We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disturbing service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Indore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disturbing service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked this property for the dates of 1sr-3rd June2013, considering the backing of a national level brand FORTUNE by ITC.

But honestly the stay was annoying and disturbing.

F & B is a major major setback.

The town /hamlet of Ooty is a relaxed town with most F&B outlets rudely curtailing service beyond 1500hrs and 2130 hrs. We had put up for three days at the property.
The manager promptly advised 'FREE UPGRADE'! We felt lucky. Only to later discover, that our room was only larger; but with the most ordinary facing look out. None the less; who camps only in a room , when you are in such a scenic town ?

We arrived post a long journey from Bangalore at 1300 hrs. Post check in we were advised to promptly head to the restaurant for Lunch. But the F&B manager informed us curtly that the place was closed ! We were in house guests ; but closed was closed. Hence , we stepped out in the town hunting for a decent place to hungrily eat a morsel. But we did manage in a local restaurant , a surviving meal. Welcome to OOTY !

The Dinner was again a fiasco at the Sullivan Court. Since it was raining, and one couldn't step out in the chill and drizzle. So most guests possibly planned to take their Dinner at the Restaurant; no option there! But the utter mis-management of guests waiting and next the curt refusal to serve any listing from the A la-carte menu, made us feel in entrapment of sorts. Besides the BUFFET items were over and they refused to re-fill; in spite of heated pleads.
And what a heafty charge for a stupid , lacking spread ! Deploring.

Next morning's Breakfast was another mood spoiler. The omlete dished out by the chef (cook?) was a blunder the toast , the tables ; not a pleasant score any where. Rude and blunt service. Absolutely appalling, disgusting. 3rd rate ! The taste is disappointing too. Not worth the hole burnt in my pocket!

The housekeeping is another Achilles heel. They just don't move. Falling light switches, not working scales, and taps. Awful !!

You actually have to control your emotions in anger. Cause, you are on a holiday, buddy. Chill !!

They famous toy train ride. The hotel staff does not assist, guide or help you in procuring the ticket. Fend for your self folks. This Sullivan staff is hopeless.

Finally , I had to complain to the Chief Manager for some improvement. The staff was little wary now. No real improvement.

Guess it is this way only; this culture. Can't be TAJ and pay for Fortune ! "Wrong number Sire "!

Addios

But the town is nicer than most hill stations. Wish the people could be more friendly. Language is a major.Sometimes I honestly wonder, that this is the most un-educated lot or are we in a foreign land.Most people are hesitant to communicate in English or Hindi. Aversion to helpfulness assists them is fleecing ; I guess !

Room Tip: Go for a back , valley facing rooms. Rooms with a view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thakurmulani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    226
    82
    21
    23
See reviews for
261
141
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had visited Ooty in the first week of July 2013.The hotel reminds of you of the very English décor and paraphernalia. The ambiance is very exquisite and warm.
The staff is courteous. The room service is apt.The suite is well furnished and has room heater as well which is required for the season.
The breakfast spread is decent but not lavish. The hotel scores over other places is the location. It is walkable distance from the Rose garden.
The flipside is the price, on the wallet when you compare to service you avail of and the WC.

Room Tip: choose the suite if you are family. A room may not do justice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupali U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had stayed at Fortune Sullivan during summer vacation and had a wonderful time .The rooms were neat and the house keeping did a great job. The food was superb .
It wouldn't be fair if I do not mention a special incident .After having enjoyed our stay thoroughly as we were returning home , I realised I left my flask that I always carry with me in the room .By then we had travelled quite long and it wasn't possible to get back . Howver I called the hotel reception to check if they found the flask .The staff were very cooperative and they couriered it to my home . It was a very memorable event for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bindus_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nice Hotel - clean, comfortable, conveniently located, efficient service. 24 hrs running hot water.
The breakfast buffet spread was ordinary. Fortune Mussoorie has much better view from the rooms and the kitchen chef, but the room size is bigger at Fortune Ooty. We didn't like the food (we stopped after the first order of grilled sandwitch and Dal Makhani)
This is close to the commercial street which has a few restaurants - Nahar, Blue Hills, Dominos. Dominos delivers to Fortune Sullivan too.
Though this is one of the best luxury hotels that Ooty has to offer, is conveniently located - but it didn't leave an indelible impression

Room Tip: Choose rooms with a Garden View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ataneja60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I visited Ooty around mid May '13 along with my wife and son andstayed for 3 nights. The reason for choosing this hotel was non-availability of any other place at this time in Ooty. First, Ooty is NOT the place to be in this season- the roads are choc-a-block with people; so are the popular tourist destinations like rose garden and the Ooty lake, etc. There are traffic jams and diversions everywhere in the city.

Coming to the hotel- the staff in the hotel is quite courteous and they try to make do with the limited resources at their disposal. The hotel was full and clearly the staff found it extremely difficult to service the guestsin the only restaurant in the hotel, efficiently. This implied waiting for the toasts/dosas/poori in b'fast, over extended duration or waiting for tables to becleaned for us to seated @ dinner time.

An example of service glitch- we were to get a welcome fruit basket on checking-in. We got this basket after multiple reminders and proably after 4 hours of checking-in.

Though we drove to OOty, we used Hotel's car for sightseeing to Coonoor. The car was clean and the driver was very courteous and the efficient. We did not mind the steep charges for the car.

We were indeed impressed by the courteousness of the staff. However, for the price that we paid, the hotel was clearly pricey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kpx123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very nice place with a good view. Rooms were clean & the bed was nice. We had two rooms & were given interconnected rooms, without our asking for it. Only grouse was the heater was making a lot of noise & food took an enormous time to arrive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank anandrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in May end. My experience with the hotel was very nice.The location of hotel is very easily approachable as it is adjacent to Rose garden. The hotel ambiance was very elegant. We stayed in standard rooms. Rooms are little small but nicely done.Everyone out there is very happy to help. food is average. Complimentary BF is very nice. They have both Ala carte and buffet options in dinner.but service is very poor. if r feeling very hungry then u r gone. but overall I really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AditiGupta19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
1.8 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,015 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
#5 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
996 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#15 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
791 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court

Property: Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Address: 123 Selbourne Road | Rose Garden Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
#14 Family Hotel in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the gentle slopes of Ooty, amidst lush green lawns and a colourful garden, Fortune Resort Sullivan Court is a modern-day tribute to John Sullivan, who founded the scenic town of Ooty in 1821. The hotel is just 1 km from the city centre, 2 km from the railway station and 100 km from the Coimbatore airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Hotel Ootacamund
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing