We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“educational seminar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
ooty
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“educational seminar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

All the arrangements are excellent.The staff is extremely good specially Mr. Dhruv, Miss Sabana,Adnan, Suma ......The food quality is also good.The arrangement in all respects are excellent.I would suggest my friends and relatives to stay in this hotel.The location is awesome.We could view the sunset from the open green lawn of the hotel.Over all a very nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank priyabratamajumder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager - Sales at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. The team is glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We agree that our location is a definite draw and a great advantage to us. We are located at a short distance from the town, which makes the hotel area very peaceful. And as you mentioned, we encourage our guests to catch the sunset from the hotel, which is breathtaking.

Your kind words will go a long way in motivating our team to provide high levels of customer service.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    186
    83
    29
    45
See reviews for
239
158
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

we had a nice time with the family.tic tac toe in the hotel was the best and we spent most of our time here than sight seeing. food was excellent we had all our meal here. we would love to come here for the next vacation too!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vijay_375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager - Sales at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thanks you for your brief, yet positive review about your recent stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. We are really pleased that we contributed in making your summer vacation a memorable one.

Tic Tac Toe is our newly made activity centre which is made for the young and the not so young alike. Guests can unwind with a bestseller in our library, indulge in a relaxing massage while the young ones play a game of badminton in the indoor court or a video game.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for yet another wonderful experience.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

awesome location and ambience.. the service offered was excellent.. great food too.. kids loved the play area.. we would definitely plan for another trip and recommend Sinclairs to our friends..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank puvidilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager-Sales at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a positive review about our hotel on Tripadvisor. It is a delight to hear that your weekend stay was excellent, and the food and service were good. Food and customer services are two areas we strive to excel at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, and I am delighted to hear that you will be recommending the hotel to others.

I agree that our location is a special key factor and a great advantage to us. We are located at a short distance from the town, which makes the hotel area very peaceful. Although, there are many sightseeing spots closeby, it is a perfect place for a rejuvenating holiday, and also convenient as you can easily visit the nearby attractions.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and we thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay on Tripadvisor.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

I had come on a weekend and my stay at the hotel was really great.My family also really enjoyed the stay. The staff was really cooperative and in particular Ms. Shabanam was very helpful..My kids wants to come back to the hotel if we come back to Ooty The food was really good and the staff at the restuarant were very humble and courteous. The hotel was very clean. I would recommend any one who wants to stay this hotel because they would definitely enjoy the stay.

Room Tip: Would definetly recommed the hotel, its really cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anill65inus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager - Sales at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and facilities and we are extremely happy and satisfied to hear that you had an excellent holiday.

We hope that you will continue choosing Sinclairs Retreat Ooty for your future lodging needs.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We had a nice Holiday Stay in Sinclairs Retreat, OOTY. We went on the Long Weekend from 23rd March 2012 to 25th March 2012 and our stay was really good.
The Hotel Staff took care of us very well.
They have a very nice Children Play area, very Good Gym and Games Play area where you can play Table Tennis , Badminton ,Carrom etc.
The rooms have very good Interiors and are very cosy.
Overall really nice place to spend a Holiday in OOTY.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niduggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager - Sales at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to know that the level of service you experienced was excellent and you noticed that are staff are caring.

Our newly done up entertainment zone - Tic Tac Toe is becoming very popular with children and we are glad to know that your family enjoyed here. Our refurbished rooms are also appreciated by all the travelers. Thanks for your comments about the same.

We do hope that each time you are in our area you choose to stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Visited this hotel in Dec 2005 for our honeymoon. Breakfast and dinner was included in the plan. This place was just fantastic. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast and dinner were fantastic. Very good Idlis and Dosas. Service was excellent. Very good views of the valley from the room. Was advertised as a three star hotel, but I felt should be four star. This place is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager - Sales at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Sir,

On behalf of the entire team at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, we thank you for your review of our hotel and it's service. We appreciate your business and are thrilled you enjoyed your Honeymoon with us.

Tourists visiting Ooty are limited in options when it comes to premier hotels. However, our resort has everything a guest will need while on work or getting away for the weekend. We take pride on being South India's highest located hotel with a stuning view of the Nilgiri mountain range, and we are happy that you agree with the same. Our upgraded facilities and new additions truly deliver all guest requirements.

Whether you return for work or pleasure, please feel free to contact us directly if we can be of any additional service to you.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

We visited Ooty last week as family to spend 3 days. We had booked Sinclairs Retreat because we had stayed there 10 years back and had a good experience. This time around, there was complete new look given to the property and it was quite impressive. In some parts, renovation was still on, but it was unobtrusive to us. The room was clean and nicely done up. The staff right from reception to restaurant were very friendly and attentive. They gave us personal attention to us and ensured that we were comfortable. The food was good but there is still scope for improvement. Probably, the kitchen is not fully ready, so breakfast options were also limited. But the friendly staff more than made up for this short coming. The location may look out of the way for some travellers, but we were happy to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramalakshmianand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudhakaran, Manager - Sales at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. It is delightful to hear that you have been a regular visitor at the Hotel and we have been able to exceed your expectations on all counts. I am delighted to hear that we were able to deliver in all respects to ensure you had a good experience at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty. Guest satisfaction plays a major role in our day to day operations and we strive to know what matters to our guests.

I hope you recommend us to your friends and other families.

Looking forward to welcoming back again at Sinclairs on your next holiday.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.9 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
0.7 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
2.0 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
0.9 mi away
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
1.4 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinclairs Retreat Ooty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinclairs Retreat Ooty

Property: Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Address: Gorishola Road,, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sinclairs Retreat Ooty 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped by the clouds at 8000 feet and located exactly where the "Queen of Nilgiris" was discovered, Sinclairs Retreat Ooty is the highest located hotel in South India and unquestionably the best located hotel in Ooty. The hotel has 79 rooms and suites, and two villas with interiors that are modern and charming. The luxurious rooms are equipped with tea/coffee makers and cable TV. The valley view rooms offer stunning views.The resort is equipped with an array of facilities. This includes a Wi-Fi enabled reception area overlooking a three level-landscaped garden, Deluxe, Superior, Premium Suites and Deluxe/Honeymoon suite, conference and meeting facilities; three halls - Regal, The Windsor and The Summit and an open area - The Terrace. Fine dining at Pine n' Petal, a multicuisine restaurant, The Portico, a coffee bar for beverages and snacks, and High Point Bar, a stylish bar and a cool cocktail lounge.The highlight of the property is a vibrant entertainment and recreation zone with indoor badminton, pool table, table tennis, board games, video games, kids play area, library and lounge. Moreover, the hotel comprises of a fitness centre with gym, steam, sauna, and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sinclairs Retreat Ooty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty Hotel Ootacamund
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing