We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Nearby Hotels
Nilgiris Inn(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Vinayaga Inn(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$168
$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hill Country Lovedale(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$259
$226
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Nahar's Nilgiris Hotel(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
    Sanjay Hotel(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
    $38
    $36
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    Blue Hills International(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
    $49
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    Global Village Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
    $158
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Excellent 5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (663)
    Filter reviews
    664 results
    Traveler rating
    260
    223
    93
    34
    54
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    260
    223
    93
    34
    54
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewstea factorypremier roomplay areavalley viewbadminton courtrestaurant stafff b managertable tennisindoor gamestravel deskthe general managerhotel is locateddodabetta peakfront officespecial thanksbeautiful gardenpleasant stay
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    568 - 573 of 664 reviews
    Reviewed April 2, 2013

    We a family of six adults and 2 kids booked three premier rooms directly through the hotel’s head office in Kolkata and made an advance payment of 50% towards the booking.

    We checked in around noon and the check-in process was quick. We were allotted two premier rooms and one premier suite as they had only two premier rooms that day. They did not charge us any extra for the premier suite.

    Hotel is in a good location except the road leading to the hotel via the tea factory. Weather was very pleasant and chill during the evening. One of the premier room was not cleaned when we checked in. The toilets were dirty. No mats were provided. Premier suite was neat and clean with bathtub, etc. Parking was available for us when we checked in. The hotel has a very well maintained garden.

    We went to the hotel’s restaurant for lunch. Once we ordered food, we had to wait nearly more than an hour for our food to be served. They were short-staffed I guess. No hotel staff was actually bothered to provide service to us. We had to repeatedly remind them again and again of our order. The service was indeed very very slow. Food was good. Chef was very kind to hear our words so was the manager and this helped in speeding up the process of our order. For dinner, they had buffet arrangement. The next day for breakfast, it was buffet. Breakfast was good.

    Finally, ours was a pleasant stay other than waiting at the restaurant.

    • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank INDIAN_TRAVEL_GUY
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you for staying at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. it is always a pleasure hosting you. There is nothing more rewarding than your recognition and encouragement. I am very delighted to hear that our friendly staff were able to check you in quickly, and that you were happy with our service and personal touch. It is remarkable and inspirational that small gestures of our team are evidently noticed by our guests.

    We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food at the restaurant, however it is disappointing to note that service was lacking. We have noted the complaints and have informed the team to look towards improvement.

    All of us at the hotel are moved by your encouraging review and cannot wait to welcoming you back again in your next leisure trip to Ooty.

    Kind Regards,

    R. Venkatesh
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 2, 2013

    The hotel is located in a wonderful location and beautiful open space to spend and play.... But service is not up to the mark. Also seen couple of people coming and complaining about that. People at reception are seen not so welcoming.

    • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
    Thank Jyothish M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the location of our property. Sinclairs Retreat Ooty offers beautiful views of the Nilgiri Hills and all our guests appreciate this.

    I was really disheartened to find out that we did not meet your expectations with our service. Please accept my apologies and rest assured that all the comments have been taken seriously and discussed with the relevant department.

    I shall remain optimistic that next time when you happen to come to Ooty, you will give us a chance to serve you in the best possible way so that we could reinstate your confidence with us.

    Looking forward to welcoming you back to Sinclairs in the near future.

    Regards,

    R. Venkatesh
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 1, 2013

    I visited this place along with my family and the experience was not great.The Deluxe Suite had a bad decor,the linen were totally dirty (with lot of hairs and mud) and toiletries were not available.When enquired,they said these were chargeable ! This is too much for the price we paid ..Room Service was pathetic,the tray and the vessels were amazingly dirty..I would say ..give this place a miss....I must give a special thanks to "Shoban" the chef who really took special care of my kid and the food he prepared was the only saving grace in this place..Special thanks to Shoban....If you happen to land up here..please check for Shoban especially if you have kids travelling with you....

    • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Summer-Walker
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you for the time and efforts you have taken to post your review with regards to your recent stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

    Please be assured that we are most concerned about the problems you have arisen in your comments and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you. All your feedback regarding shortcoming in our staff service line and upkeep of room was taken into consideration and addressed to the concerned department for further improvement.

    We constantly strive to improve the level of our service standards and would be glad to have another opportunity to demonstrate you the quality of our facilities and services.

    Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

    Regards,

    R. Venkatesh
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 31, 2013

    Seeing the images in their website & the write-ups, thought will have a wonderful stay. Though its around 5 kms from city the auto's will charge you min 150/-. Its not near to city so even if you want to take a walk to the market/city you need to shell out 200/- for an auto.
    Food - Highly expensive, a normal tea for one person costs you around 80/- + taxes. A bowl of curd - 90/-. Imagine the charges that would be for food. Highly Expensive.
    Room Service - When we checked-in we dint feel like we checked-in a fresh room instead like somebody had just vacated and we were asked to stay there. The bathroom wasn't having a bucket/bath mats/slippers/towels/ etc. The toilet also wasn't clean. We literally had to call the room service 10 times and then get the things.
    To get anything from reception/room service we had to call 7-8 times. Once i personally went to the reception and asked them to give me the heater as the system was not working. In spite of this they dint send any and calling them twice again they sent. Such is the service from this so called 4* Hotel. I din't feel anything good about this hotel so as to consider it as a 4*. I have been in 2,3 & 4* hotels too but never saw such a pathetic service & such an expensive food charges.
    They have the reception on top and rooms in the basement. As you keep going down you kind of get a foul smell as in old govt. museums. If you get a room in 1st floor then be ready to accept all these things. I have seen the service staff only thrice in my 2D3N stay. They never answered my issues/problem immediately. I had to keep reminding them about the service.
    I did book this hotel thru TravelGuru and may be becoz it was charged less than their original 5500+taxes per day , they dint pay good attention or service to us.
    Anyway i wouldn't recommend to stay in this hotel for their pathetic service and highly expensive food.

    Room Tip: Choose a better hotel near to Bus Stand/Station rather than this one. Though they say they have centralized heating but still you can see heaters placed in each floor. Think about their promises.
    • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank rohitmp
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience. We were indeed very disturbed about your dissatisfaction in respect to your overall impression of our property. We take great concern of your comments and these incidents are certainly not the image we want to give of Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

    Please accept our apologies regarding the delay in room service and the upkeep of the rooms. Let me reassure you that I have personally addressed this important aspect of service to the Department Head and I assure you that appropriate action will be taken to ensure of no repetition of such incident.

    Regarding the food prices, we are at par with most other 3 star hotels in the region.

    However, we thank you again for bringing the matters to our attention. It is through guest comments such as yours that help us better direct our unceasing efforts to anticipate and fulfill all our guests wishes.

    We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

    Warm Regards,

    R. Venkatesh
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 30, 2013

    There was so much write up about this hotel and we went with high expectations. The rooms are small and the bathroom was smaller. When we booked in the toilets were not clean. There were no towels . Used soaps and shampoos were lying there.The coffee maker unit had no sugar, milk ,coffee sachets,cups , or stirrer. Every morning we had to ask for replenishment. Service in the restaraunt is slow. It takes ages for room service . The Hotel is out of the way and approach road is bad . This is supposed to be a three star but definitely not worth the money.

    Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    2  Thank Shebhara
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

    Please accepts our sincere apologies for the service shortfalls you experienced during your stay with us. They are certainly not indicative of the standards we aspire to offer all our guests and we will take your comments on board in our efforts to continuously improve our products and services.

    We hope this will not deter you from coming back to our hotel. Please let us know when you plan to visit us again so our team can welcome you back.

    Regards,

    R. Venkatesh
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews