We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Boutique Resort”
Review of Zest Danish Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zest Danish Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore India
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“A Boutique Resort”
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Reached Zest 'Danish Villa' at 12.15pm on April 20th 2011. This place is on the road next to St.Stephen's Church opposite the Collector's Office, close to St. Hilda's School. An old 179 year old Villa on 2.33 acres of land where a Danish family resided and with the Mahindras since 1947, it was as recently as 10 years ago refurbished to accomodate 15 roo...ms and a small kids play area. This is apparently the place where Anand Mahindra stayed while studying at the Lawrence School, Lovedale and it was apparently his idea to convert it into a boutique resort. The view from the resort is breathtaking aand though it is barely a kilometer or so from the bustling Charing Cross, it is extremely quiet and serene. Rooms are done in earthy wood and are warm and cosy. Beds on raised wooden platforms add to the warmth. Modern toilets along with other amenities like LCD TV, DVD player, a tea/coffee maker make the stay a comfortable one. Though a few more lights in the rooms will make them brighter and less somber. Esp as the skies were so grey and laden with moisture and rains were imminent. Went out to sit and admire the sweeping views of the blue hills. The angry skies erupted shortly and we were driven in to a warm bed with heater on. Slept like babies! Woke up at 5, had a hot cuppa, changed and ventured out into the freshly washed outdoors which gleamed, had some hot buns at a bakery and bought some caps to cover our ears, at Charing Cross, went driving around, admiring and enjoying the cold breeze. Temperature was 12deg and falling! Returned home for a simple meal while Toshu went to the restaurant to enjoy a full buffet, which was a major peeve for Ranga and me, as we eat very sparingly and a buffet meal priced at Rs.450/- + tax pp is wasted on us and the resort was not serving any a la carte which was silly as they had a full occupancy and am sure they would have had takers. Other than that we had a great time, as there are plenty of eating options available in Ooty.!

Room Tip: Beautiful place well maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sunshinecheer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    42
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
58
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cheltenham
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in early Feb. The hotel is slightly out of Ooty which is good - walkable into town and a tuktuk back whilst being away from the noise. Staff were very pleasant and always dealt with requests promptly and curitously. Room was comfortable, somewhat odd design for India but comfortable and spacious. Would recommend for a stay in Ooty. We ate in the restaurent as there wasn't anywhere else close as an alternative and we didn't want to bother going to town to find food in the evening. The hotel food was OK, portions were large. Tours were offered in teh hotel but we used taxi driver in Ooty - maybe we were lucky but we got a good driver who knew the area really well. Visit the Tea Museum and Top Station.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackJohnson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I along with 2 of my friends stayed here for 1 night during Dec. We like the way they have done the interiors with wood, it gives you a feeling of warmth in the cold Ooty weather, else nothing great to be told about this place. Place is tough to locate, make sure you get the directions from front desk if you are going there

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobbyBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Had driven down to ooty from bangalore around end july. The property is beautifully located overlooking the valley. the rooms are beautifully designed and have a very warm cozy feel about it. We had an excellent stay there. the service is a tad bit slow bu otherwise its a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wizzsidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We reached there on 27th afternoon, after searching for it for nearly 1.5 hours. Nobody in ooty knows this place. Its on the road opposite to collectors office/mohan's. Once you get to the hotel, you will be re-leaved. Its very neatly maintained. Nice views from almost all rooms.
But the only grouse we had was the food. It was ridiculously expensive. The breakfast buffet had nice spread and was part of the package.
Rooms are neatly maintained.Staff are very friendly.
They had kept some kurkures in the rooms, which was charged at 25 rupees per pack! The price on them was 10! So it was a bit over the top!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank bhpcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Ooty is not the place it used to be, but this hotel is in a very quiet location, away from all the noise. very friendly staff, great food. couple of disappointments - small play area for children and ofcourse the price...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rags1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed at Zest in Ooty for 3 days and 2 nights. The location was on top of one of the hills. It was the top most point of that hill. The view from the lawn area of the hotel was very good. They had arranged for a site visit in their own car. The driver was a localite of OOty and knew all the good places. Food is a bit expensive, but the quality was good. They had both modern and classic rooms. Both were excellent. I especially liked the interiors of the modern rooms.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pKiran1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,019 reviews
0.8 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
997 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#14 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zest Danish Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zest Danish Villa

Property: Zest Danish Villa
Address: 30 Zest Danish Villa Sheddon Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zest Danish Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zest Danish Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zest Danish Villa India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing