We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing, not worth the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Ooty
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Disappointing, not worth the price!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The most positive point about this hotel is its location as it has a beautiful view of ooty city and mountains. Also, it is only few of the large hotels which is quite near to the city center (lake and market).

Thats where probably the good things end! We had an expectation of atleast a 3-star from this resort at the price they charge, but on the contrary, there is a long list of improvements needed, some of which are beyond their control:
- Please do not be misguided by the pictures of the resort and of the rooms. They have hired
profession photogrphers to take pictures which give an impression that it is a large property
with decent size rooms. Whereas the truth is that it's a small property, with even smaller
rooms. To say the least we were thoroghly disappointed.
- The biggest pain however is their food menu, which is shoddy, tasteless and very
disappointing.
- Also, if the hotel has more guests which happens on weekends, there will be a long waiting to
get a table in the restaurant.
- Service is mediocre
- Overpriced for what they offer
- And nothing much to do here except the view

So all in all, please avoide Sinclairs and may be choose Taj Savoy or Club Mahindra etc. for a better stay.

Room Tip: Take a room which faces the garden with a valley view because if you miss the view, there is nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GauravSharma22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    188
    83
    31
    46
See reviews for
243
158
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in month of Aug 2013, the hotel has all amenities. The staff was helpful and manage all the guests very fyn. THe location is beautiful as it is in hill. So morning are evening view is very nice. The road to reach to the hotel is little not good in rainy season. They arrange the city and coornoor trip in a decent price. Even the driver is good. Food is homely. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The interior of hotel is very beautiful. A place to enjoy your weekend after hectic life.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rini B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending us on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

We at Sinclairs always take constant effort to create a relaxing environment and offer efficient, warm and personalized service to our guests.

It was wonderful to note that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and we were delighted to read that you appreciated the location, the rooms and interiors, the food on offer and the service of our associates.

It is always good to know that our guests leave our hotel completely satisfied, as it is what we strive for. We have shared your compliments with the entire team and they were equally happy to learn that you had a pleasant holiday with us.

Thank you once again for your encouraging feedback and we look forward to having you back with us.

Please join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with our offers and promotions.

Regards,

Balaji Royal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

+ points:

This hotel has great location overlooking the entire Ooty town. The gardens/lawns are well maintained and are a good place to relax and unwind. Food variety for buffet breakfast/dinner is good but, but food seems to be bit overpriced. The lobby has a very good viewing area.

-ve points

The rooms lobby area id too narrow and not properly lit. The bathrooms are too small. Heaters although promised to be switched on after 9:30 PM were never turned on, in fact it is expected that heaters are always on and to be controlled by individual room occupant based on his choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byateen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you were happily satisfied with your stay, especially with the location and food quality. Our staff strives to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve our standards of the hotel

Your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to continually improve our services and provide our valued guest a memorable experience. Therefore, I thank you again for having shared with us your experience.

Please note that we have central heating in our rooms and we also provide additional heaters on request. We are sorry that you still face inconvenience regarding this.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty once again.

Regards,

Balaji Royal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Visited Sinclairs with family during the weekend of Oct 19th 2013.
The rooms were fine since they were recently renovated.
Room service/Housekeeping is average, and had to remind a couple of times.
The bed was not sturdy, and kept moving :(

Food is PATHETIC. Our package included breakfast for 2 mornings. On both days, bread toast was the only item I was able to eat. Idli and dosa batter tasted stale, upma and puri was not cooked well. Also the service was very poor; items were not refilled, and we were made to wait almost 15-20 mins for coffee/tea.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Usha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you indeed for taking the time review us on Tripadvisor. All guest correspondence is read with true interest and all matters are shared with our management team with the aim of improving the services we offer. Therefore we thank you for your constructive comments and suggestions.

We regret to read that you did not enjoy the food at the hotel. Please note that we have appointed a new chef which has worked wonders! Everyone is now appreciating the food, which we are extremely glad for.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to show you that the food at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is meeting the expectations of all our guests. We hope that you will very soon be part of the very happy guests which have made our reputation.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Regards,

Balaji Royal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I checked in last week. Toilets are not working. Limited food menu to choose and the available food is horrible to eat and they charge exhorbitant price. Not value for money. The price what they have charged me is net 5000 rupees inclusive food.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having shared the feedback regarding the visit at the Sinclairs Retreat Ooty on Tripadvisor.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience which you experienced because the toilets not working. Kindly be informed that your comment is shared straight away with the management team in order to avoid such reoccurence in the future.

I am happy to inform you that we have been working on the improvement of the food and have appointed a new chef which is very much being appreciated by all our guests.

I sincerely thank you for having shared this concern with us which of course will allow us to work even harder to make sure our guests leave happily.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for another Sinclairs experience, for a better serve of course.

Regards,

Balaji Royal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty hotels

Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had booked 2 rooms & stayed for 3 night & 4 days at the sinclairs retreat, ooty. Our stay at hotel was memorable. The hotel is locate at very good location away from the town. The outside view from our rooms was very beautiful. My two kids enjoyed playing at their indoor kids play zone which is very safe for kids. The food at restaurant is very good the service is excellent & the staff is very polite. We miss those beautiful moments spent at the hotel. We recommend this beautiful hotel to those who are planning to visit ooty in holidays.

Suggestions to the management:-

1) There are very less options in food for Vegetarians. Should add more Veg items in the menu.
2) There is no 24 hours hot water facility in the bathrooms. Its only 3 hours in morning & 3 hours in evening.

Parag Parikh
Bangalore

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParagParikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great ambience..excellent hospitality..good room service...grrt food at the restaurant with a friendly n attentive chef...value for money..has a play area with indoor badmintin court n pool table.the view from the hotel lawn is wonderful..ample parking space...walking distance from the tea museum and a view point near tea museum is worth a stroll in evening...eqi distant from the main city and dodabetta peak ..so a great desicion to stay hete if you want to utilize your time well..so plan to visit this hotel..you wont regret!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_viv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We are glad that you have not only enjoyed your stay with us immensely, but also appreciated it. It's been a boost, with the last few reviews pointing out downsides.

Delighted that you enjoyed the amenities and made full use of them. It's always proactive guests like you who make the best of their holiday! Your comment regarding your satisfaction with the friendly and attentive chef brought smiles to the faces of the hardworking service staff, thank you for making their day!

We at Sinclairs genuinely wish our guests return with a uniquely memorable and joyous holiday with us. Hope you will return soon to enjoy yet another holiday with us.

Best Regards,

Deepak Bothra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.0 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
0.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
2.0 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
0.9 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
1.4 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 82 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Property: Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Address: Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinclairs Retreat Ooty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the clouds at 8000 feet and located exactly where the "Queen of Nilgiris" was discovered, Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is the highest located hotel in South India and unquestionably the best located hotel in Ooty. The hotel has 79 rooms and suites, and two villas with interiors that are modern and charming. The luxurious rooms are equipped with tea/coffee makers and cable TV. The valley view rooms offer stunning views.The resort is equipped with an array of facilities. This includes a Wi-Fi enabled reception area overlooking a three level-landscaped garden, Deluxe, Superior, Premium Suites and Deluxe/Honeymoon suite, conference and meeting facilities; three halls - Regal, The Windsor and The Summit and an open area - The Terrace. Fine dining at Pine n' Petal, a multicuisine restaurant, The Portico, a coffee bar for beverages and snacks, and High Point Bar, a stylish bar and a cool cocktail lounge.The highlight of the property is a vibrant entertainment and recreation zone with indoor badminton, pool table, table tennis, board games, video games, kids play area, library and lounge. Moreover, the hotel comprises of a fitness centre with gym, steam, sauna, and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing