We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish, quiet with great cocktails” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stylish, quiet with great cocktails”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

We found this hotel to be well located within Ooty - within easy walking of the Botanical Gardens - which are well worth a visit - beautiful. The hotel is clean and comfortable with quiet bedrooms. We liked the cocktails in the bar! These were very welcome and quite rare in our trek across India. The restaurant was OK - food was average, although the puddings were good. Staff were friendly. All in all a pleasant place to spend an evening and night.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonScot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    213
    76
    21
    21
See reviews for
239
136
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

Great place if you like it a little upper-class without paying the hefty price or staying outside the city to justify the Taj and others.
Rooms are big and clean but can get cold, so make sure you ask for a heater straight away.
Hotel has choice of DVDs, a pretty good restaurant, solid veg and non-veg breakfast buffet and a unique, Swiss Chalet-style layout.
Make sure you request a room with valley view.
Big beds, good matresses.
Staff is trimmed to higher-class guests, service is pretty good, sometimes a little slow but not very personal.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonasTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

We had a lovely time at The Fortune Sullivan Court.Havent seen more friendlier(yes am using the double superlative)staff than the ones here.There was a genuine and sincere air to the service that was being provided.We went there for our anniversary and the hotel surprised us with a beautiful chocolate cake bang at midnite.Was a lovely experience.We stayed in the Fortune Club rooms and we were shown around 3-4 rooms and was allowed to choose our room.Beds were soft and warm and pillows were plenty.The club rooms have a bath tub.

Breakfast was lovely.Not extravagant but apt and good.Hate seeing those enormous amount of food being wasted in the more-than-one-can-eat-kind of breakfast buffets.Loved the stay and we have already gone back there for the breakfasts whenever we drive through Ooty.The locals reccomend the place for their sizzlers.

There is a lovely club room,a health center and a lovely little lawn.Genuinely friendly and warm staff made the stay even more memorable.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lifeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

Perfect place to stay in Ooty. Location is good and services are satisfactory. Close to many places to look for in Ooty.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank apoorv_kapse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

Oh that was a rainy day ...... in ooty we just went into sulivan court with water dripping out of our clothes. The moment we entered they offered us some towel to dry ourself we then took a honeymoon suite.
The room was really superb with furnished things all around. the cleanliness and hospitality was awesome.
Regarding the food in the hotel was delicious we had some sanwich and a drink that was great then we came out where there was a garden we took some photos oh my god really i could not forget that day.
The room was really romantic and we had a pleasant time.
Also the hotel provides some indoor games which we played together and enjoyed a lot. oh my honeymoon was a special one and this hotel made it more special.

  • Liked — Hospitality and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Savith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirunelveli
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2009

Hotel is fabulous for good stay.rooms are clean and neat.good surrondings even in city centre.it feels like in heaven.but only prices are too high.i like it much.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — tariff
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dasskariz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

If you are planning to visit ooty and are looking for a luxurious stay this is by far the best option. The staff is courteous and very helpful. Though there is an option of TAJ and Holiday INN in ooty, fortune beats them hands down in every aspect. The place is clean and hygienic and the rooms are very well furnished something which is expected of the Welcome Group. The food is alrite though i have to say it is the best you get in ooty. An average night costs 3700 per couple and its a complete value for money

This 4 Star, leisure hotel is set on the gentle slopes at Selbourne Road. Amid lush green lawns and overlooking the Nilgiri Mountains are 67 comfortable rooms that are maintained with 24 hours room service, which includes complimentary breakfast to two adults. Guests can lounge at Pavilion - a 24 hours coffee shop-cum-multi-cuisine restaurant, and for some North-West Frontier cuisine one can visit Khyber Restaurant with an outdoor ambiance.

Room This is bigger than the deluxe and suite rooms and comprises a small dressing area, and also includes a bathroom with a bath tub. It is well-appointed with a tea/coffee maker, a DVD player, an A/C, a color television and a telephone. Guests are served with breakfast, lunch or dinner, and enjoy all the facilities of the club

Overall Good Place to Stay. Good staff, Various options in excellent Food. Rooms are good and spacious. Not a great view from hotel rooms but I believe this is one of the top 3 hotels in Ooty.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GaneshLucknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.0 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
0.4 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
1.7 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court

Property: Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Address: 123 Selbourne Road | Rose Garden Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
#14 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the gentle slopes of Ooty, amidst lush green lawns and a colourful garden, Fortune Resort Sullivan Court is a modern-day tribute to John Sullivan, who founded the scenic town of Ooty in 1821. The hotel is just 1 km from the city centre, 2 km from the railway station and 100 km from the Coimbatore airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Hotel Ootacamund
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing