We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Memorable Experiance”
Review of Anmol's Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anmol's Cottage
Ranked #71 of 135 Ooty B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Most Memorable Experiance”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here in April 2nd week, we loved the stay and it was memorable. I am saying it memorable because, we reached there without having any idea about ooty and not having any pre-planning but we came back with lot of happiness and memories..THAT'S POOSIBLE ONLY BECAUSE OF THIS COTTAGE AND SPECIALLY BECAUSE Mr. SANJAY's GOOD ADVICES.

This cottage is located at right place, just a few mins walk..you can reach Rose Garden.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChowdaryBabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    9
    5
    13
See reviews for
38
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mysore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel does not have room service at all....You dont get the service that you expect fromwhen you pay 2500/night for stay..They have a kitchen but they charge double the cost of food thay serve you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Satyajit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

we stayed here in March 2nd week... We loved the stay... Mr. Sanjay is very nice and helpful person... We requested him for early check In, he accepted it... He welcomed us warmly and we were given a room in downstairs... We were expecting a hill view room, but due to early check in we got to compermise with our room... The room was very clean and well decorated.. The bathrooms very very clean we loved it... mr. Sanjay was very helpful in planning our sight seeing and travels...
And there will be no distubance from the cottage side.. You'll love it...

I'll say it more than worthy..

the only prbm I say is we can't talk or shout loudly in the rooms bcoz... If we make small noise also it is audiable outside clearly..

Overall i say I would love to come again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muralinimmala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were 2 families with kids. Stayed there for 3 nights. Very nice host. He was very helpful. Can help you arrange for an auto or taxi. He has good knowledge about ooty and surronding areas. Definately Value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank prad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Anmol's Cottages is an excellent place to stay in Ooty. It is away from the hustle-bustle of the city and the owners are great host. I loved the food as well as it was simple and gave me a feeling that I'm not away from home.. A perfect place to stay with family!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Mahesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at Anmol's Cottage in the third week of March,2013.The primary reason which made us decide on this cottage was the reviews and high ratings we found in this site. First, let me tell you what are the brownie point for this:
1)This is basically a family run business establishment, being managed entirely by Sanjay and his family, which gives you a very homely feel, for those who value homely environment over the professional one.
2)Sanjay is very amiable and with your schedule ,he can come up with good suggestions regarding sight seeing and its logistics
Now comes the part which made me feel that my stay at Ooty could have been better, had I opted for somewhere else:
1)There is complete lack of privacy...guess it wouldnot matter so much to people travelling with kids but can be bothersome for couples. Let me give you a detailed view on this....The reception area and the rooms on the first floor(which is actually in level with the road outside, considering this as the first floor, since they have a floor below) are too close...which makes you stand at a disadvantage...even if you speak slightly loud (when I say slightly I mean it),it can be clearly heard outside and vice versa...any conversation happening in the reception area is audible from inside the room. This goes for all the 3 rooms in the first floor. With the ground floor rooms, again they are side by side with the owners rooms and the kitchen and dining area.
2)I felt given the size, the rooms are overpriced.
3)There is no calling bell. Every time , on arrival,we had to call Sanjay on his cell and then he would open the door or if he is not there , he would in turn call his family and then the door would be opened....this entire process took 5-7 minutes each time, can be very bothersome after a full day's sightseeing.
4)The location...it is far away from the main road...which means that you are compelled to take an auto(costs around Rs.70-80) to go down or you are left with no other choice other than eating at the cottage itself.
5)The menu....Since you have limited options outside, you will opt mostly for in house dinner/breakfast...the problem is you have to eat whatever is being served that day for dinner/breakfast...there is no menu card(which also means you do not get to know the prices) and you are not offered any choices.
6)The dining area...there is no such dining room...its an extension of the kitchen...there is only one table(like we would have at anyone's home)...which means you have to wait for food being served to you...twice it happened that we went downstairs, but some other family was eating that time...so we had to come back to our room and wait till the time Sanjay called us. Also, while going downstairs we were stopped couple of times by Sanjay/his family and asked whether we have actually been called for dinner/breakfast...this was really rude and disappointing!
7)They serve only vegetarian food, guess that can be a bit disappointing for the Non-vegetarians. Also I found their vegetarian dinner overpriced. If you go down you can get cheaper vegetarian options.
Overall, my stay was average only....If I plan to visit Ooty again I would not stay at Anmol's Cottage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shemanti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Extremely well management by Mr. Sanjay, very good food and great guidance by Sanjay for sightseen. Even Sanjay had taken me to hospital when got suffered from fever.
View from cottage is awesome.

I belive its best place to stay at normal price and i would like to again stay at the same cottage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Girish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
0.4 mi away
FabHotel Khems Ooty
FabHotel Khems Ooty
#33 of 82 in Ooty
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Hills International
1.7 mi away
Hotel Mayura Sudarshan Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Haveli Atithi Bhavan
Haveli Atithi Bhavan
#21 of 135 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.2 mi away
I-India
I-India
#8 of 180 in Ooty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Flora Amberley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anmol's Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anmol's Cottage

Property: Anmol's Cottage
Address: 134 / 22, Elk Hill Road | Near HMT Gate, South Wick, Ooty 643001, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anmol's Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We introduce ourself as Anmol’s Cottage, a leading holiday destination. We welcome the guest to have a royal hospitality at an incredible value and have the flexibility of creating your own paradise. Now for a limited period you can stretch your holiday without stretching your budget. With Exotic Vacations in Ooty enjoy the magic of the Green Mountains. we offer luxurious stays at budget prices. Located in the Queen of hill stations - Ooty. Our cottage is situated in the Hills of Ooty and we are very close to the Rose Garden, commercial market area and to the sightseeing spots. We have well furnished rooms with 24 hr hot and cold running water, satellite LCD Television, Laundry service, Travel desk, doctor on call. Wi Fi system. Our Cottage greets you with hill station luxury and charm. Anmol’s Cottage the place you’ll want to come home again and again. Here our guests can enjoy the peace and tranquility of our surroundings, while being within walking distance of Ooty’s commercial areas. The warm, friendly atmosphere at the cottage is just right for a light caused meal or that special celebration. An exciting place to relax, breathe fresh air and experience pleasant weather. Service : We have well furnished rooms and we ensure that your stay will be comfortable and enjoyable. All Guest Rooms are furnished with Satellite television.Our Friendly and courteous staff will ensure that you feel at home, in luxurious ambiance at very affordable prices. All of our spacious and luxuriously designed rooms will ensure that your stay will be comfortable and enjoyable. Facilities & Features: 24 Hour Hot & Cold Water, 24 Hour Room Service, Laundry, Doctor on Call, Travel Desk, Internet Browsing, LCD Television, All Major Credit Cards Accepted, Spacious and Secure Car Parking, Bonfire can arrange on request, Horse Riding available, Candle light Dinner Available, Special Honeymoon Decoration on Request, Car Washing Available, Trek to Scenic Places Available on Request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Anmol's Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anmol's Cottage India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing