull of the staff in case you do plan to book here and somehow do get a written confirmation from them on the room availability. Better still have a backup option in place. Even better is not to include this place in your itinerary at all. The place has a nice view, but you may have to loose your sleep with the cunning staff at your back.
Remember... you have been warned :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank BengaluruTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels

Tuticorin, India
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I will rate my experience here as excellent.

The view is too good to be true!
It is built on the slope in the mountains.
The view of ketti-valley is awesome.

The property is very clean.
The toilets are very clean and large.
The staff were very friendly.

The beds were very good and though it was very cold outside, it was very comfortable inside.
Had an excellent night sleep.

The car park is reasonable.
Sometimes in the nights it gets filled up though.

The approach road to the hotel from the main road is poor.
There is a big dip and low slung cars will take a hit under-body.
Wish the hotel arranges to improve the road.

Hot water was available throughout.
But problem was it takes sometime for it to come and till then cold water is wasted, which is a precious resource in the nilgiris.

Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaiviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights here. Must say it was nice experience staying away from the hustle bustle of city. Excellent view out of each room; though more you stay towards the top of the resort, better view you get of the valley.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJDals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I was there for 4D/3N . Excellent place to relax in case you are willing to stay away from City. Situated around 10 min drive from main city on Connor Road. Rooms are good and gives you very good view of valley. You can see the Ooty –Coonoor train toy train passing by from your balcony. Over all I will say its FULL PAISA VASOOL ( Full Value for Money )

Room Tip: All rooms are good but rooms in middle rows are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prashant1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stayed for 2 days and 1 night at Sagar Resort. It is located around 2 Km from Ooty center at a very peacefull location on Ooty-Coonoor road.
The resort is situated on the slope of the hill and the cottages are so designed that you get a panoromic view of the Ketti valley.
Sitting in the large balcony of the cottage , you can see the mist covered montains and the toy train from ooty to coonor passing by, down in the Valley.
Cottages at Sagar hoilday resort in ooty are uniquely designed in the form of steps.
Overall Nice stay with excellent view.
Furnishing in the room is good enough. Room service is prompt and food is ok.
They have a children play area at the lower part of the resort and you can enjoy the mist filled mountains in the evening by spending some time in this area.

Pros: Excellent View
Very Peacfull
Cons: Since the resort is located on the slope of the valley, to reach the cottages you need to use the stairs (which would be quite difficult if your cottages is towards the lower part ) or you can use the movable trolley, but everytime you have to call someone from service to operate it.

It would be good to have your own transport since the resort is away from the nearest bus stand and market.

Overall i would give a rating of 7.5 on 10.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller_Suraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Nice rooms, location was very good. Each room has balcony with very good view. No bad experience. Two things needs to improve. 1. Lift to reach to rooms on down side was not working. 2. Although food quality is very good, Need more options in restaurant menu.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on top level so that you won't need to climb much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tapanahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
791 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Willow Hill
The Willow Hill
#22 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
157 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#18 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Surya Village
The Surya Village
#19 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
66 reviews
2.7 mi away
Treebo Yantra Leisures
Treebo Yantra Leisures
#16 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
181 reviews
2.4 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagar Holiday Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagar Holiday Resorts

Property: Sagar Holiday Resorts
Address: Valley View,Grand Duff Road, | Lovedale Post, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643003, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagar Holiday Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Sagar Holiday Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagar Holiday Hotel Ootacamund
Sagar Holiday Resorts India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing