We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lovely OOTY”
Review of Ooty Villa Park

Ooty Villa Park
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ooty Villa Park
Reviewed December 29, 2009

A nice Hotel at a beautiful place .
Good for those who are looking for the best and this does not even burns a hole in the pocket
The rooms and bathrooms were very well designed and provided with all the essential amenities .
The rooms provided great view of the beautiful hills .

Located at the most happening place of the city
Good for honeymooners .
They also provide a good room service with a ok kind of food available with them .

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capt_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2009

The hotel is one of oldest hotel in Ooty. It was Dasaprakash before and now changed as Villa Park. Hotel has colonial style building and well designated rooms. The room alloted to us was a double bedroom cottage type. The room was small. It was neat. The toilet and bathroom were exceptionally neat and clean. Room service was also good. The disappointment was that our room does not offer any view as it was nestled between other cottages. The hotel is in close proximity to railway station and busstand. It offers complete view of the ooty town, which I believe no other hotel in Ooty one can get to see this kind of view. The hotel is facing the race course and one can see the races from the hotel lawn when the racing season starts.

The hotel had two restraunts, one south indian and other north indian. The south indian restruant is exceptionally good. The hotel had recreational facilities, especially chlidren. It has even got a temple on the hill top.

I felt the tariff was high as opposed to the actual room and service, but I had no serious complaints. It was overall a satisfactory stay and my family too liked it, the real hero was the food, the ambience and the view.

The hotel was closed for renovation for sometime and I do not whether it has reopened. I wish to recommend this hotel to visitors to ooty, but check before hand of the room details.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Vittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Beautiful location easily accessible. Less crowded.
Good place for family as well as honeymooners.
The room service was quick and the food was satisfactory. The rooms were neat & clean.
I would recommend to the viewers to stay at this place.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank moklavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2008

We are 4 senior citizens that have travelled extensively in India and the far east. Stayed at Ooty Villa Park for two nights in adjoining rooms and enjoyed the hotel. Found the hotel to be all that was anticipated and even a slight bit more. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, amenities adequate, fan worked, heater provided at no additional cost, sufficient hot water at designated hours, food in the two restaurants was totally adequate, view was great, quiet location, friendly staff, etc. Highly recommend this hotel. Paid $50 per night with no meals for a deluxe room. Town was just a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

Although not highly advertised visit the Tribal Research Center about 10 km from town. A wonderful museum and guide. The botanical garden is another great experience. Take the narrow gage cog railroad from Mettapalayam to Ooty for a unique venture. Leaves Mattapalayam at 0710 and arrives at Ooty at 1200. Scenary is breathtaking. Drive from Ooty to Mysore is an experience going down the mountain with all the switchbacks. We took a local express bus and it was crowded but worth the experience.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Dozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.8 mi away
Zest Danish Villa
Zest Danish Villa
#15 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#18 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
638 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel
#57 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Welbeck Residency
Hotel Welbeck Residency
#34 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
176 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,209 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Surya Village
The Surya Village
#19 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ooty Villa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ooty Villa Park

Address: 29 - 49 Backey Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 85 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Ooty Villa Park Hotel Ootacamund
Ooty Villa Park India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing