We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service for the price!!”
Review of Mount 'n' Mist

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount 'n' Mist
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service for the price!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Good location, away from city.
Amazing view from the hotel.
Good service.
Courteous staff.
Nice, clean rooms. A little cold in winter (No room heater)
Decent food.
Few additional stuffs like hiking, bonfire etc.
Average/Low price even in season.

If the above satisfy your needs, this is a good place. Unless you are looking for big grand hotels and big grand rooms. :) but for the price on offer and comparing with the rest of the hotels in this price range. pretty awesome!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nongthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Mount n Mist, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mount n Mist, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Ravi
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    190
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
319
187
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

A beautiful place lying beneath the mountain. Awesome view from every cottage. One of the best Hotel/Resort to enjoy, especially during New year or other celeb'n. Wanna burst crackers for new year? They will provide u the freedom. Mr Ravi, the Owner of Mount n Mist, very kind and friendly person. Free Wi-Fi too..

Cleanliness: 5/5
Hotel View: 5/5
Food: 4.5/5 ( Chefs from North India)
Amenities: 5/5

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praveen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Mount n Mist and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and service!!
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Ravi
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was my first trip to Ooty..n after carefull planning(and taking feedback from tripadvisor) I decided to book Mount n Mist..frankly this resort exceeded my expectations. The property is situated on the outskirts of Ooty..doesnt take more than 20 odd minutes to reach Ooty..so you arent too far away from the town,additionally you also get the benefit of being in serene..absolutely pleasing surroundings. The pics uploaded on trip advisor or the website for the resort speak for themselves. Mr. Ravi(owner) and Jolly(manager) were great people. Hospitality, service, location get high recommendation from my side. Any concern was promptly resolved. Mr. Ravi also arranges for any treks or evening trips for jungle safari. Even small things like car wash etc were done without we even asking for it. All in all I would definitely visit again. Thx Mr. Ravi for making this trip for me and my family memorable.

Room Tip: Try and take a room away from the kitchen(that's the only noisy part in the resort). The rest of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suri_rahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Mount n Mist, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mount n Mist, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours

Ravi
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

It is indeed a beautiful place to stay .Beautiful gardens to stay all around the four directions,wi fi connectivity really attracts lots of customers to stay. Tariff,food and residential is really very good.Even the owner is very kind. It gives a relax to the mind and we really get peace of mind here.

Room Tip: Take a room which has a TV for a room when u go with your kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor.

It was a great pleasure having you with us and I am glad to ready that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Mount n Mist.

We were all delighted to read such positive comments as it serve as a great motivation to all of us and I sincerely thank you for that.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future

Thank you
Ravi
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

To begin with...AWESOME place...perfect view and an amazing stay...away from the busy Ooty city. The place is Misty throughout the day. We enjoyed our stay to the fullest. The staff are too courteous and pampered us to the core. We take pleasure to recommend this place to holidayers.

Room Tip: 3 bed room suite is nice with a swing ..kids will enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry_maximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Mount n Mist and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and service!!
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Ravi
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

A place which actually ended up exceeding all the hype around it..

Getting there:
Mysore > Kadakola >Thandavpura > Nanjangud > Begur > Gundulpet > Bandipur > Theppakadu (take a left at a T junction which has a small signboard pointing towards Ooty) > narrow road through Masinagudi > Sholur > Hair Pin bends begin (#36/36)> a thrilling climb later, Mount n Mist finally appears on the left @ hairpin#8/36

Pros:
1. Management - responsible and attentive; this may be your most precious time of the year, re-assurance of the quality of hospitality has got to be paramount
2. Great rooms (King/ Queen suites)
- Tastefully furnished (teak wood doors, an elegant swing)
- Spacious (Bedroom + Living + Dining)
- Clean!
- Snug; surprising, given the chill in the common verandah
3. Gorgeous view of the mist + nilgiri slopes + vegetable farms
4. Excellently maintained property - being just 6 months old the place has a fresh air about it
5. Hot water in the mornings/ evenings or on request
6. Delectable a la carte/ buffet preparations for meals, decent spread for breakfast
7. Tony, the pug - a sure hit with the kids (made up for the lack of an equipped playground)
8. A barbecue/ bonfire + sound system available on request for parties
9. Free WiFi and Tata Sky for those who've "accompanied" their holidaying family - i was really tempted to tag this as a con:)

Cons:
It's a good 30min drive (and 8 hair pins) from the town centre/ tourist-points; for those who don't mind revving their engine through densely wooded hill slopes, this can actually be a boon for every trip to the town:)

We rounded off our stay by requesting for a visit to their own vegetable farm - the detailed tour of turnips/ carrots/ tea plantations/ silver oak & eucalyptus trees by the guide was the clincher.

I haven't stayed elsewhere in Ooty, so can't really comment on the comparative ranking that this hotel (i think this far surpasses a B&B) currently enjoys. Also, different guests are bound to have different experiences. However, as long as Ravi and his able on-his-toes manager-Jolly-are around, Mount n Mist will in all probability have you checking out with fond memories and the satisfaction of a holiday well-spent.

For the record, we did see the green mountains, the fluffy mist and a huge bright moon to boot. Do keep up the great work, attitude and hospitality, guys - cheers!

Room Tip: If 4 adults or more, request for the King/ Queen suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohnish j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Mount n Mist, Ooty!!!

Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to strive for greater heights of excellence in our services.

Thanking you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mount n Mist, Ooty.
Yours is a relationship we cherish.


Sincerely Yours
Ravi
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We took the minature train from Mettapalym and the owner Ravi picked us up from the train station and drove us to the hotel. Mount 'n' Mist was the best hotel/resort that we stayed at in India. Beautiful location, beautiful property, fantastic & hospitable staff. It is the cleanest hotel in India with the most modern well appointed rooms. Ravi, the owner cares for this hotel like it is his baby. The staff have been properly trained, and everything is perfect. The food at the restaurant was also the best food we ate in India, very fresh, tasty and Clean. We ate 3 meals a day there, had only planned on staying 2 nights but extended our stay to 3 nights. After travelling India for 3 weeks we were exhausted and found the resort to be the perfect resting place. Some of the other guest enjoyed the treking & fishing, Ravi will arrange all of the tours for the guests and has a hotel driver that can take you anywhere. (the driver was a very safe driver). The hotel's moto is "come as our guest and leave as our fiend". This is exactly how we felt after 3 days, we left our friends but look forward to returning to this little piece of paradise.
I must mention that there is free WIFI and a computer for guests. Thanks Ravi and Mr. Jolly.

Room Tip: North Americans may enjoy the rooms with bathtubs, the water is hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChongandMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maruthi05, Owner at Mount 'n' Mist, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting your review at Mount n Mist and glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and service!!
We are most thankful for the valuable feedback. It is indeed a team effort with an unwavering goal towards guest satisfaction, which constantly motivates us to be on our toes.
It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Kind Regards,
Ravi
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
4.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
994 reviews
4.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
768 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#14 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
623 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
499 reviews
3.8 mi away
Woodberry Residency
Woodberry Residency
#3 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount 'n' Mist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount 'n' Mist

Property: Mount 'n' Mist
Address: Kalhatty Ghats, Mysore Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643005, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount 'n' Mist 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mount 'n' Mist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount 'N' Mist India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing