We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience ever!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Reviewed August 29, 2013

When we entered the hotel all tired and exhausted, the hotel room and ambiance made it all go away. The staff is very cooperating and did not even hold us up for the paper work. There were around 17 of us including children booked into 5 rooms around room 309. Our driver's accommodation and food was complimentary. Weather was fantastic. We were using room heaters in June.

Room Tip: Rooms 309, 310 and 311 are the ones with best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your compliments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

We were very pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you basically enjoyed the hotel and it's services on offer.

We have shared your compliments with the entire team, and feedback such as yours serves as an encouragement to all of us.

We look forward to having you back with us on your next trip to Ooty and please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

Sincerely,

Balaji Royal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 556 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Booked 2 deluxe suites (for 2 nights) after actually visiting the hotel in advance - they looked nice indeed, very new.

SHABBY STAFF: greeted by reception staff with crumpled brown 'suits', the guy at the front who seemed to know most things had a pen stain on the lapel of his jacket-thingie. They did smile though, which was nice.

COLD: When we reached, the rooms were super cold: and a/c could not be adjusted - they said it was centrally controlled and heaters would only come on at 10pm....

TERRIBLE SERVICE: I asked for a heater more than 3 times before threatening to leave - only then did they scurry one in - they didn't bother about my parents in the other room. Spare bed and pillows also required 3 repeated insistences by me before they came.

HARD BED, SANDPAPER LINEN: the "Kings size bed" was two conjoined- standard thin rock-hard things they call mattresses (floor was softer - I tried). Bed sheet was rough - a first for me!

LEAKING SHOWER ROOM: the shower room was not sealed, so the entire floor was flooded every time someone bathed.

PARTY ON: forget it being nestled in a god-forsaken beat-up road, our hopes for a peaceful scenic holiday were dashed by a concert band organized one floor up - which to their credit ended 30mins after they said it would end.

COLD BREAKFAST: we finally fell asleep and woke for breakfast a tard late: reached our 'complimentary buffet' breakfast, which had turned cold for all the half-emptied dishes of south indian 'cuisine', and bland characterless drip coffee. The kind chef asked if he could serve us an omelette....

We left that very morning, and cancelled the next night - thankfully we weren't charged an extra 24,000Rs for that either. Also to their credit, they sensed my disgust and asked me to honestly fill in their feedback book...

How disappointing - to think I actually was fooled by my prior reccee.

Room Tip: Save cost and don't go for the suites - they have new furniture in old finishing that spoils eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank reachronald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at Sinclairs 15th august weekend and I can say that had I not booked the room in advance I would not have stayed there. They have too small rooms for family and bathroom is non-existent, view of Deluxe rooms is absolutely pathetic and on top of everything it is far removed from the city so evening walks and shopping are out of question.
They have good staff with good service but if the you are planning to stay with family you need to think twice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Madam,

Truly regret that you had a less than wonderful holiday with us but would have appreciated more details to really delve into the issues you faced.

We are disappointed but we understand that it was the views of the Deluxe Rooms, however we have given details of the rooms in our website/factsheet/brochures. We wish you had clarified your needs with us before booking. And we wish the same for our location, and were surprised you didn't check on this.

We are known for our location, which is definitely away from the maddening crowds of Ooty town thereby the “magnificent” view and true mountainside holiday experience that many of our guests appreciate.

We sincerely feel that no guest should ever return from Sinclairs Retreat Ooty with dissatisfaction. We hope you will visit us again to enjoy a holiday that not only matches but also far exceeds your expectations!

Best Regards,

Deepak Bothra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I always follow Tripadvisor but this is my first review. I just couldn't resist.
I had booked 3premium rooms for a family trip for 2nights starting 9th Aug'13, but during check-Inn they upgraded on of the room to Suite.....this was just the start of beautiful stay. Amazing views from all the 3rooms and fantastic hospitality.

I should appreciate the efforts of the restaurant team who though being short of staff still handled a large crowd (This was a long weekend, Eid holidays) with ease. The front office staff was always smiling and eager to help you. The play area was very nice and the rooms were very nicely designed.

If Ooty we as family will always stat at Sinclairs Beauty...!!

I strongly recommend this hotel for one and all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunil3580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive review and we are glad that you had fun and enjoyed your stay with us.

Glad you took the time to enjoy the views from our hotel - it never fails to awe guests each time they visit the hotel, we are indeed blessed! These are memories that your family will cherish forever, I am sure!

Tic Tac Toe is a vibrant entertainment and recreation zone with indoor badminton, pool table, table tennis and other board games, video games, kids play area, library and lounge. It's good to hear that you made use of these facilities.

I will certainly convey your sentiments to the team who will be motivated and thereby exceed your expectations each time you stay with us.

Looking forward to your next stay with us soon

Warm Regards,

Deepak Bothra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Spent 2 night at Sinclairs Retreat during the busy Independence Day weekend. Location is simply superb, close to the Doddabetta peak. The view of Ooty town and beyond is amazing.Rooms were cozy...washrooms probably a touch small (and cramped with a bathtub around) but otherwise comfortable. The buffet breakfast & dinner were good. The hotel also provides indoor children play area other games, which helped in passing time during periods of inclement weather. Staff was very co operative. Would recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Go for premier rooms or suites since these would provide view of the Ooty town and hills beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sourjajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. Really happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that you appreciate the service of our team members. This definitely makes their day!!

Thank you so much for holding the promise to recommend us to your friends. There could be no better marketing than a truly satisfied guest!

We remember your family with fondness and we hope you return soon.

Looking forward to your next visit to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

Regards,

Deepak Bothra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in the hotel in second week of august. Its really pleasant stay, with beautiful location. Also the hospitality of staff member is highly appreciable.Rooms were clean with beautiful view of the garden. Bathroom could have been bit more spacious given the price range of the hotel.
Food was really great specially the idlis and sambar. Food was little expensive , but it worth the taste. View of Nilgiris mountains was really good. Hotel is on the top of the hill , so I will suggest to go by your own vehicle or by a cab there. Overall really satsified with the stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kasak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us and fellow travelers know of your experience at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. Reviews like these motivate us and help us perform better which leads to greater guest satisfaction.

We are indeed lucky to be enveloped by the clouds at 8000 feet and located at the spot from where the “Queen of Nilgiris” was discovered. Our hotel offers a breathtaking view of the Blue Nilgiri Mountain Ranges and the charm of Ooty’s township. So glad you enjoyed this.

Our Chef is delighted you enjoyed his menu. I'm happy to hear that our team members are always eager to assist and are sensitive to guest needs.

Yes, our rooms are beautiful and tastefully decorated offering a contemporary and cosy ambience.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. Please recommend us to friends and family!

Best Regards,

Deepak Bothra
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Sinclairs @ Ooty is always special for us, as this was our first honeymoon hotel,So lot of memories attached here, We are visiting this hotel from past 7 years, During this 7 years the hotel has transformed a lot, But still maintaining its beauty, Staff are very kind and polite, always ever smiling to make the guest happy, My main reason to choose this place is the location, this hotel is located in the perfect lap of the nature, away from the town crowd, You can sit in the garden and sent hours without doing anything just watching the valley n sipping the hot tea.
I always recommend this hotel for those who are looking to get lost with nature.

Cons: Sinclairs, you need to add more items to your food menu as every year i see the list gets smaller n smaller, add more local delicacies

Room Tip: Choose the rooms which looks towards valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PraveenByrappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Sir,

Many thanks for posting such a great review on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Being our loyal guest, your compliments about the location of the hotel was a delight to hear. Being the highest located hotel in South India, Sinclairs Ooty offers a breathtaking view of the Blue Mountains, popularly known as the Nilgiris. This makes it unquestionably the best located hotel in Ooty.

I am happy to hear that our hospitality exceeded your expectations. We strive at all times to give an extra level of personal service and the entire team at the hotel is constantly trained to provide attentive and personalized care to our guests.

We have noted your comments regarding the menu at Pine n' Petals and we shall be improving this and adding more local delicacies.

We invite you to visit Sinclairs at Darjeeling, Dooars, Port Blair and Siliguri. Please keep updated with our offers and promotions on Facebook/Twitter.

The team at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty looks forward to having you again with us, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

Sumitesh Sinha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,073 reviews
2 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,237 reviews
1.9 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
834 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#13 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
508 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Address: Gorishola Road,, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $67 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinclairs Retreat Ooty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the clouds at 8000 feet and located exactly where the "Queen of Nilgiris" was discovered, Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is the highest located hotel in South India and unquestionably the best located hotel in Ooty. The hotel has 79 rooms and suites, and two villas with interiors that are modern and charming. The luxurious rooms are equipped with tea/coffee makers and cable TV. The valley view rooms offer stunning views.The resort is equipped with an array of facilities. This includes a Wi-Fi enabled reception area overlooking a three level-landscaped garden, Deluxe, Superior, Premium Suites and Deluxe/Honeymoon suite, conference and meeting facilities; three halls - Regal, The Windsor and The Summit and an open area - The Terrace. Fine dining at Pine n' Petal, a multicuisine restaurant, The Portico, a coffee bar for beverages and snacks, and High Point Bar, a stylish bar and a cool cocktail lounge.The highlight of the property is a vibrant entertainment and recreation zone with indoor badminton, pool table, table tennis, board games, video games, kids play area, library and lounge. Moreover, the hotel comprises of a fitness centre with gym, steam, sauna, and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing