We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We went on a 2 day trip to ooty and stayed at Sinclairs. The place has a very scenic view. It is beautifully located. The hotel has a striking interiors, attractive rooms and all modern amenities. The staff is very hospitable and cordial. We would specially like to thank Ms.Shabana (GRE) and the housekeeping manager and Saurab for the yummy food.We enjoyed the play area which has all gaming facilities like badminton,table tennis,gym,wii,indoor games,mini library,sauna bath and the list goes on. Even if you don't go out you don't get bored at all. The food is delectable and tasty. Since the property has so much to offer that you don't feel like venturing out in the hustle and bustle of the ooty town.
Things that may need some improvement would be to have a dedicated travel desk, little more staff at the restaurant.
Overall a thumbs up from our end.
Cheers
Surendra

Room Tip: choose the valley view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surendra m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager - Sales at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Sinclairs Retreat Ooty on Trip Advisor. It is such a pleasure to read complimentaty feedback on guest stays. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable holiday and found our staff hospitable and cordial. I will certainly pass on your grateful appreciation to our team at Ooty.

The Tic Tac Toe entertainment zone has been appreciated by all our guests who visit the hotel. It is a thoughtfully designed kids zone with videogames, badminton, air-hockey, table tennis and more.

It is encouraging to note that you enjoyed the food at Pine n Petals - the multi-cuisine restaurant which has an inviting menu!

Thank you for your suggestions for the things that we need to improve upon and we will take those points into consideration.

On behalf of everyone in the team we look forward to welcoming you back to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty in the near future.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 593 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

Being a travel writer, this was my fifth trip to Ooty and therefore I was not expecting anything out of the ordinary..... However Sinclairs Ooty left me pleasantly surprised.

It is difficult to point out the USP of this property. It has a breath taking location being the highest located hotel on this hill station. Most of the core team is from Calcutta and takes great pains to run the extra mile and make your stay uber comfortable. On one occassion when I ordered room service and had a cough attack in between my meal... two of the service staff rushed to my assistance as they were literally waiting outside the room till I had finished the meal. This level of hospitality leaves one spell bounded.

The buffets are quite sumptious and offer both North and South Indian fare. But If you are a foodie like me then have a chat with the super talented chef Soumik .... and he will customise something specially for your taste buds. I can not forget the Bengali lunch that he treated me to.... yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmm !!!!

Everyone from Kumar the GM to Dhruv the F&B Manager and his lovely Mrs... to Shabana and ofcourse Adnan who served every meal to me in my two day stay like I were eating at his home felt like family. These little things want to make you visit the property again.

I for one am sure that on my next trip to Ooty, Sinclairs is where I will crash ... and I highly recommend you do too.

Raadia Mukadam

Room Tip: Rooms that are valley facing have a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

Dear Raadia

Thank you for sharing your memorable trip with us. The entire team at the hotel is delighted to receive such comments about your stay. Your kind words will go a long way in motivating the team.

We are grateful for your support and patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Ooty and Sinclairs Hotels.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Booked a two day trip to OOTY and stayed at Sinclair's hotel. It is only couple of kilometers away from the center of city and easily accessible. Staff is very courteous and rooms are nice. Food is buffet style but both dinner and breakfast is of good quality. I will recommend it to anyone staying in OOTY for couple of days.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aikta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Head of Sales at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Dear Aikta

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. The team is delighted to receive such comments about your stay. Every guest is very special to us and it is our endeavour to make sure that they have a memorable experience.

We are grateful for your support and patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Ooty and Sinclairs Hotels.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We went on a very short trip to ooty and had our stay at Sinclairs.The staff members were very cordial specially I would like to mention Mr and Mrs Ghosh.The location of the hotel and the view from the hotel lobby is excellent.Food quality was also very good.It was a memorable trip.

Room Tip: Valley view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sayali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our team is delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I agree that our location is a special key factor and a great advantage to us. We are located at a short distance from the town, which makes the hotel a perfect holiday destination. We strive to provide our guests with high levels of customer service and your feedback is important to us.

Your words of appreciation shall go a long way in motivating our team to deliver a high level of service to our valued guests.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and we thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay on Tripadvisor.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Apart from a few hiccups in the beginning, it was a very memorable trip.

The location and consequently the view from the hotel is breathtaking. The food is amazing. So is the hotel infrastructure and the ever-courteous staff. Even though its being renovated, there was no mood-killing noise or any other sort of inconvenience.

Its a place you absolutely must visit if you want to get away from the hustle-bustle of the world. Its a "retreat" in the true sense of the word.

The only downside was probably the hefty room-service bills. But, if you take packages which includes food expenses, you can avoid this ;-)

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone for its location alone. The view from the hotel lawn is sublime; especially at night, when you can see the entire Ooty twinkling. and which is absolutely the right time and place to have a bonfire with family or friends ;-)

P.S. Make sure you are there in the hotel before sunset. You havn't seen beauty if you havn't seen the sun set across the horizon from this place. Cheers!!!

Room Tip: Valley View rooms are really great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saquib_Khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager - Sales at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. The team is glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We agree that our location is a definite draw and a great advantage to us. We are located at a short distance from the town, which makes the hotel area very peaceful. We also encourage our guests to catch the sunset from the hotel, which is magical.

Your kind words will go a long way in motivating our team to provide the best levels of service at all times.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and we thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay on Tripadvisor.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Undoubtedly the newly renovated Sinclairs is at the top of the hotel ratings in Ooty. The location is amongst the best as it offers a scenic view of the sunset from the deck and the restaurant.
Full marks for the delectable cuisine that the restaurant offers with a range of continental, indian and south indian food.
The childrens play area gets to be challenging when you have to pull your child out to go around town and see places. It can keep them engrossed for hours.
Friendly staff always looking to help is the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Rooms in the West are the best. Your very own sunset point. View the sunset with a nice cuppa from y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SumitBothra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager - Sales at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, and for taking the time to give us your feedback on the hotel facilities and service provided by the team.

I was delighted to read your very kind comments, and I am pleased you enjoyed your holiday. Our aim is to ensure high guest satisfaction, and we are happy that you remained satisfied with our location, food and service.

We hope to welcome you back to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty in the near future.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The retreat provides excellent ambiance, has modern interiors and you feel good vibrations all around. The staff is very courteous. Though the hotel is still under renovation and not fully operational, we did not face any inconvenience. I shall recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bpj1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager - Sales at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. The team is glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind words will go a long way in motivating our team to continuously provide excellent customer service.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and we thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay on Tripadvisor.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,101 reviews
2 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#8 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,261 reviews
1.9 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#6 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
852 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
#14 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
522 reviews
1.5 mi away
Treebo Yantra Leisures
Treebo Yantra Leisures
#13 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Address: Gorishola Road,, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $64 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinclairs Retreat Ooty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the clouds at 8000 feet and located exactly where the "Queen of Nilgiris" was discovered, Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is the highest located hotel in South India and unquestionably the best located hotel in Ooty. The hotel has 79 rooms and suites, and two villas with interiors that are modern and charming. The luxurious rooms are equipped with tea/coffee makers and cable TV. The valley view rooms offer stunning views.The resort is equipped with an array of facilities. This includes a Wi-Fi enabled reception area overlooking a three level-landscaped garden, Deluxe, Superior, Premium Suites and Deluxe/Honeymoon suite, conference and meeting facilities; three halls - Regal, The Windsor and The Summit and an open area - The Terrace. Fine dining at Pine n' Petal, a multicuisine restaurant, The Portico, a coffee bar for beverages and snacks, and High Point Bar, a stylish bar and a cool cocktail lounge.The highlight of the property is a vibrant entertainment and recreation zone with indoor badminton, pool table, table tennis, board games, video games, kids play area, library and lounge. Moreover, the hotel comprises of a fitness centre with gym, steam, sauna, and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing