We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Ooty
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Enjoyed the experience at this hotel, drove down to Ooty not realizing it is over 600 km to Ooty from Chennai. Fortune Club rooms on the 3rd floor were larger and have a good view of the mountains...The interior of the hotel reminds slightly of Genting Highlands hotels.. staff at the coffee shop very courteous

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vs1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    213
    76
    21
    21
See reviews for
239
136
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

stayed at the Sullivan Court from 27 to 30 April 2013 and would review as follows:

transfer to the hotel by the Toyota Innova from Coimbatore was efficient. A special mention for Bastin the chaffeur who obliged us with our requests for frequent halts due to our battle with altitude sickness. The drop to Ooty railway station was well managed.
the front desk under the Front Office Manager, Mr. Dinesh Poonacha was spot on. Nothing was a burden - sightseeing, train reservations etc. If one department stands out at this hotel other than the Food & Beverage Service which is dealt with in the rest of the review, it is the front desk. Right from the reservation process till the checkout, the team under Mr. Dinesh has been spot on in service and reconfirms our choice to continue to stay with Fortune Hotels over the past few years. They were rightly the visible prescene.
The Food & Beverage service at the Pavilion and Selbourne's Bar was also spot on. Attentive but not obstrusive. Special mention should be made of Satish & Venkat who made our dining experience memorable. The a-la-carte menu and buffet spread were apt and a good balance of indian, chinese and contitental cuisines. The beverage spread with both Indian and Foreign brands was also good.
The housekeeping was perfect and proactive and displayed a effort at contunuous self-evaluation which too many hotels world over have forgotten. A thanks once again to all the nameless housekeeping staff who went about their jobs in the shadows.
The only sour note was the room service who always got the orders wrong and tooks ages to clear up after service. Our order both in the morning and evening thoughout our stay was for a pot of hot milk and 2 cups/saucers (empty). And what do they do. Deliver just one cup. Always had to ask them to go round and bring another one

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayanNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here on 15th of April, 2013 on a family holiday trip. The hotel is very comfortable with lovely surroundings. Rooms are old but refurbished and equipped with all modern facilities. The room we stayed was quite large and warm. Bathroom was very clean and bed was comfortable. Room service excellent. Outside the hotel there is a small space for children which could be an added attraction for families with kids. Unfortunately, we had to shift to another hotel in Ooty the next day as I had booked the same online and my payments would have been forfeited in the event of cancellation. This happened because I preponed my visit by one day, However, my stay at Gem Park Ooty the next day was not at all pleasant and we missed the Sullivan advantages. Barring the excellent scenic view and the beautiful surroundings with a indoor swimming pool, the Gem Park Ooty was a disappointment. Room service was very poor. TV was not digital and the bathroom fittings were old requiring replacement. To top these all the booking amount did not cover the complementary breakfast which I came to know at the time of check out. Anyway in my future visits Sullivan Court will be my preferred destination.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manijyoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed in Fortuen sullivans Court in ooty, Tamilnadu, India during 08-04-13 to 13-04-13 with my family for this summer. This hotel is located near Rose Garden. The hotel having very big car park and neat in environment. The hotel is having lot of plus points and I cannot control my appreciation.

The Accommodation (Rooms) is Very Good.
The Hospitality is Very Good.
The Restaurent is Excellent.
The Room Service Is Excellent.
The Transport Facility is Beautiful.
The Communication from Front Office Is Excellent.
The Billing is Transperant.
The Restaurent having Best Service People. They are all very helpful, smiling, neat & moreover Humble.

Unforgetable Summer For My Family

Thank You Fortune.

Room Tip: Don't forget to take DVD's (Movies) with you for time pass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KesavanChakravarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We got there because the Savoy was booked out.
It proved to be a very alternative. The hotel is newish, good rooms, pleasant lobby, helpful people in the coffee bar (I would not call it a restaurant).
Also good value.
We combined it with dinner at the Taj Savoy.
Together good choices

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I been here for 2 nights and 3 days its really a wwwwooooowww experience and i loved it...The music played in the eve,the climate, the view of ooty was alll so superb. the room service was awesome and their complementry breakfast also good.. so well suited for family and couples :) :) worth the money :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dharshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

It wasn't a great decision to book this hotel o out ooty trip! The hotel is not closer to the mall so u always need your car, secondly there is nothing great about it! Food was very ordinary. The rooms were chilling cold with no heating! Not at all worth the money spent!

Room Tip: You should not expect too much from this hotel. There are much better hotels situated on the mall it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghana26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SullivanCourt, General Manager at Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for not having met your expectations on the points highlighted and assure you that we have already initiated corrective steps to ensure these are not repeated.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Fortune Resort Sullivan Court, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Murali Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
1.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
1.0 mi away
Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty
0.4 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gem Park-Ooty
Gem Park-Ooty
#10 of 78 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
1.7 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court

Property: Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court
Address: 123 Selbourne Road | Rose Garden Road, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ooty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ooty
#14 Family Hotel in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the gentle slopes of Ooty, amidst lush green lawns and a colourful garden, Fortune Resort Sullivan Court is a modern-day tribute to John Sullivan, who founded the scenic town of Ooty in 1821. The hotel is just 1 km from the city centre, 2 km from the railway station and 100 km from the Coimbatore airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Hotel Ootacamund
Fortune Hotel Sullivan Court India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing