We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good experience”
Review of Mount 'n' Mist

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount 'n' Mist
Ranked #1 of 135 Ooty B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not good experience”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have booked room for two days thru must see india. The property is good but too far from the city so you have to depend everthing on hotel. Food is average, break-fast is not tempting (tea served was not so hot as required and smelling also, appears once made used for 2-3 hours).

There was some issue on last day for providing cab as committed by must see india but not agreed by mount n mist. The behaviour of manager jolly was so rude that practically he is pussing us to go without that. Finally he has given a jeep with drunk driver.
Very unprofessional way to handle customer. Mr.Ravi was not available but not reposnded well over phone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkharit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time & also giving us an opportunity to respond to your review on
Trip Advisor.
We only serve food made to order as our restaurant is only for in-house guests.
Regarding your travel arrangements we have 100% honored your voucher as per schedule and
you also clarified the same with your tour organiser before departing from the resort.
Your demand exceeded the itenary details as per voucher where you wanted us to provide
cab service for the whole day instead of being dropped to bus terminal.
We also take this opportunity to clarify that only professional staffs are appointed at the resort
to cater to our esteemed guests and no drunk driver will be sent to drive the vehicle which is
against the policy of Mount n Mist.
Regards
Ravi
Managing Director
09443002000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    188
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
312
187
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We Stayed 2 nights 3 days in Mount n Mist last week. We experience nature at its best. Excellent hospitality,Mouth watering food,well maintained garden, neatly maintained rooms and Wonderful ambiance. In all a beautiful place to distress. VISIT AND GET ENTHRALLED.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UTTARABALA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Mount n Mist!
At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to the Queen Of Hill Station Ooty. I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services,activities and facilities .I am equally elated with your kind words of recognition . Such recognition goes a long way in keeping us motivated and help us to excel in our services to our valuable guests. .

I look forward to welcoming you during your next visit to Mount n Mist and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Regards
Ravi
Managing Director
9443002000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed with my family in Mount N Mist Ooty on 25th & 26th April 2013. When we enetered into the hotel, i felt the hotel is quite small in size, but after 2 days stay, we felt it was a wonderful place, calm and very nice wether. The rooms are quite big enough for 5 of us. The hotel attendants are very close and respective. And the manager Mr Ravi was very friendly and helpful.

I recommend this place for people who love nature and very calm atmosphere.

Stayed in April 2013, traveled with family

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harish n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience of your stay on Trip Advisor.

It was a great pleasure having you with us and I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Mount n Mist.

We were all delighted to read such positive comments as it serve as a great motivation to all of us and I sincerely thank you for that.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future

Thank you
Ravi
Managing Director
09443002000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I had great 2 days stay here last week with my famaily. I have booked 2 rooms & they have provided me with upper floor, so the view was eaxcellent. It does not actually matteres as each floor has big balcany area as seen in photo with great view.
We have experienced a dense fog 2 times durign stay & that really added value to the stay. Such fog you cannot experience in Ooty town.
Considering you do not have any other opyion nearby, the food was good as we had 2 balcany dinners.
The rooms are very clean & nicely done with sufficient space. The service was very god with personal attention, all staff are very humble & attentive. Owner Ravi & Manager Jolly are at your service anytime.

Room Tip: The rooms at upper floor have large balcony but it has kitchen & dining area also, so it may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmolPathak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience of your stay on Trip Advisor.

It was a great pleasure having you with us and I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Mount n Mist.

We were all delighted to read such positive comments as it serve as a great motivation to all of us and I sincerely thank you for that.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future

Thank you
Ravi
Managing Director
09443002000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We went on 20th May 2013 for 3 days and we had a very nice time. Best part of our stay was the service and also the rooms were big enough for 5 of us. Kids enjoyed a lot and best part was in every room we had TV. Site seeing was really good and they have arranged Jeep for Mudumali trip. Ooty food was really average and we find hotel was really excellent compared to the city hotel food.

I will really recommend guys with family or bigger crowd who wants to be fare from the city and enjoy the nature.

Only issue will be the transport, if you have either your own vehicle or taxi then it is good to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ooty_Trip_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience of your stay on Trip Advisor.

It was a great pleasure having you with us and I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Mount n Mist.

We were all delighted to read such positive comments as it serve as a great motivation to all of us and I sincerely thank you for that.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future

Thank you
Ravi
Managing Director
09443002000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

mount n mist is one of the few stays availiable off ,the city centre of ooty ,in one cozy corner ,but just a drive off ,its got good valley views to the kalhatti slopes and a birds eye view of masinagudi
the manager jolly ,is a very good host ,who manages everything ,right from your food ,to fishing trips ,treks ,etc
best stay ever in that region !!

Room Tip: contact ,jolly ,the inhouse manager before for accurate directions to get there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malleeshwaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacation at Mount n Mist resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the location and ambience but also the service our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at Mount n Mist soon.
Regards
Ravi
Managing Director
09443002000
www.mountnmist.net, mountnmist2012@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We always have the habit of booking hotels after seeing it (This is after few bad instances). This time we knew it's a holiday season and most of the hotels we researched on net were booked and as always we wanted to try our luck. While going up on the Mysore-Ooty road we saw some hoardings and started calling them. While negotiating the 8th hair pin turn we saw Mount n Mist ad. We saw the property and really liked it. More convinced with the friendliness of Mr. Jolly and Mr Ravi. We stayed there for couple of days and really enjoyed the homely food and breathtaking views. Going forward, i think our journey would be cut short by 12 kms to stay here.

Room Tip: For excellent view of the nearby mountains select rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayukh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience of your stay on Trip Advisor.

It was a great pleasure having you with us and I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Mount n Mist.

We were all delighted to read such positive comments as it serve as a great motivation to all of us and I sincerely thank you for that.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future

Thank you
Ravi
Managing Director
09443002000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty hotels
4.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
4.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
4.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.8 mi away
Woodberry Residency
Woodberry Residency
#2 of 82 in Ooty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
4.7 mi away
La Flora Amberley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount 'n' Mist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount 'n' Mist

Property: Mount 'n' Mist
Address: Kalhatty Ghats, Mysore Road, Ooty 643005, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount 'n' Mist 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Mount 'n' Mist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount 'N' Mist India/Ooty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing