We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Accomodation,Good food`”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad Accomodation,Good food`”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I visited this place along with my family and the experience was not great.The Deluxe Suite had a bad decor,the linen were totally dirty (with lot of hairs and mud) and toiletries were not available.When enquired,they said these were chargeable ! This is too much for the price we paid ..Room Service was pathetic,the tray and the vessels were amazingly dirty..I would say ..give this place a miss....I must give a special thanks to "Shoban" the chef who really took special care of my kid and the food he prepared was the only saving grace in this place..Special thanks to Shoban....If you happen to land up here..please check for Shoban especially if you have kids travelling with you....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time and efforts you have taken to post your review with regards to your recent stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

Please be assured that we are most concerned about the problems you have arisen in your comments and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you. All your feedback regarding shortcoming in our staff service line and upkeep of room was taken into consideration and addressed to the concerned department for further improvement.

We constantly strive to improve the level of our service standards and would be glad to have another opportunity to demonstrate you the quality of our facilities and services.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

R. Venkatesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    186
    83
    29
    45
See reviews for
239
158
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Seeing the images in their website & the write-ups, thought will have a wonderful stay. Though its around 5 kms from city the auto's will charge you min 150/-. Its not near to city so even if you want to take a walk to the market/city you need to shell out 200/- for an auto.
Food - Highly expensive, a normal tea for one person costs you around 80/- + taxes. A bowl of curd - 90/-. Imagine the charges that would be for food. Highly Expensive.
Room Service - When we checked-in we dint feel like we checked-in a fresh room instead like somebody had just vacated and we were asked to stay there. The bathroom wasn't having a bucket/bath mats/slippers/towels/ etc. The toilet also wasn't clean. We literally had to call the room service 10 times and then get the things.
To get anything from reception/room service we had to call 7-8 times. Once i personally went to the reception and asked them to give me the heater as the system was not working. In spite of this they dint send any and calling them twice again they sent. Such is the service from this so called 4* Hotel. I din't feel anything good about this hotel so as to consider it as a 4*. I have been in 2,3 & 4* hotels too but never saw such a pathetic service & such an expensive food charges.
They have the reception on top and rooms in the basement. As you keep going down you kind of get a foul smell as in old govt. museums. If you get a room in 1st floor then be ready to accept all these things. I have seen the service staff only thrice in my 2D3N stay. They never answered my issues/problem immediately. I had to keep reminding them about the service.
I did book this hotel thru TravelGuru and may be becoz it was charged less than their original 5500+taxes per day , they dint pay good attention or service to us.
Anyway i wouldn't recommend to stay in this hotel for their pathetic service and highly expensive food.

Room Tip: Choose a better hotel near to Bus Stand/Station rather than this one. Though they say they have cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohitmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience. We were indeed very disturbed about your dissatisfaction in respect to your overall impression of our property. We take great concern of your comments and these incidents are certainly not the image we want to give of Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

Please accept our apologies regarding the delay in room service and the upkeep of the rooms. Let me reassure you that I have personally addressed this important aspect of service to the Department Head and I assure you that appropriate action will be taken to ensure of no repetition of such incident.

Regarding the food prices, we are at par with most other 3 star hotels in the region.

However, we thank you again for bringing the matters to our attention. It is through guest comments such as yours that help us better direct our unceasing efforts to anticipate and fulfill all our guests wishes.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

R. Venkatesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ooty hotels

Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

There was so much write up about this hotel and we went with high expectations. The rooms are small and the bathroom was smaller. When we booked in the toilets were not clean. There were no towels . Used soaps and shampoos were lying there.The coffee maker unit had no sugar, milk ,coffee sachets,cups , or stirrer. Every morning we had to ask for replenishment. Service in the restaraunt is slow. It takes ages for room service . The Hotel is out of the way and approach road is bad . This is supposed to be a three star but definitely not worth the money.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shebhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

Please accepts our sincere apologies for the service shortfalls you experienced during your stay with us. They are certainly not indicative of the standards we aspire to offer all our guests and we will take your comments on board in our efforts to continuously improve our products and services.

We hope this will not deter you from coming back to our hotel. Please let us know when you plan to visit us again so our team can welcome you back.

Regards,

R. Venkatesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Service with a SMILE & very prompt in whatever duties performed by Staff.View is ofcourse breathtaking,Peaceful & superb,Food was also excellent & Chef took extra care of EACH & EVERYONE--which says a lot. Maintenance is needed in a few areas & also the approach road also requires maintainance.An excellent manager who has superb staff.Thank you for making our stay so wonderful

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaosBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to read our guests’ reviews, especially if they enjoyed their stay as much as you did. Thank you very much for your kind comments, especially the ones about our chef and courteous staff. Although we enjoy reading how much guests appreciate the facilities, the setting and the maintenance of the hotel, it is particularly reassuring and motivating that they also feel that the staff, their friendliness and efficiency, help to make an already pleasant experience even more special.

We apologize for the delay in serving you breakfast, and the F&B manager has been informed regarding this, so guests' don't face any future inconveniences.

We look forward to welcoming you again for another wonderful stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

Kind Regards,

R. Venkatesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife surprised me with a holiday on my birthday and took me to this hotel in Ooty. I was li'l disappointed on the day we reached. It was about 10 in the morning and the gentleman in the reception was good enough to tell me that the breakfast was closing in 30 mins. So we checked-in and i ordered the breakfast from the room, but it took about 3 reminders and 45 mins to get a sandwich. But that was the only incident that wasn't so pleasant.

It is a nice property they have atop a hill. It is well maintained, clean and the staffs are courteous. The chef himself attended all the guests at their tables and he made dishes according to the guest's choice. He made my birthday special with fried ice cream but i enjoyed the Bangali dishes more that he cooked for me.

Overall, it was a nice stay and i would recommend this place to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh_Vishwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, and for taking the time to write your review. It was a pleasure to read through your wonderful review.

Please accept our apologies for the delay in room service, and we shall look towards improving the same.

Receiving such praise means a lot to me personally, and I would like to thank you for providing a real boost of morale to us all. We endeavor daily to exceed our guests’ expectations, and I am truly gratified to know that we have exceeded yours.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,

R. Venkatesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were there for 3 nights. As it was low season, the hotel was quite empty, which was great for us : we had a more comfortable and large room with a view, and received great advice and service from the restaurant chef (a passionnate lover of food and making people happy with his food!), and the hotel manager, with whom we had a long interesting chat ; he also helped us to catch the mythic tea train down from Ooty.
The view is great and even if it is a bit far from the center, from there, you can take a walk to the highest mountain in Kerala and go and visit the tea factory next door (it will show you the process of tea making, and grant you with a delicious cardamone chai tea at the end of the visit.
The included breakfast if plenty and very good.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view when you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilie6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. From beginning to end it was a pleasure to read it. We are proud of the level of service that we provide, and blessed to have such a wonderful team. It is gratifying to receive such praise, and know that our endeavors are recognized.

I will be certain to pass on your wonderful comments to our Chef. I am sure that Shovon will be thrilled to know that he has made a positive impression. Your comments will provide a real boost of morale for our team, and for this I would like to thank you!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty sometime soon.

Regards,

R Venkatesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is away from the main town area and provides a clean and serene environment to relax. It is very close to the Dodabetta peak, which is one of the best spots in the area. The view from the hotel room overlooking the garden and providing a distant view of the town was good. The people were very friendly and all our needs were addressed promptly, with a personal touch. Many thanks to Chef Shobhon and F&B manager Utpal who took personal care of the requirements of our palette and made our stay memorable. Overall we had a great holiday.

Room Tip: Go for a valley facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShyamalD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciated your review and were very pleased to read how impressed you were with every single aspect of your stay from the setting, to the location and the food.

Thank you also for your kind and enthusiastic remarks about our team and especially about Shovan and Utpal. It is rewarding that their genuine friendliness and willingness to help are so valued and appreciated by our guests. We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty and assure you that we will do our utmost to make your next stay as or even more enjoyable than your last one!

Regards,

R Venkatesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
0.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
2.0 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
0.9 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
1.4 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Property: Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Address: Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinclairs Retreat Ooty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the clouds at 8000 feet and located exactly where the "Queen of Nilgiris" was discovered, Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is the highest located hotel in South India and unquestionably the best located hotel in Ooty. The hotel has 79 rooms and suites, and two villas with interiors that are modern and charming. The luxurious rooms are equipped with tea/coffee makers and cable TV. The valley view rooms offer stunning views.The resort is equipped with an array of facilities. This includes a Wi-Fi enabled reception area overlooking a three level-landscaped garden, Deluxe, Superior, Premium Suites and Deluxe/Honeymoon suite, conference and meeting facilities; three halls - Regal, The Windsor and The Summit and an open area - The Terrace. Fine dining at Pine n' Petal, a multicuisine restaurant, The Portico, a coffee bar for beverages and snacks, and High Point Bar, a stylish bar and a cool cocktail lounge.The highlight of the property is a vibrant entertainment and recreation zone with indoor badminton, pool table, table tennis, board games, video games, kids play area, library and lounge. Moreover, the hotel comprises of a fitness centre with gym, steam, sauna, and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing