We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its nice but i only went because i was bored”
Review of Botanical Gardens

Botanical Gardens
Ranked #3 of 64 things to do in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“its nice but i only went because i was bored”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

it didnt take too long to walk around
i think its quite nice but there were loads of people
it could be better maintained
i think it used to look nice
great weather and probably nice to take your tiny children around for exploring
my friend and i were followed around by this one annoying man
nice trees but i wish there were more flowers and that they did some trimming once in a while

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cheryltwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    989
    1,096
    461
    82
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lost glory”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Not very well maintained. Heavily crowded. Not worth visiting. Please avoid. Didn't liked it. Ticket prices are also steep.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank roamerbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I always like to visit botanical gardens wherever I am in the world, but unfortunately these were among the most disappointing.

Maybe it was because it was a holiday period, but the gardens were totally overrun with people. Most of the area seemed to be one huge lawn, but there were some nice species of trees - mostly from Australia, China or Japan. The rock garden seemed a bit empty and the sunken garden abandoned.

Helpful?
Thank LewisHawarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place !”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I travelled during Dec 2013-Jan 2014. It is a big park with nice landscape and lots of open areas for kids to have fun. Take lots of pictures. There is also a small area where a family of monkey's can be seen swinging between branches.

We could not travel the complete park (it would take 3-4 hours to walk the whole park). Overall it was probably the best attraction around to just enjoy few hours.

Quick note for all travellers - no matter how much money the organizations make to enter the attractions, and how nice trhe attractions maybe, they have the worst toilet facilities - so dont count on even a basic toilet pot :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank akayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just a park!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

It looked like just a local park not a true botanical garden. Was it because of December? Not sure! I was expecting more flora but was not up to the mark.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sathyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Gardens also viewed

Ooty, The Nilgiris District
Ooty, The Nilgiris District
 
Ooty, The Nilgiris District
Ooty, The Nilgiris District
 

Been to Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing