We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Nearby Hotels
Ponmari Residencyy(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$153
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sterling Ooty Elk Hill(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$134
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Flora Amberley Resort(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Mahindra Derby Green(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$137
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Destiny Farmstay(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))
$155
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fortune Retreats Resorts - Ooty(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mount 'n' Mist(Ooty (Udhagamandalam))(Great Value!)
$50
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveler rating
313
229
95
34
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
313
229
95
34
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea factorypremier roomplay areavalley viewbadminton courtrestaurant stafff b managertable tennisindoor gamestravel deskthe general managerhotel is locateddodabetta peakfront officespecial thanksbeautiful gardenpleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
648 - 653 of 728 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2013

very good hotel with charming view as its located on the peak where you see almost ooty down-town.Room is clean ,food is delicious and overall stay was excellent.
finally,i would like to salute MR\R Venkatesh for everything he has done for us.
Thank you .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madouhzahrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with the location of our hotel.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the food at our restaurant. We will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our kitchen and restaurant team and thank you on behalf of them for your kind and motivating feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty with our signature grace, warmth and care.

Best regards,

R Venkatesh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Went to Ooty for a weekend getaway and had an excellent stay experience at Sinclairs Ooty. Very well maintained rooms. Excellent room service. Staff were extremely helpful and nice. The view from the room is awesome. I could see the Ooty city, the Nilgiri hills and cant explain how beautiful the sunset viewwas from the hotel. Beautiful.
Overall if anyone is planning to make a family trip to Ooty do stay at Sinclairs.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadhviRaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciated your review. It was very gratifying for us to learn that you had an excellent stay at our hotel, and that all your expectations, in terms of rooms, location and food and service were met.

Thank you so much for your kind comments, especially the ones about the beautiful sunset. We try hard to make our guests' stays as enjoyable and special as possible and it is really rewarding that these efforts are recognised and so much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you again to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty and assure you that we will do our utmost to make your next stay as or even more enjoyable than the first one.

Kind regards,

R Venkatesh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I went with my family to relax for 3-4 days and my expectations were surpassed by the Sinclairs Retreat, Ooty. The locations is just awesome, one can get breathtaking valley view from their rooms window. They have maintained beautiful garden, kids play area etc....

The food was also very good with excellent customer treatment from chef himself. They preapred a special buffet on 24th Dec eve which was just awesome.

Overall, excellent stay.

Room Tip: Valley facing rooms on the third floor are the best.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monu_Gaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community and for your high rating of our hotel.

I am delighted to read such positive comments and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. My Housekeeping team will appreciate your very kind comments regarding the maintenance of the hotel and all my staff will be glad to know that their great service contributed to your enjoyment and your very favourable impression of the hotel.

Hope to welcome you again the next time you're in the area!

Best Regards,

R. Venkatesh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Dear Viewers ,I would like to share my experience on the holiday we spent in this hotel ,its amazing experience ,the warmth of the staffs and the New General Manager who was cordial and made us to explore ooty ,the same place that i was coming for the last 2 decades .
My family was really taken care well ,and we never felt we were in a strange place.I am sure everyone travelling down would enjoy and worth spending your holiday there.OOps forgot to mention the man who always says "I AM HERE TO SERVE YOU " Chef shohaan he is really amazing and he always comes with the smile and gets what you want and personally talks to everyone of them around and take care of their needs.
In simple i opted to go DUBAI but wouldnt have enjoyed the way i had in OOTY ,thanks to the GENERAL MANAGER and the team for doing a good job .Keep going and all the best.

Room Tip: In winter please the room facing the garden which will be cosy and may be summer i am yet to experience shall be there once to do so,
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramachandran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

Thank you also for such positive feedback, I am delighted to learn that the warmth of our staff, together with our hospitality exceeded your expectations.

It is reassuring to know that we are your preferred choice of hotel in Ooty and thank you for your excellent recommendation in your review.

We do value our guests feedback, whether positive or negative as a way of monitoring and assessing the service we provide. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

R. Venkatesh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Best Stay in ooty so far.We had visited ooty many of times.But our stay in Sinclairs Retreat was the best.Special thanks to GM Mr .Venkatesh and Chef Shovan.They are the Gems of Sinclairs Retreat .Very courteous and polite.They made sure that we were comfortable and they took good care of us.Beautiful propertywith breath taking views. Highly recommend Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.The only issue which I would see is the approaching road to the Hotel.Since the hotel is at the high point I found the approaching road unsafe as there were no fence at the sides.I wonder how people travel during the seasons when it is foggy and misty.However I mentioned this concern to Mr.Venkatesh.People travelling for the first time please take care.Overall It is the best place to unwind your self.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top level on the west side.The room which we stayed was also good with garden view which was on the first floor.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manisha007_jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, but also appreciate the constructive comments and suggestions left. Please be assured that we are constantly reviewing and carrying out works, in order to keep our hotel well-maintained and clean. Please be assured that we will continue trying to keep everything to a high standard and that we will also try to improve wherever we can.

We have noted your comments regarding the approach road, and shall look towards improving it. It is a pleasure to hear that this was your best stay in Ooty so far.

Thank you once again for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you again for a hopefully even more enjoyable stay.

Kind regards

R Venkatesh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews