We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most depressing hotel we stayed in in India”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Cavernous, unfriendly, badly run. The remains of a chocolate cake were outside our room on arrival and were still there 14 hours later! There was also already a large turd in our loo! Unironed sheets. Slight smell in room. We were, unsurprisingly, among the only 'guests' in the hotel which was expensive, ugly and appallingly managed. An electronic Yamaha played itself spookily in the cavernous foyer, and we could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annasklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 522 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2010

We booked this hotel after we found that its best in ooty through reviews on trip advisor. The hotel is absolutely amazing ... the rooms were perfect, the food was good, the location was great with rose garden at the walking distance, and the staff was amazing. We just keep on remembering our ooty trip mainly because of this hotel.

One last point ... the hotel was packed when we went there .. still they have kept the standards.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelIndia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Great Place, Great Food, Great Ambience. Nice location

Slightly Expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svk_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Sulivan court in located in the prime location of ooty but in a vary quite location above the hills. It is very near to the Rose garden.
Hotel service is really good and people are very friendly. Ambience of the hotel is also nice.
I would recommend this hotel to people who prefer a luxury stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Vicky2379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We found this hotel to be well located within Ooty - within easy walking of the Botanical Gardens - which are well worth a visit - beautiful. The hotel is clean and comfortable with quiet bedrooms. We liked the cocktails in the bar! These were very welcome and quite rare in our trek across India. The restaurant was OK - food was average, although the puddings were good. Staff were friendly. All in all a pleasant place to spend an evening and night.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonScot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

Great place if you like it a little upper-class without paying the hefty price or staying outside the city to justify the Taj and others.
Rooms are big and clean but can get cold, so make sure you ask for a heater straight away.
Hotel has choice of DVDs, a pretty good restaurant, solid veg and non-veg breakfast buffet and a unique, Swiss Chalet-style layout.
Make sure you request a room with valley view.
Big beds, good matresses.
Staff is trimmed to higher-class guests, service is pretty good, sometimes a little slow but not very personal.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonasTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

We had a lovely time at The Fortune Sullivan Court.Havent seen more friendlier(yes am using the double superlative)staff than the ones here.There was a genuine and sincere air to the service that was being provided.We went there for our anniversary and the hotel surprised us with a beautiful chocolate cake bang at midnite.Was a lovely experience.We stayed in the Fortune Club rooms and we were shown around 3-4 rooms and was allowed to choose our room.Beds were soft and warm and pillows were plenty.The club rooms have a bath tub.

Breakfast was lovely.Not extravagant but apt and good.Hate seeing those enormous amount of food being wasted in the more-than-one-can-eat-kind of breakfast buffets.Loved the stay and we have already gone back there for the breakfasts whenever we drive through Ooty.The locals reccomend the place for their sizzlers.

There is a lovely club room,a health center and a lovely little lawn.Genuinely friendly and warm staff made the stay even more memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lifeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.9 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#12 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
596 reviews
1.8 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#8 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#6 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
853 reviews
1 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 94 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court

Address: 123 Selbourne Road | Rose Garden Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#9 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $69 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the gentle slopes of Ooty, amidst lush green lawns and a colourful garden, Fortune Resort Sullivan Court is a modern-day tribute to John Sullivan, who founded the scenic town of Ooty in 1821. The hotel is just 1 km from the city centre, 2 km from the railway station and 100 km from the Coimbatore airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Hotel Ootacamund
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing