We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food, the most enthusiastic chef we've ever met!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Superb food, the most enthusiastic chef we've ever met!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights at this comfortable and clean hotel located high above the town, great views.
Restaurant staff a little disorganised at times but the food is excellent. We met the chef, his food was every bit as good as he promised. Prices middle of road, good value. The negative was the waiter's uniforms were dirty, somewhat off putting, easily rectified?
Good selection of breakfast food, including Indian dishes, eggs, doses to order. As usual coffee and tea difficult to get in India, ask for black coffee/tea and cold milk.
Overall we really enjoyed this place and would certainly go back. Ooty is well worth a visit

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank davidTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to your recent stay with us. At Sinclairs Retreat Ooty we want all our guests to feel at home away from home. Your encouraging comments certainly put a big smile on all of our staff faces. It was a delight to learn that they made your holiday enjoyable.

Your compliments to our lovely staff serve as a great motivator, especially for Shoban, the chef. Rest assured that he has read your comments, and absolutely loved them!

We apologize for the inconvenience you faced with the disorganized service in the restaurant, and we have noted your comments regarding the uniforms, and shall look towards rectifying this.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back to our hotel for any future leisure trips to Ooty.

Warm regards,

R. Venkatesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    184
    82
    29
    44
See reviews for
234
157
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We a family of six adults and 2 kids booked three premier rooms directly through the hotel’s head office in Kolkata and made an advance payment of 50% towards the booking.

We checked in around noon and the check-in process was quick. We were allotted two premier rooms and one premier suite as they had only two premier rooms that day. They did not charge us any extra for the premier suite.

Hotel is in a good location except the road leading to the hotel via the tea factory. Weather was very pleasant and chill during the evening. One of the premier room was not cleaned when we checked in. The toilets were dirty. No mats were provided. Premier suite was neat and clean with bathtub, etc. Parking was available for us when we checked in. The hotel has a very well maintained garden.

We went to the hotel’s restaurant for lunch. Once we ordered food, we had to wait nearly more than an hour for our food to be served. They were short-staffed I guess. No hotel staff was actually bothered to provide service to us. We had to repeatedly remind them again and again of our order. The service was indeed very very slow. Food was good. Chef was very kind to hear our words so was the manager and this helped in speeding up the process of our order. For dinner, they had buffet arrangement. The next day for breakfast, it was buffet. Breakfast was good.

Finally, ours was a pleasant stay other than waiting at the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank INDIAN_TRAVEL_GUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. it is always a pleasure hosting you. There is nothing more rewarding than your recognition and encouragement. I am very delighted to hear that our friendly staff were able to check you in quickly, and that you were happy with our service and personal touch. It is remarkable and inspirational that small gestures of our team are evidently noticed by our guests.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food at the restaurant, however it is disappointing to note that service was lacking. We have noted the complaints and have informed the team to look towards improvement.

All of us at the hotel are moved by your encouraging review and cannot wait to welcoming you back again in your next leisure trip to Ooty.

Kind Regards,

R. Venkatesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is located in a wonderful location and beautiful open space to spend and play.... But service is not up to the mark. Also seen couple of people coming and complaining about that. People at reception are seen not so welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Jyothish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the location of our property. Sinclairs Retreat Ooty offers beautiful views of the Nilgiri Hills and all our guests appreciate this.

I was really disheartened to find out that we did not meet your expectations with our service. Please accept my apologies and rest assured that all the comments have been taken seriously and discussed with the relevant department.

I shall remain optimistic that next time when you happen to come to Ooty, you will give us a chance to serve you in the best possible way so that we could reinstate your confidence with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Sinclairs in the near future.

Regards,

R. Venkatesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I visited this place along with my family and the experience was not great.The Deluxe Suite had a bad decor,the linen were totally dirty (with lot of hairs and mud) and toiletries were not available.When enquired,they said these were chargeable ! This is too much for the price we paid ..Room Service was pathetic,the tray and the vessels were amazingly dirty..I would say ..give this place a miss....I must give a special thanks to "Shoban" the chef who really took special care of my kid and the food he prepared was the only saving grace in this place..Special thanks to Shoban....If you happen to land up here..please check for Shoban especially if you have kids travelling with you....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time and efforts you have taken to post your review with regards to your recent stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

Please be assured that we are most concerned about the problems you have arisen in your comments and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you. All your feedback regarding shortcoming in our staff service line and upkeep of room was taken into consideration and addressed to the concerned department for further improvement.

We constantly strive to improve the level of our service standards and would be glad to have another opportunity to demonstrate you the quality of our facilities and services.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

R. Venkatesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty hotels

Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Seeing the images in their website & the write-ups, thought will have a wonderful stay. Though its around 5 kms from city the auto's will charge you min 150/-. Its not near to city so even if you want to take a walk to the market/city you need to shell out 200/- for an auto.
Food - Highly expensive, a normal tea for one person costs you around 80/- + taxes. A bowl of curd - 90/-. Imagine the charges that would be for food. Highly Expensive.
Room Service - When we checked-in we dint feel like we checked-in a fresh room instead like somebody had just vacated and we were asked to stay there. The bathroom wasn't having a bucket/bath mats/slippers/towels/ etc. The toilet also wasn't clean. We literally had to call the room service 10 times and then get the things.
To get anything from reception/room service we had to call 7-8 times. Once i personally went to the reception and asked them to give me the heater as the system was not working. In spite of this they dint send any and calling them twice again they sent. Such is the service from this so called 4* Hotel. I din't feel anything good about this hotel so as to consider it as a 4*. I have been in 2,3 & 4* hotels too but never saw such a pathetic service & such an expensive food charges.
They have the reception on top and rooms in the basement. As you keep going down you kind of get a foul smell as in old govt. museums. If you get a room in 1st floor then be ready to accept all these things. I have seen the service staff only thrice in my 2D3N stay. They never answered my issues/problem immediately. I had to keep reminding them about the service.
I did book this hotel thru TravelGuru and may be becoz it was charged less than their original 5500+taxes per day , they dint pay good attention or service to us.
Anyway i wouldn't recommend to stay in this hotel for their pathetic service and highly expensive food.

Room Tip: Choose a better hotel near to Bus Stand/Station rather than this one. Though they say they have cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rohitmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience. We were indeed very disturbed about your dissatisfaction in respect to your overall impression of our property. We take great concern of your comments and these incidents are certainly not the image we want to give of Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

Please accept our apologies regarding the delay in room service and the upkeep of the rooms. Let me reassure you that I have personally addressed this important aspect of service to the Department Head and I assure you that appropriate action will be taken to ensure of no repetition of such incident.

Regarding the food prices, we are at par with most other 3 star hotels in the region.

However, we thank you again for bringing the matters to our attention. It is through guest comments such as yours that help us better direct our unceasing efforts to anticipate and fulfill all our guests wishes.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

R. Venkatesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

There was so much write up about this hotel and we went with high expectations. The rooms are small and the bathroom was smaller. When we booked in the toilets were not clean. There were no towels . Used soaps and shampoos were lying there.The coffee maker unit had no sugar, milk ,coffee sachets,cups , or stirrer. Every morning we had to ask for replenishment. Service in the restaraunt is slow. It takes ages for room service . The Hotel is out of the way and approach road is bad . This is supposed to be a three star but definitely not worth the money.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shebhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

Please accepts our sincere apologies for the service shortfalls you experienced during your stay with us. They are certainly not indicative of the standards we aspire to offer all our guests and we will take your comments on board in our efforts to continuously improve our products and services.

We hope this will not deter you from coming back to our hotel. Please let us know when you plan to visit us again so our team can welcome you back.

Regards,

R. Venkatesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Service with a SMILE & very prompt in whatever duties performed by Staff.View is ofcourse breathtaking,Peaceful & superb,Food was also excellent & Chef took extra care of EACH & EVERYONE--which says a lot. Maintenance is needed in a few areas & also the approach road also requires maintainance.An excellent manager who has superb staff.Thank you for making our stay so wonderful

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaosBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to read our guests’ reviews, especially if they enjoyed their stay as much as you did. Thank you very much for your kind comments, especially the ones about our chef and courteous staff. Although we enjoy reading how much guests appreciate the facilities, the setting and the maintenance of the hotel, it is particularly reassuring and motivating that they also feel that the staff, their friendliness and efficiency, help to make an already pleasant experience even more special.

We apologize for the delay in serving you breakfast, and the F&B manager has been informed regarding this, so guests' don't face any future inconveniences.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another wonderful stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

Kind Regards,

R. Venkatesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.0 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
0.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
1.7 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.8 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
1.4 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Property: Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Address: Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinclairs Retreat Ooty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the clouds at 8000 feet and located exactly where the "Queen of Nilgiris" was discovered, Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is the highest located hotel in South India and unquestionably the best located hotel in Ooty. The hotel has 79 rooms and suites, and two villas with interiors that are modern and charming. The luxurious rooms are equipped with tea/coffee makers and cable TV. The valley view rooms offer stunning views.The resort is equipped with an array of facilities. This includes a Wi-Fi enabled reception area overlooking a three level-landscaped garden, Deluxe, Superior, Premium Suites and Deluxe/Honeymoon suite, conference and meeting facilities; three halls - Regal, The Windsor and The Summit and an open area - The Terrace. Fine dining at Pine n' Petal, a multicuisine restaurant, The Portico, a coffee bar for beverages and snacks, and High Point Bar, a stylish bar and a cool cocktail lounge.The highlight of the property is a vibrant entertainment and recreation zone with indoor badminton, pool table, table tennis, board games, video games, kids play area, library and lounge. Moreover, the hotel comprises of a fitness centre with gym, steam, sauna, and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing