We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service..Best Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stay here for 2 nights. The place had amazing views of ooty. The were so happy with the service. The rooms were decent but comfortable. The food was amazing. The quality of food prepared for us could beat any 5 star hotel in India. Loved the hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripsExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor, and sharing your experience with our readers!

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our well appointed rooms, delicious food, and impeccable hospitality. We pride ourselves on our wonderful staff who represent the spirit of the hotel so well with our guests.

As a valued guest we would like to invite you to visit our our hotels in Siliguri, Darjeeling, Dooars (Chalsa), Port Blair and Bengaluru. We hope you visit us soon!

Meanwhile, please join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with all our offers and promotions.

Warm Regards,

NG Kumar
General Manager
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 546 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

I chose this hotel after reading reviews online. And boy i wasn't disappointed. It's a real gem of a property. The location is a definite USP(overlooking the valley). The rooms are well appointed and beds comfortable. The food at the restaurant is tasty. They have a good play area(badminton, table tennis, gym, playstation/nintendo and children's play area) to keep the entire family occupied. They also have a day spa. The icing on the cake is the politeness of the staff(Mr.Kumar the General Manager and his staff's concern is definitely heart warming). Would surely recommend this property to all. Only thing is that you need a vehicle if you want to go to ooty town but hey you just need to ask and they will get it arranged for you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AMITD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Amit,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We are delighted your visit was such a wonderful experience. We have shared your comments with the staff who pride themselves in
caring and tending to our every guest.

Valley view rooms certainly enjoy unique experiences as do our premier suites which have a private deck facing the forest. Infact all our guests appreciate the splendid views.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the food and service. Our play area - Tic Tac Toe, is packed with activity possibilities, and guests will find it easy to engage themselves with one thing or the other. It is a vibrant place for indoor games and kids often indulge themselves in the play area!

If you happen to visit Ooty sometime soon, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Regards from the Sinclairs Family,

NG Kumar
General Manager
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Sinclairs is located away from the din and dust of Ooty city, and overlooks the ooty valley.

We stayed here for 5 nights and were given a Valley View room, which has an excellent view of the valley. The staff was extremely cordial and very helpful.The rooms were very good, and the property was very well maintained even during the off season period.

Minor drawbacks - the bathroom was a bit small, and at times the room felt a little bit stuffy. Nothing major, especially compared to the dramatic views the room provided and the helpful hotel staff!

Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a Valley View room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ananth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Sinclairs_Ooty, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a lovely 5 star review and I am delighted that all the staff were able to assist you with your needs during this stay. All I can say about your enthusiastic comment is that we are really happy and I'll personally praise the team for the great job! It is always nice to read positive aspects of our hotel. We are pleased to have made your holiday enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty in the near future.

Sincerely,

NG Kumar
General Manager
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

we made a trip in probably the most off season of the year- the rains. but the hotel service and the staff were excellent. not many guests were there but the staff was on its toes. the boiler and the wi-fi were under maintenence but even after that it was made sure we and our driver got hot water on time. apart from a special mentoin has to be made about the restaurant staff who seemed to be on an exclusive service for us. they provided us with excellent food in little time. the manager and the staff of the hotel gave us personal attention every time we stepped down from our rooms. it seemed to be a royal treatment exclusively for us. the room was well maintained and spacious. the washrooms were although not dirty but definitely not the best; but then we cannot underscore them as maintainence was going on and they had certain renovation plans as well.
all in all good stay. helpful and coordinated staff. and of couse very very courteous.

Room Tip: the deluxe suites are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swati2meetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager - Sales at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. The team is glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind words will go a long way in motivating our team to provide the best levels of service at all times.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and we thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay on Tripadvisor.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I would rate this hotel as the best in ooty; we had booked a package stay in Sinclair’s and really worth. Need to mention about the chef, GM Mr. Kumar and reception, every body made sure that we were enjoying. we were given a valley view room which I would suggest every one to have beautiful scenic, room was big but only concern is bathroom where little crampy.this is the only hotel to have every recreations like play area,snookers,chess and carom and a separate library. In short we enjoyed every moment of stay. The food was very good and customized according to our wish and taste rather reading reviews can visit directly to experience. In short I will always stay in Sinclair’s.......whenever in ooty.they are ready to help in all ways if we are struck with tickets or something else...

Room Tip: always choose Valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KRKarthik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear KR Karthik

Thank you very much for your kind words.

It was a pleasure that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and its calm and relaxing atmosphere.

Our aim is to ensure high guest satisfaction, and we are happy that you remained satisfied with our location, food and service.

As a valued guest we would like to invite you to visit our our hotels in Siliguri, Darjeeling, Chalsa (Dooars) Port Blair and Bengaluru. We hope you visit us soon!

Meanwhile, please join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with all our offers and promotions.

Warm regards,
NG Kumar
General Manager
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We made a trip to Ooty during June this year ('12) and we had a pleasant stay at this hotel. We came to Ooty after a stay at Coonoor and our cab driver was initially having trouble locating this hotel as it is located away from the town center on the way to the Dodda Betta peak. After reaching the hotel we were pleased with the location as it offers a great view to the entire Ooty town. We checked into the hotel and when we reached our room we found it to be decorated fashionably with rich wall papers and frosted glass in the bathroom. When we looked closely we found that there the wall paper was peeling off a few places near the bath room (probably due to dampness in the walls) but that did not dampen our spirits. There was one incident though involving a portable heater which almost raised an alarm. Since it was cold at that time in Ooty, there were a few portable heaters propped up with wood in the passage leading to the rooms. One of them had toppled over and burnt a hole in the carpet on the passage and the burning stench was unmistakable. But the staff quickly took the heaters away before they caused any more damage. The restaurant in the hotel served good food. There was a buffet spread during dinner and lunch was a'-la-carte. During lunchtime it is advisable to place the order early or going for a stroll in the garden and then coming back to find the order ready to be served. In terms of facilities, there was an outdoor and indoor playing area. The outdoor area opening up to provide an excellent view to the town. The indoor playing area had a playpen for toddlers, a badminton court, a table tennis board and a small gym with all basic cardio equipments. There is also a pool table which was hardly being used. There was also board games like monopoly, chess and caroms to engage you. There was also a collection of books available for the guests. So it had all the ingredients to offer you a relaxing vacation. We also went for a Ooty site-seeing trip after hiring a car from the hotel. There I believe guests with their own transportation arrangement will have an advantage as commuting from the hotel is not cheap. We could also take a walk to the Tea Factory which is in the vicinity and saw how tea gets processed in a plant. There was also a dam nearby which is within walkable distance, but there was very little water in the reservoir during this time of the year (just onset of monsoons). Everything said we had a relaxing time staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nostringsattached14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager - Sales at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty on Tripadvisor. Your review and valuable information helps us to monitor the service we provide. Such comments also help us improve the service and build higher standards. We are glad that you liked the hotel, it's location and facilities especially the food in the restaurant and the activity centre.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel and it's calm and relaxing atmosphere. it is well known that Sinclairs Rereat Ooty is located on the mountain top overlooking a valley. The Retreat's scenic perch is something few others can match in the region, and this is a great selling point for us.

We hope to welcome you back to Sinclairs in the near future. Meanwhile, please join us on Facebook and Twitter to keep updated with all our offers and promotions.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

It was a great holiday in Ooty....It has the best location in Ooty with a great view of the entire Ooty town. The food is great and does not have the typical south indian flavour most of the hotels have in this region.Dhruv Ghosh, Srilekha and Shabana looked after me really well and made me feel at home. I will definitely come back again if I get the time.The view from the hotel is awesome.It has a lovely big lawn where you can just sit and relax and kids will just love it.Try to stay in room # 217 if you can.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biswar00p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, and for taking the time to give us your feedback on the hotel facilities and service provided by the team.

I was delighted to read your very kind comments, and I am pleased you enjoyed your holiday. Our aim is to ensure high guest satisfaction, and we are happy that you remained satisfied with our location, food and service.

We hope to welcome you back to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty in the near future.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.0 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,065 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,224 reviews
1.9 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
828 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#12 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
506 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#16 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Address: Gorishola Road,, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $63 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinclairs Retreat Ooty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the clouds at 8000 feet and located exactly where the "Queen of Nilgiris" was discovered, Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is the highest located hotel in South India and unquestionably the best located hotel in Ooty. The hotel has 79 rooms and suites, and two villas with interiors that are modern and charming. The luxurious rooms are equipped with tea/coffee makers and cable TV. The valley view rooms offer stunning views.The resort is equipped with an array of facilities. This includes a Wi-Fi enabled reception area overlooking a three level-landscaped garden, Deluxe, Superior, Premium Suites and Deluxe/Honeymoon suite, conference and meeting facilities; three halls - Regal, The Windsor and The Summit and an open area - The Terrace. Fine dining at Pine n' Petal, a multicuisine restaurant, The Portico, a coffee bar for beverages and snacks, and High Point Bar, a stylish bar and a cool cocktail lounge.The highlight of the property is a vibrant entertainment and recreation zone with indoor badminton, pool table, table tennis, board games, video games, kids play area, library and lounge. Moreover, the hotel comprises of a fitness centre with gym, steam, sauna, and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing