We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven in ooty”
Review of Mount 'n' Mist

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount 'n' Mist
Certificate of Excellence
Mysore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“heaven in ooty”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

this is the best place for a vacation, away from all the traffic ,pollution and the busy schedule.. the location of the place is excellent, and all our necessity was taken care of immediately by MR Ravi.
special thanks to ravi for taking very good care of us..

Room Tip: the kings suite is very amazing ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikhyat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    190
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
319
187
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great extended weekend trip destination for us. As this is 2nd visit to Ooty, we did not had much interest on "View Points" & lost interest on Ooty sightseeing after we saw scenic beauty from balcony of our room in Mount "n" Mist. This nice little resort have everything we needed for a unwinding leisure time. it's amidst of mountains on ghat road to Mysore exactly after 9th hairpin on right hand side (as mentioned in previous reviews also) and away from overcrowded Ooty city.
And YES, My Ravi (Owner) and stuff are very welcoming and attentive. They have taken serious corrective measure to improve food quality as some guest had issue with food taste and I have witnessed the same.
Tip: If you want anything you can ask Mr Ravi for it without hitch and don’t miss the trekking tour organized by them.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as family, choose queen's/king’s cottage which has everything you might wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Animesh_Blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Want to real have a relaxing vacation, then don wait go to ooty.

In ooty you may get many places to stay in the main town, where its is always busy with people & noise, but do you prefer for a calm place to stay, then its Mount 'n' Mist.

Its situated on the Kalhatty Ghats (the other route Ooty-Mysore), This is one of those place around the world that you rarely find, worth going to just for the pleasure. It cossets you yet ensures that you experience the true nature of ooty you are in. It protects and cares for you without shielding you from the real world outside the door.

The staff really care and nothing is too much trouble to enhance your stay and experience in & around ooty. It is well worth booking a car as its situated little far away from the main place as its definitely not the easiest to find. The rooms and particularly the beds are as good as anything else you will find.

Our family stayed there in Mount 'n' Mist for two days (Diwali holidays), where we celebrated our diwali over there only. There are so many things to tell about the place. The fireplace what they is awesome. The gardens what they have made is so beautiful & is well maintained.

The view of the cottage is so eye catching that makes you to stay longer as it relaxes & relieves all your stresses. Had a great stay down there with great enjoyment!!!!

Special thanks to Mr.Ravi who made our stay even more comfortable & enjoyable

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SooriyaRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysore
1 review
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our recent vacation trip to Ooty was quite different and most memorable one. It is because we chose to stay at Mount n Mist, a spectacular holiday destination just 12 kms away from Ooty on Kalahatty ghat. Mr Ravi, owner of the resort and manager Mr Jose extended their whole-hearted hospitality and value added service during our brief stay. Resort is well maintained, with tasty and hygienic food. It is worth try.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knbaliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

As a family (4 adults), we had a great time as a family in the nice hill cottages facing the scenic madhumulai forests and hills near Ooty. Perched on the Kalhatty Ghats (the shorter route to Ooty from Mysore), it makes for a beautiful and quiet weekend holiday. The staff is excellent, though the kitchen can be a little slow.

Highlights of the trip are the beautiful step gardens around the hotel, the fireplace they put up for you through the night. The friendly manager and staff go out of thew way to make you feel comfortable. The rooms are great, fully equipped, new and well designed (though the lighting could be better). The bathrooms are a real wow factor. Spacious, modern and with a working bath tub!

The cottages are very very spacious, ours had two bedrooms and large sitting with dining, which is absolutely great value for money!

If yo are going here, you should have your own transport as it is pretty much in the middle of nowhere! Take woolens.

Worth a try!

Room Tip: All rooms face the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suhasbaliga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hi, I had visited Mount n' Mist few days back ! This is a Haven for nature lovers. Awesome view, Comfortable and Well Equipped Rooms, Nice Food, that makes you feel at home.... Thanks to Mr.Ravi.... It was a Nice experince for me, Keep it up

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Atul14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2012

It was indeed a wonderful experience for our entire family that we would like to cherish for a long time. We lost all the tiredness as we had a warm reception at the hotel by Mr. Jolly. The rooms were spacious, clean, maintained well by the staff. The restaurant will cater to all your needs at all times thanks to Mr. Chotu and friends.
The resort is indeed is at a very good location and it is sure that u will find urself amidst mount n mist.
My special thanks to the MD Mr. RAVI for guiding us to this heavenly resort.

Dr. PRASAD & Family

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pramalanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ooty (Udhagamandalam) hotels
4.7 mi away
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
Accord Highland Hotel Ooty
#1 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
994 reviews
4.3 mi away
Meadows Residency - Ooty
Meadows Residency - Ooty
#2 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
768 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ooty - Fern Hill, A Sterling Hol...
#9 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Darshan Ooty
Hotel Darshan Ooty
#14 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
623 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
Sinclairs Retreat Ooty
#17 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
499 reviews
3.8 mi away
Woodberry Residency
Woodberry Residency
#3 of 83 in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount 'n' Mist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount 'n' Mist

Property: Mount 'n' Mist
Address: Kalhatty Ghats, Mysore Road, Ooty (Udhagamandalam) 643005, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Ooty (Udhagamandalam)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount 'n' Mist 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mount 'n' Mist reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount 'N' Mist India/Ooty (Udhagamandalam)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing