We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old hotel with good service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Fortune hotel in ooty is an average hotel with staff who are very helpful and a manager who is ever more helpful. Please do not expect the hotel to treat you with beautiful views of ooty, The rooms are average sized and the fittings seem old but well maintained. The hairdryer did not work in our room. They however had an iron box and an iron board which i must say i have never seen in any other hotel.The restaurants are not anything great to talk about and appear a bit overpriced. The bar in the ground floor seemed dull with absolutely no music. We ordered some chicken in the bar which tasted terrible. The rooms we got were facing the back of the hotel and the windows open into the backyard which is not landscaped. They have a free breakfast but when we went down it was crowded and we did not get place immediately. That however can not be blamed on the hotel. We were however accommodated as soon as a table was available. The staff there seemed to keep forgetting our orders for a dosa and coffee which we placed and i had to remind 3 people for this. I hope the hotel management looks at these issues.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudeepraju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 507 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

I had the experience of staying in Fortune Portland twice and Fortune Bagalore once. Therefore, decided to book Fortune Ooty because i had to book from Delhi and did not want to take a chance as i was coming to Ooty with family. The booking is quite trasperent. Booked through their website directly. Booking process is good and communication is quick. Normally, i have ti fight for the extra cot but this it was clear. The staff is very courteous and all smiles. Rooms are neat and clean. Bed linens are new and crisp clean. I liked the blankets very much. I was exited to see a signage of Jogging track but its so uneven that one has to walk carefully. They can certainly work on it and make it ankle friendly. My wife and daughter did not like the buffet dinner. Buffet breakfast was also not appreciated by my daughter though ok for me and my wife. Overall, looks to be slightly overpriced. Stayed only for one night. One hour after checking out, we realized that my daughter had forgotten her specs in the hotel. We rang up the hotel and they promptly checked and informed that they indeed found the specs in the room. When i went back to collect the specs, we found that a register entry had been made and my acknowledgement was obtained from me. I liked the care.

Location is excellent as several inexpensive restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhulev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.

Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

-- Stayed during Mid of Feb 2014 as a part of team outing
-- A well maintained place with helpful staff
-- Food was good but more varieties can be added in Vegetarian Section
-- Snookers, Kids play area available
-- Rooms are very well maintained

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side have amazing view of Big Lawn, Hill, Sunrise!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shruthi_Mandikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We traveled with our 4 year old son in February 2014 and were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The service from the time we walked into the hotel was fantastic. From help with our room to the restaurant, it seemed like someone was always there waiting to make sure we had what we needed. We stayed in a room with a king bed and it was the best sleep we had throughout India.

Some have said it seems expensive, but we felt like it was a very good value based on the experience. After eating at the restaurant the first night, we were so impressed we never ate anywhere else. We also had some clothes cleaned here, they were returned pristine and folded in a nice basket. This was the second stop in a 6 city journey, and was by far the best hotel experience we had.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a king bed if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed here during my trip to Ooty for a couple of days, overall extremely satisfying experience.
The hotel is located pretty close to the heart of the city, that way, accessibility is not a concern at all. The rooms are nicely done, you get all the amenities required, service was good.... overall completly fulfilling experience.
The building I believe is a heritage one, and they have maintained it really well, without compromising on any of your possible requirements.
Special mention needs to be mentioned of the gentleman who plays the piano every evening, this is ane special attraction for this hotel.
Food was also good, and quality of breakfast was quite decent.
One advise to the management, the location is not correct in google maps, and points to somewhere else. You need to correct that to avoid confusion.
For travellers, please dont search using the hotel name, rather give Rose Garden if you are trying to find this hotel in google maps.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMITRA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I visited ooty with my family and stayed in this hotel. I must say it is a best place and value of money to stay in ooty. The rooms and food are excellent. All tyes of services are must appreciable. The staff is very courteous...especially GM of the hotel Mr Murali is an excellent person....I strongly recommend stay in this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Saurabh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Had been with family in Mar, 2013. We enjoyed our stay here.

Pros
1. Complementary breakfast and its too good, especially the banana cake and carrot cake.
2. Kids play area is nice.
3. Within City limits.

Cons:
1. Felt little expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msgforsunil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
0.9 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
549 reviews
1.8 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,069 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
Sterling Ooty Fern Hill
#9 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
833 reviews
1 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 86 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court

Address: 123 Selbourne Road | Rose Garden Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#14 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $60 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the gentle slopes of Ooty, amidst lush green lawns and a colourful garden, Fortune Resort Sullivan Court is a modern-day tribute to John Sullivan, who founded the scenic town of Ooty in 1821. The hotel is just 1 km from the city centre, 2 km from the railway station and 100 km from the Coimbatore airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Hotel Ootacamund
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing