We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY GREAT........”
Review of Mount 'n' Mist

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount 'n' Mist
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Before confirming booking in Mount N Mist I was very much confused about ooty BnB and Hotels. I am thankful to tripadvisor for corret advise. finally i have gone as per ratings of tripadvisor and i booked Mount N Mist.....guys believe me great place to enjoy ur holidays away from the the populated ooty city and very near to nature....and hospitality of mr. Ravi is awesome...manger mr. jolly thanks for making our stay memorable.....and for tracking mr. Nathan----thank u very much. last but not least----FOOD is tasty , the CHEFS n other staff are sooo good......

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank manoj p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Mount n Mist and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and service!!
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Ravi
Managing Director
09443002000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 651 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

What else you want on a vacation! Luxury,serenity, class, comfort, service,ambience,cuisine,adventure .......it's all there. How to start....we landed on a Friday morning and I was stunned by the landscape thrown ahead on front of me. I just couldn't forget the breathtaking view of the entire Mysore plains and the vast land of forest just below us when a coffee brewed my nostrils .i had a good bath and started for a trek after my complimentary breakfast.after an half-hour drive started trekking. God ...... We sighted the most endangered species of India, the great Bengal tiger with its fiancé perched on a rock after a kill. Believe me it had the blood marks over its jaws. Later we spotted bisons,elephants,barking deers and numerous peacocks.came to the resort and enjoyed the bonfire and the barbecue. Tandoori chicken baby corn manchurian tasted so good all was made to order. But we all we wished. Slept so cozily on that big bed only to be waken up for an early morn trek to the nearby kallaty falls . But there was no water at all. It was disappointing but the trek was good. Later we drove back and had south indian food. Rested a while and went to mudhumalai and bandipur sanctuary.though we dint sight tigers... We saw so many group of wild elephants, sambhars, spotted deers,a fox, and lion tailed macau's. came back and surprised to see Ravi the MD of the resort holding a party for us and two other family. My wife and my kid enjoyed the stay throughly and I do highly recommend this resort to all. You will never be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maharajkannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Mount n Mist. We are happy you liked the ambiance,location,service and also enjoyed the various activities at the resort. Your feedback is valuable to us . Hope to see you at Mount n Mist resort soon.

Thanks & Regards
ravi
managing director
09443002000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Last minute booking for our 2nd wedding anniversary celebration with our 6 month old baby.I was little bit concerned with baby hygiene but the owner Mr Jolly assured me to provide us best couple room n arranged the cake for us in last minute demand.

I must say ultimate place to spend in Nature : Easy to approachable location at 9th hair pin bend, close to nature surrounded by greenery n fields , very well maintained property with clean rooms, clean bathroom n well maintained garden area.

Serving by staff was too good. Very humble n nice people to serve us during our stay.
I must say the overall package was fantastic !!!!

If anyone ll be visiting Ooty then its the right place to stay in Mount n Mist resort because Ooty is almost 20 minute drive from this resort.

Mount n Mist really mean it : Once you open ur room window can see the mountain around n early morning the window will be covered with mist. Throughout the day cool wind will be blowing n making u refreshing. That's the right place to spend with Nature.

I would love to visit here again with our couple friends n family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Jayoti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Mount n Mist and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location,ambiance,cleanliness,activities and service at the resort!!
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Ravi
Managing Director
09443002000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Dear All,
Last night only i returned from Ooty and today is the first thing i am doing is putting this review!
Mount 'N' Mist is truly a fantastic resort. The USP of this resort is it's location. Initially we were a bit skeptical due to it's location, but once we entered the resort our minds changed just as the weather there changed ( from sunny to misty!). We enjoyed our two day stay a lot, thanks to Mr. Ravi and Mr. Jolly and yes, Mr. Nathan the jungle trek guide who made our day. We spotted a few animals during our trek in the nearby forest! It was a truly thrilling experience!
The accommodation and food was up to the mark and we absolutely had no problems with the room service as well ( they served us tea at 5:30 a.m. before our morning trek, which was a pleasant surprise.) The rooms are spacious with neat and clean WC.
I again thank the team of Mount 'N' Mist for making our trip the most enjoyable.

Room Tip: You can take any room here...all are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandeep T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Mount n Mist and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and service and activities at the resort!!
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Ravi
Managing Director
09443002000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The location is awesome, especially if you are coming from Bangalore. Search for
PHC Kallatty on Google Maps. Food was good and they upon request they arranged a Barbecue just for the 2 of us. The rooms are nice and washrooms are clean. Highly recommended if you idea of holiday is peace and solitude.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank AbhiD_Blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Mount n Mist!
At the outset, I would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity of hosting you during your visit to the Queen Of Hill Station Ooty. I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with your experience of our services and facilities .I am equally elated with your kind words of recognition for our team. Such recognition goes a long way in keeping us motivated and help us to excel in our services to our valuable guests. I'm also pleased Senior Reviewer's like you give such encouraging reviews for us to be motivated.

I look forward to welcoming you during your next visit to Mount n Mist and would be delighted to assist you with any requirements.

Regards
Ravi
Managing Director
9443002000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is great place to stay if you are looking to relax. The property is at a very good location overlooking the hills and terrace farms. Hosts Mr.Ravi and Mr.Jolly took good care of us and are very knowledgeable of the surronding areas. We were a group of three families with children and had booked the King Suite. It was perfect for us. The King suite had 3 large rooms with attached bath, TV and all facilities along with a common sitting + dining area which opens up into the balcony/sit out. One of the rooms had a swing in it which was fun for kids. All rooms were very clean and well kept.The breakfast was very good on the day of arrival but the subequent day the staff were a bit overrun since all the guests had comedown at the same time. We were very happy with the food we had ordered in the evening except for the cooks need to work on their Tea Preperation Skills:-).. Great place to trek..We had a trek organised one day early morning at 6 AM. Nathan is a great guide and we did spot a few bisons on the trail. It is better if you negotiate the price/charges for the trek with him first. If you are looking to spend time in Ooty town etc, then it is about 30-45 mins drive. It is much more than a Bed & breakfast but if you are looking for full fledge hotel with swingpool, spa experience and Buttoned up staff, this is not a place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MenonJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Mount n Mist Ooty ...

Thank you for posting your review.

We strive to make your experience at the Mount n Mist one you will remember forever.

Once again special thanks to you for your kind words for the hotel .Your continued patronage and suggestions are a vital part of our growth. And for that, we are most grateful.

We value your trust in our company, and we will do our best to meet your service expectations.

Thank you again for the opportunity to have you as our guest.

We look forward to your return in the near future.


Thanks & Regards
Ravi
Managing Director
09443002000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Visited MOUNT N MIST during new year with my family from 30th to 2nd of Jan'13.v had best new year eve .. MR Ravi the owner of the property took extreme care in our comfort ... the new year eve was very well organized with a karaoke night and also a dj music night .. The food was very tasty and well cooked , the food was very homely .. compared to all the other places on new year ,MOUNT N MIST was very economical and satisfying ..
The place is located in the ghats of kalhaty , its just about 20 min drive from ooty , around 12 kms ,the scenary from the windows of the rooms are simply superb, Me n my family were speechless after staying in this wonderfull place .
The trekking which was organized by MR Ravi was wonderfull , we happened to spot a lot of animals and were really thrilled ..its a must watch after u come to MOUNT N MIST

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaushik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Mount n Mist and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and service!!
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Ravi
Managing Director
09443002000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
4.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
530 reviews
4.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#2 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,044 reviews
4.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#1 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#18 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
638 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,210 reviews
3.4 mi away
Treebo Yantra Leisures
Treebo Yantra Leisures
#14 of 85 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount 'n' Mist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount 'n' Mist

Address: Kalhatty Ghats, Mysore Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643005, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range: $36 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount 'n' Mist 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Mount 'n' Mist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount 'N' Mist India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing