We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet and neat place to stay!”
Review of The Willow Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Willow Hill
Certificate of Excellence
tirupur
1 review
“A quiet and neat place to stay!”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

we were there for a day last week (May 11th to 12th,2012). we came to know about this hotel through 'TripAdvisor' and seeing the reviews we booked the hotel with a skeptic mind only.. But we were not disappointed and the hotel is good. It is situated little away from the town and at the same time not too far. The place is really quiet and nice without the hustle bustle of the town. The room is also good with wooden flooring and clean bathroom with a bath tub. A good view from the room.Hot water is available through the day. Food in the restaurant is also above average and manageable. The room service is not fast enough and need to be improved.The staff at the restaurant are just ok . The open dining area is superb. Overall a good place to stay and relax at Ooty.

Room Tip: take a room where you can have a good view ( all double rooms are with a good view ,I think)and if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sktup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    62
    32
    6
    10
See reviews for
60
63
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a good hotel situated in a very calm and peacefull environment.
the hotel is made of completely different manner....like the european architecture, and the walls and flouring are basically of wood.
Overall had a good stay experience.
Food was OK and cheap.

Room Tip: You can choose a room with garden...but you won't get a good view of the hills. If you choose r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibrahim_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandhidham, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

It was amazing to see a part of ooty from the rooms of willow hill , very nicely done with reasonable charges for the rooms though service at restaurant is very slow and we had to wait for a long time . Well all together its nice to sit in the rooms on the second floors which provides you a delightful sight of the town and the beautiful Merit College on the right .

Room Tip: Second Floor , Town Facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidayvillagekandla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

we went to this hotel at around closing time during winter and there were hardly any guests having dinner at that time. We got along very well with the staff inside and they were very friendly and served us piping hot food and were very courteous.

we didnt stay there and it was too dark to see how the hotel really was but the service we were given and the food made for an interesting visit during the bleak winter weather. It has some old world charm and looks very cozy

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabrewulf_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Had a great experience... we were dere in the month of May... Spring!! and the prices were double everywhere for it seems to be the peak season... We were dere for three nights... the Hotel was very neat and clean.. had beautiful garden too! Food we liked, was Lamb sizzler, which was so delicious, that we had the same dinner all 3 nights we stayed!!!

Nice place & definitely value for money!!

Room Tip: Take room closer to the Garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Get_high_wid_Niv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I spent three nights here in December 2011, the hotel is on a hillside overlooking Ooty and has pleasant views but this does mean a rickshaw ride into town for anything. I stayed in a 'superior room' as the standard rooms have no windows. The room was spacious, airy and clean, bathroom was large and had permanent hot water, the rooms and most of the hotel are wood panelled with parquet floors and was very pleasant and comfortable. The restaraunt was good, room service excellent at a modest premium and the staff helpful and obliging. Breakfast was a little disappointing but acceptable. A very comfortable and quiet spot to stay in Oooty at a quite reasonable price for the area.

Room Tip: Check out the superior and garden rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hardlyableson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

stayed here with a collegue for a night. and found this to be the idle place to come back and stay for a holiday also
nice cozy woooden interiors, comforrtable and spacious rooms with excellent staff.
room service was very good and the food quality overall was good
the only drawback was the breakfast which wasnt upto the mark
but overall a very nice and comfortable location for holiday and business

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#17 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
627 reviews
2.2 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,007 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,185 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#16 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
508 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Lakeview
Hotel Lakeview
#15 of 84 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willow Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willow Hill

Property: The Willow Hill
Address: 58/1 Havelock Road | ooty, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Willow Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Willow Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Willow Hill Hotel Ootacamund
The Willow Hill India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing