We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's all about good service”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

I checked in first week of may. I booked a standard room.

Good-
The room had a great garden view and view of the mountain. The room was well maintained. Flooring was wooden, bed was very comfortable. The amenities were up to the mark..The complimentary breakfast was good. Many choices which would keep your stomach full.
Round the clock service. I order mutton biryani at 2 am. It was delivered and was very good.

Room service was good. They clean the entire place and replace all toliteries.

The hotel has a huge place for kids, jogging and many more things to do.

The location of the hotel is very close to market and site seeing area. This can save lot time in travelling.

Bad-
Food is very expensive. A mutton biryani will cost you around 600/-. Even avoid ordering water bottle. I would recommend to get food from outside and eat inside the room.

The hair dyer was not working. The mini bar has very few options. The curtains can't keep the sunlight away during day.


Overall it's a good place to be. If you want a good service and a comfortable place to stay..This is the hotel you want to be....

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anish V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    226
    82
    21
    23
See reviews for
261
141
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We switched to this hotel from our original choice of Delightz Inn that turned out to be a bit isolated with bad access roads. We stayed here for 3 nights.

Pros:
Given the dilapidated state that Ooty is now in, this place is not such a bad choice to stay in Ooty (for the given price). Their bar and restaurant is open 24hrs for your convenience. The lobby looks great with cozy ambiance and live piano performance in the evenings. We were lucky to find a nice local taxi guy who was very reasonable and was available the whole time we were there. (If the TripAdvisor will allow it - his name is Suman and his contact information: +919943833553). For people not used to spicy South Indian food, their restaurant had good choice of North Indian and few international selections that saved our stomachs!. They also have a pool/billiards table that we tried and spa/massage packages (didn't try). They have an outdoor barbecue style restaurant (Khyber) that we didn't get a chance to try as it had been raining on and off that time. The staff and service was generally good and willing to accommodate of any special requests.

Cons:
While it is located within walking distance from the Rose Garden, it is still a bit off from the shops and restaurants. Some of the room furniture seemed old and in need of maintenance. The lobby carpet was dirty and needed replacing The bathroom drain and sink were a bit clogged in our room though they were promptly attended to by the housekeeping staff. Toilet flush used ground bore water and was muddy at times. Water used in taps is supposedly rain water and seemed OK to us.

Ooty itself seems to have lost its charm due to rapid-unplanned development and horrible roads. Surrounding areas such as Pykara & Coonoor tea plantations were more pleasant to visit.

Room Tip: It maybe a good idea to check the room that you are being assigned before accepting the keys for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seuvenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel is an old one and at a very good location. The staff are very friendly and courteous. The rooms need more attention. I don't think this hotel deserves the 4 star rating. The food provided in the buffet spreads were not that great. They need to get better. I had booked this hotel after reading the good reviews. But, the hotel did not meet our expectations. There were house flies in the room booked for us. After talking to them, they upgraded us to a suite free of cost which was cleaner and better. Definitely needs attention.

Room Tip: Call them to get a better price than that is advertised in the web.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoviH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
487 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was one of our poorer hotels during our 23 days in India. It is in a lovely situation with pleasant gardens, and has obviously seen better times. But it badly needs an injection of capital an a serious modernization program. Most areas need cleaning and painting, and better still, some structural redesign. There is a great deal of space, and our bedroom was most comfortable, but one evening we noticed smoke pouring out of our electric heater, that probably speaks volumes about the state of the wiring system. The food, in particular the breakfast, was mediocre at best, and far below what one would expect of a Resort Hotel, that was the class for which we had booked.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidgoldberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

After reading very good reviews we decided to book this hotel and expected it to be great, but it did not meet our expectations.
We booked a Club Room and they allotted us a normal room with two single beds. We had to remind them of our booking and then they change to the club room. The club room was entitled for a fruit basket as per our booking which we never received. When we checked into the Club room, water was overflowing in the flush, though somebody came quickly to rectify it when we complained. There was a weighing machine in the room which never worked, though it isn't something which we needed, but why to keep something in the room which doesn't work. The toiletries weren't kept properly on the 2nd day. We requested 2-3 times to get the right one.
We tried to ignore these small issues as we wanted to enjoy out visit to Ooty. The complimentary breakfast buffet was quite good but I believe they had difficult time managing the crowd.
Overall the property is quite good, rooms were spacious. They also had a garden which was decent. It is near to the Rose garden and Charring cross, where we went for shopping. Its just 2 kms from Bus stand/Railway station.
I will definitely recommend, this hotel to people and expect their service will improve.

Room Tip: We stayed in 102, though it doesn't have much of view but was quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snigdhamajumdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I just checked out today. Hotel is waste of money. We checked in on 18th apr,14. OUR booking was for queen size double bad and they gave us 2 single bad room. I took bath and started getti g itching all around my body. Room tap water was Yellow in color.I filled it glass and shown to staff and I got to know it was rain water in bathroom. Snooker room was stinking with unwashed tea cups lying and also there was no stick to play. I got normal tea when I ordered ginger tea. Breakfast was also yukkkk with some senseless juicrs with full water in it. Overall pathetic hotel with multiple bad experiences. Waste of 5.5k per night.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinny0486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.

Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi, Kerala, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My family comprised of my wife and 3 boys checked in for a day on 16.4.14.We booked 2 rooms with an extra bed in one room. But extra bed was not provided....may be the room size is not adequate to accommodate extra bed.

Also the lift is always stuck in ground floor. We were afraid of our kids using the lift.

At the same time Breakfast spread was nice.....but not as good as JP palace ,Mysore where we stayed 2 days from 14.4.14.

We found stains in blankets kept in shelf ,so we didn't use it .

Also the house keeping was not up to the mark

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shahul1785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.

Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.8 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,015 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
997 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#14 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
791 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court

Property: Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Address: 123 Selbourne Road | Rose Garden Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#14 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the gentle slopes of Ooty, amidst lush green lawns and a colourful garden, Fortune Resort Sullivan Court is a modern-day tribute to John Sullivan, who founded the scenic town of Ooty in 1821. The hotel is just 1 km from the city centre, 2 km from the railway station and 100 km from the Coimbatore airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Hotel Ootacamund
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing