We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunshine Inn
Ranked #68 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Happy Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

Took my family for a vacation to Ooty and booked Sunshine Resorts as it was very close to City. Our kids enjoyed the entire trip especially while we were at hotel as they become very friendly with the staff members. Needless to say the staff are very courteous and helpful when we require their help. Travel desk helped to arrange our program. We had only breakfast at the hotel which was in our program and rest all the time we were out for sight seeing. Over all an excellent trip

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thangam_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    25
    12
    38
See reviews for
53
47
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

Do not use the restaurant of this hotel. Its absolutely horrible. You myt end up getting bottle caps in ur soup or bugs in ur gravy. Also u myt have to eat everything with hand coz the restaurant staff does not believe in providing spoons alongwith food. Don't try to order roo service coz it takes ages to get what u ordered and also its absolutely cold by the time u get it. This happened twice with me.

The only positive that came out of this hotel was that the rooms were spacious and the bed linen that was used was clean. But forget about getting hot water in your room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank incredible_me81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty hotels

bangalore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Being a travel professional (working in a reputed travel firm), then also I was forced to stay in this hotel with family friend as all the hotels were booked on good friday weekend. I warned the maneger Satish several times on the cleaniness issuess and the result was zero. We stayed in Nilgiri suite and it was not proper room itself and the rate is apporx. INR 3K Per night. Room shape is as per the plot size you can say AMOEBA size or HYDRA Size with dirty bathroom and irregular supply of hot water. Never ever try Food here. 50 Rs for 1 cup of coffee in the room and that will also come after several reminders. Food is very expensive and tasteless.

Room Tip: dlx- super dlx room basement rooms don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annugautam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

hotel sunshine inn ooty is a average hotel, staff are good but hotel is little bit costly. food is too much costly according to its taste and presentation, its a budget hotel might be but in my view its little bit costly than others. we stay there on 19th march 2011 in nilgiri suite

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arvinder5855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

unfortunately stuck up with this hotel due to some booking error...was supposed to get a Suite...instead got a big room with a small filthy toilet comparable only to the ones popularized by Indian Railways...changed to another Suite after blowing the top...only to get a relatively cleaner toilet...in a SUITE!!! Hopelessly tardy service...absolute disinterest in customer care...hotel being used as party place for school trips..the noise of which shaking you out of your sleep....no room heaters....geysers that occasionally refuse to work just like the staff make it undoubtedly the worst hotel i have ever stayed in yet.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Spinerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

Compared to Indian Hotels in general, the hotel is well maintained. The rooms are clean and pretty. The courteous nature of Mr.Ravishankar and Mr. Lokesh at the reception is quite appreciable. During our stay at the Hotel, we found the staff more caring and hospitable. We had no problem with hot water and other amenities as complained by other visitors. The entire staff was cordial and co-operative. The vegetarian food was also much enjoyable. Our stay in Sunshine Inn - Ooty is memorable.
Review by - Tulasiram Meharwade, age : 60 years, Bangalore.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulasiram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

Hotel is very very very very dirty with dust and bed bugs in the room. Please do go to this hotel at any cause. service is poorer than the street side hotels. Manager sathish is useless fellow. Management is keen only on money and not the service. It is such a worst stupid hotel in ooty.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank chilzli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Blue Bird
Hotel Blue Bird
#51 of 78 in Ooty
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Surya Village
The Surya Village
#18 of 78 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vinayaga Inn
Vinayaga Inn
#36 of 78 in Ooty
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Welbeck Residency
1.5 mi away
The Monarch Hotel
The Monarch Hotel
#40 of 78 in Ooty
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sagar Holiday Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Inn

Property: Sunshine Inn
Address: Ooty - Coonoor Road | opp Aavin Milk Factory, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunshine Inn, Ooty - Vascoda Hotels & Resorts, a three star hotel with 70 well appointed rooms with good views, multi cuisine restaurant, banquet hall, travel desk, internet browsing, hot water, satellite TV channel, doctor on call, ample car parking, separate kitchen for self-catering groups, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunshine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Inn India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing