We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel to Relax with Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Reviewed April 17, 2014

i stayed here with my family, Good hotel located away from the Ooty City, very calm and cool ambient. Good to take a break from hectic work schedules. Management should concentrate bit more on the facilities provided in room bathrooms. Shower curtain a basic essential thing is missing, towel and cloth hanger is missing.Rooms could have been little more bigger. Staff is very humble and courteous. Over all a good experience.

Room Tip: Go for the roooms with valley view, bit expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_P_INAMDAr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear RP,

Thanks a lot for your feedback after your recent visit to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. Enveloped by the clouds at 8000 feet and located at the spot from where the “Queen of Nilgiris” was discovered, Sinclairs Ooty has a unique location, away from the city madness, and those looking for tranquil surroundings. We hope you took some pictures of the views!

Please accept our apologies for the hangars and towels. We shall make sure we don't repeat this in the future.

Do visit us again with friends and family!

Regards,

Balaji Royal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 547 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

Very nice hotel to reside,views were amazing,but u have very less option for food(but good) and is quiet expensive and again u have no alternative... if u go for bar ->very less option,...
hospitality,interiors,food altogether,....all i rate is 4/5,but
1) the travel agency charge much more than market price
2)room temperature is totally centralized n completely controlled by them..very disappointing
(two things really disappointed us..)..one thing must highlight :"GUYS WORKING THERE ARE REALLY GOOD"specifically in restaurant and bar,v friendly n caring only for them i would say its a 5/5 for SINCLAIRS.....Overall what i can say abt my experience in ooty..."IF OOTY ....ITS SINCLAIRS",from morning to evening to night...all views were wonderful,...for me:Its a must go for sinclais in ooty...the most precious feelings left behind is ***it was a very calm stay and sunset was really very beautiful and at night when u c the whole city down there...trust me that gonna drive u crazy...loved it <3

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 581dev_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Anand,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty and for your positive comments on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our premium room with the views of the mountains and the valley. It is great to hear that you liked our garden as we take a lot of care to ensure it is maintained well all season long.

I have conveyed your comments to the staff, and they are very happy to hear you appreciating their service. It keeps them motivated to match up to guest expectations.

It's so nice to hear that you enjoyed the vegetarian food, and also visited our souvenir shop.

Sorry for the inconvenience regarding the leaking taps and the shuttle cock. Glad we could sort these issues out soon. Thank you for pointing them out, we'll keep in mind that they don't occur in future.

Hoping to welcome you back to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty once again!

Please join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with our offers and promotions.

Regards,

Balaji Royal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Anyone going for relaxing can opt for this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights during march.We had a early check-in and since the rooms were available we were shown both deluxe and premium rooms. The premium rooms are good with good valley view. The garden is perfect for nature lovers. The staffs are courteous and good.

We are veggies- and the restaurant staff made our stay perfect for us. The guys taking order gave us more options and made food for our to our taste(less oily and less spicy),All smiling faces during serving food makes one feel home. Had a variety of options for all meals.

There is a small shop in the hotel premises. Suprisingly the shop has variety of products, at the same cost as in the town and to top it the quality (we by now have started using the oil, perfumes etc., and found it good). The owner of the shop gave us tips on ooty special products and the way one has to use them. He was kind enough to even get us a couple of medicines we were in need off.

The rooms are quiet small than what is actually shown in the photos. One can hear all noises from the neighbouring rooms.
The bathroom taps were leaking from the down portion of the wash basin. When we went to the play area, we could not find the shuttle cork. Though all these problems were sorted out in a few minutes we felt the hotel had to take care that the guest should not complain. The hotel management is supposed to look into this problems on a day to day basis for complain free stay. If at possible try to make the rooms noise free.

All aside - we had a quality time at sinclairs.

Room Tip: Though expensive choosing valley side rooms are better than the forest facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Anand,

Thank you for your very kind review on Tripadvisor which would help future guests too. Glad you loved the view, location, our service, the souvenir shop and the food.

As you mentioned, Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is indeed a good hotel in you are in a relaxing mood. It is perfect for those who are in search of tranquil surroundings.

Our chef and his team are delighted to hear your comments about the food. We try and personalise what are guests want, and we are glad to hear that we could customise your meals according to your liking.

We apologize for the inconvenience you faced regarding the issues in the room and bathroom, and hope not to repeat these in the future.

Please visit us soon once again.

Regards,

Balaji Royal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were a family of 6 people and we had a wonderful time around this well maintained property!.

Breakfast Buffet was well spread and their dosa's and idli's were very hot and fresh!

There Garden area is one place where you can chill and relax during mornings or evenings.

Rooms are very cozy and we had asked for extra bed and even that was provided very quickly.

View from the hotel is very good!

Tea Factory and Museum is at a walk able distance from the hotel.
Doddabetta peak is also 15 minutes by car.

Overall we had an awesome experience and a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Please ask for a valley facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Sil,

Thank you for writing a lovely review appreciating the views, food, service and maintenance of our hotel.

We are indeed blessed to be both close to the city, yet far from the crowds offering beautiful views of the Niligiri mountains and the Ooty valley.

The entire team at Sinclairs is happy to read your comments. It works as a great motivating factor for us!

Do recommend us to your friends and relatives. And join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with our offers and promotions.

Regards,

Balaji Royal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The Summer just creeped in & my Son just finished his exams, so it was time for a Family Holiday. We booked at Sinclairs & drove down to the hills(my first experience). The Hotel has a splendid view as it is very close to Dodapetta peak, The highest point in South India.

Awesome View, Superb Service, Good Food, Nice Recreation room, Great Value for Money, what else can one ask for... If its Ooty ever again, it will be at Sinclairs for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden or Valley view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Raj,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty and for your positive comments. The views from our hotel are spectacular with the Blue Mountains and the Ooty valley, and we are glad you enjoyed this.

I have conveyed your appreciation of our service to the staff at the hotel and they are delighted. We hope to welcome you back soon! Please recommend us to your friends and family. You can also join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with our offers and promotions.

Regards,

Balaji Royal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my family for 2 nights. Liked every bit. Staff are good, food is also great specially buffet breakfast, rooms are modern. On request we were given garden view room. They have a well kept garden and a nice activity zone at the lowest level. My son enjoyed a lot. Thank you Team Sinclairs ooty for making our holiday memorable one.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank naggy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Naggy,

We are so glad that you had a memorable holiday at Ooty, and thank you for taking the time out to post a review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed every bit of your stay including the rooms, food, service and views from our hotel.

Almost all our guests love Tic Tac Toe - our vibrant indoors games centre which offers fun filled activities like indoor badminton, board games, chess, carrom, table tennis, pool, playing cards, and video games. Our thoughtfully created kids play area is a hit with the toddlers.

We hope to welcome you and your family back to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty once again. Please follow us on Facbook and Twitter to keep updated with our offers and promotions.

Regards,

Balaji Royal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Checked in on 1st April for a 2N/3D package however ended up extending my stay for another day as me and my family loved this place.
The property is in an excellent location with beautiful gardens. The view from the room is excellent.
I was initially in a room in the 3rd floor with windows facing the jungle. We had to shift to a different room in the first floor with windows towards the garden as there a problem with hot water supply which they had to fix.
I have to mention the breakfast which had a very good spread and was different each morning.
We loved the breakfast. Service was excellent and any queries/issues were addressed instantly.
Mohammed in the reception was very helpful, so were the others.

The climate was optimal with the temperature not being too high or too low. The staff provided us with a room heater too.
The A' la carte menu prices are a bit on the higher side. I enjoyed the drive from the hotel to downtown Ooty and back to the hotel, so ended up eating outside most of the times.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden, if deluxe rooms 308 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adven_Tourister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Adven_Tourister,

Thank you for posting your review after your recent visit to Sinclairs Ooty, and for appreciating the wonderful views, the food and the service.

April is indeed a good time to visit Ooty, because the weather is pleasant, the flowers are blooming and the days are sunny!

We love the photos you have posted, thanks for sharing them.

We hope to welcome you back to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty once again. Please join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep posted with our offers and promotions.

Regards,

Balaji Royal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.0 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,065 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,225 reviews
1.9 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
828 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
506 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#15 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Address: Gorishola Road,, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $63 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinclairs Retreat Ooty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the clouds at 8000 feet and located exactly where the "Queen of Nilgiris" was discovered, Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is the highest located hotel in South India and unquestionably the best located hotel in Ooty. The hotel has 79 rooms and suites, and two villas with interiors that are modern and charming. The luxurious rooms are equipped with tea/coffee makers and cable TV. The valley view rooms offer stunning views.The resort is equipped with an array of facilities. This includes a Wi-Fi enabled reception area overlooking a three level-landscaped garden, Deluxe, Superior, Premium Suites and Deluxe/Honeymoon suite, conference and meeting facilities; three halls - Regal, The Windsor and The Summit and an open area - The Terrace. Fine dining at Pine n' Petal, a multicuisine restaurant, The Portico, a coffee bar for beverages and snacks, and High Point Bar, a stylish bar and a cool cocktail lounge.The highlight of the property is a vibrant entertainment and recreation zone with indoor badminton, pool table, table tennis, board games, video games, kids play area, library and lounge. Moreover, the hotel comprises of a fitness centre with gym, steam, sauna, and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing