We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, honest food”

Hotel Pankaj Bhojanalaya
Ranked #3 of 143 Restaurants in Ooty
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chennai
Level Contributor
286 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good, honest food”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Don't go expecting a fancy restaurant. It is an ordinary but very clean tiny restaurant on the first floor of a building in busy Charing Cross. The food however is hot, delicious and authentic. The bajra roti with papad sabji was delicious as was the Marwari thali. Do not miss the thick kesar flavoured sweet lassi. An excellent eating experience in Ooty - just felt bad that we never knew about this place though we've been visiting Ooty for years!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GitaChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    106
    35
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pathetic !”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I saw the reviews and went their during my Ooty trip ! The food was tasteless and service was not upto the mark. The marawari thali was watery !!! no taste at all !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rajankum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooty
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently Awesome!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Have been to Pankaj many times over the last few months and have never been disappointed with the food, it is always excellent and fairly affordable as well. The only minus about Pankaj may be that the servers are slightly spaced out and tend to forget things at times, however since the dining area is small and the servers are never far, it is well easy reminding them! Highly recommended in a place like Ooty, which lacks in general good places to eat.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucido22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooty
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food.”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant is unimposing and quaint but the feast within is what keeps people standing in the bitter cold for a chance to taste this amazing and yet homely feast.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Elyonblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good north indian veggie food”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

In our overall stay in Ooty , we had most of our meals here.It servers simple and authentic north indian food. Price is also quite reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deepsVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Pankaj Bhojanalaya also viewed

 

Been to Hotel Pankaj Bhojanalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing